We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B&B in Ireland”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Caherdaniel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Derrynane Bay House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caherdaniel
Hoersholm, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best B&B in Ireland”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

If you are planning on going to Kerry or even just to Ireland, don't miss this wonderful Bed and Breakfast which has become our home away from home in Ireland. It is in a stunning location between high mountains suitable for walking and a turquoise sea and white sandy beaches - a location that is also perfect for touring the Ring of Kerry. The house is lovely, beautifully decorated and very comfortable and clean and the food is delicious. Donal and Monica are the perfect hosts and will help you, whatever your need or query. There is plenty to see and do in the surroundings of Caherdaniel and Derrynane, for adults and children alike, and the local pub, the Blind Piper, has tasty food and good music. The scenery is magical all day long, but especially by dusk when the sea turns to silver and the fairies are almost visible ...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    7
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
20
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

The hosts, Monica and Donal, are lovely people. We had a choice of rooms and chose the upstairs room with a magnificent view. The room was spotlessly clean, very comfortable and quiet. The bed was very comfortable too! The private bathroom, also immaculately clean, had a great shower with excellent water pressure. Breakfast in the beautiful dining room was delicious. The house overlooks magnificent Derrynane Bay and is quiet and peaceful. Being just 1km from Caherdaniel, it is close to everything but far enough away to be away from the noise and traffic. This is the perfect spot on the Ring of Kerry to use as a base to see all that the region has to offer.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We were super tired after having gotten lost on our third day of hiking along the Ring of Kerry, but our host, Monica, welcomed us and gave us tea and showed us to our beautiful rooms. In the morning, classical music soothed our nerves and we were given a lovely breakfast with fresh OJ and wonderful choices of cheese and breads. The only downside was that we were a kilometer plus from the town where we went in to eat (Blind Piper) at night.

Room Tip: Not much of a choice, given the limited number of rooms, but all are good I believe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravelertrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This little b&b is off the beaten path (well, sorta, once the tour buses zoom past...you are out in the rural quiet area of the ring of Kerry). We had a nice quiet stay. Only one place open for dinner in the little village of Caherdaniel (The Blind Piper pub).... So we really go to see another, quieter, rural part of west Ireland. The b&b is comfortable, and the view from the living room and breakfast area not to be beat. Breakfast and the French coffee press quite nice! The wifi does turn off mid evening....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

You'd have to go a long way to find a b+b of this quality. Our vist this July was the third time we've stayed. Monica and Donal are wonderful hosts who offer superb quality of service and assistance in this lovely house in such a beautiful setting in such a convienient location. Breakfast choices were plentiful and varied - Heather and Tess spoiled for choice - as was I. Will definitely be back again, highly recommended. Steve.

Room Tip: All rooms are top quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ballamona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limburg, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2010

This must have been our fourth or fifth visit to the Derrynane Bay House. Donal and Monica are amongst the friendliest people we encountered. The B&B is clean and spacious, the rooms are comfortable (we've been in hotels with less luxury), the breakfast excellent and the view is magnificent. We would be sad if we could never visit them again.
No beds for tall people though (I am 6'6" or 1m96 tall and most hotels I visit have beds that are way too short), but on the plus side, the room has a double bed and I fit in it.
Breakfast... what can I say. Most other visitors wrote it in their review. Breakfast is excellent.
The beach is near and it is clean and not busy. The weather is ok (not too cold, not too warm). I went barefeet, trousers rolled up, into the ocean and it was nice.
The surroundings are lovely, with hills and small mountains, passes, valleys, creeks and rivers, and views to gaze for hours (which we did).
A must is to visit The Blind Piper, a lovely pub in Caherdaniel. Good food, nice t-shirts, excellent music, and the staff, well, they are a completely different story...

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyGAvD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2010

Rooms were spacious and clean, bed was comfy, the owners were very welcoming and made great recommendations for dinner and for the following day, breakfast was lovely with homemade bread and a fantastic view over the bay. Really good value.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frantastic_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caherdaniel
10.3 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
9.8 mi away
Sneem Hotel
Sneem Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sneem
1,081 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sea Lodge Hotel Waterville
Sea Lodge Hotel Waterville
#1 of 3 in Waterville
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Butler Arms Hotel
Butler Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Waterville
252 reviews
11.8 mi away
Beara Coast Hotel
Beara Coast Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletownbere
164 reviews
13.0 mi away
Ring of Kerry Hotel
Ring of Kerry Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahersiveen
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derrynane Bay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derrynane Bay House

Property: Derrynane Bay House
Address: N70 | Derrynane Bay, Caherdaniel, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Caherdaniel
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caherdaniel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Derrynane Bay Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing