We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding B+B”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Caherdaniel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Derrynane Bay House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caherdaniel
Reviewed July 18, 2012

You'd have to go a long way to find a b+b of this quality. Our vist this July was the third time we've stayed. Monica and Donal are wonderful hosts who offer superb quality of service and assistance in this lovely house in such a beautiful setting in such a convienient location. Breakfast choices were plentiful and varied - Heather and Tess spoiled for choice - as was I. Will definitely be back again, highly recommended. Steve.

Room Tip: All rooms are top quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ballamona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 50 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2010

This must have been our fourth or fifth visit to the Derrynane Bay House. Donal and Monica are amongst the friendliest people we encountered. The B&B is clean and spacious, the rooms are comfortable (we've been in hotels with less luxury), the breakfast excellent and the view is magnificent. We would be sad if we could never visit them again.
No beds for tall people though (I am 6'6" or 1m96 tall and most hotels I visit have beds that are way too short), but on the plus side, the room has a double bed and I fit in it.
Breakfast... what can I say. Most other visitors wrote it in their review. Breakfast is excellent.
The beach is near and it is clean and not busy. The weather is ok (not too cold, not too warm). I went barefeet, trousers rolled up, into the ocean and it was nice.
The surroundings are lovely, with hills and small mountains, passes, valleys, creeks and rivers, and views to gaze for hours (which we did).
A must is to visit The Blind Piper, a lovely pub in Caherdaniel. Good food, nice t-shirts, excellent music, and the staff, well, they are a completely different story...

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WendyGAvD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

Rooms were spacious and clean, bed was comfy, the owners were very welcoming and made great recommendations for dinner and for the following day, breakfast was lovely with homemade bread and a fantastic view over the bay. Really good value.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frantastic_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2010

The Derrynane Bay B&B (not to be confused with the Derrynane hotel) has one of the most spectacular locations in Kerry. It is located just minutes from the beach. While we were there we had the beach all to ourselves. Our Hosts Monica and Donal could not have been nicer. From the friendly greeting when we first arrived to setting out our breakfast for an early departure, they were always attentive to our needs. The rooms were impeccably clean. Everyday after we set out on our adventure, the room was tidied and the bathroom cleaned. Breakfast always included home made bread and was delicious. We were usually so full we skipped lunch. I have traveled extensively and I must say the people of Ireland are some of the most friendly and gracious people I have ever met. If I am lucky enough to go back to Ireland I will definately stay at the Derrynane Bay B&B.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelfever_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2010

Our stay here on April 9 and 10 was everything we had hoped for. The owners are lovely people who gave us a great deal of information on the area. Our breakfast was delicious (ridiculously good homemade bread -- we hogged a bunch of it). I'm a tad (actually, very) picky about cleanliness and felt totally comfortable there, as though we were staying with a friend who's a meticulous housekeeper. We stayed in the upstairs room with the view over the bay (Atlantic waters crashing against the sand, sheep dotting green pastures, rocky hillsides...absolutely gorgeous). The bathroom that went with our room was in fact fully private, by the way. I saw both top-floor rooms, and each has its own bathroom. This was the first time my husband and I had ever been in Ireland. We had such a good time that we're planning a much longer trip there this summer with the hopes of touring as much of Ireland as possible. One of our stops along the way will definitely include a return stay here. Looking forward to it!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SchoeninDeutschland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2009

On our recent family holiday on the Ring of Kerry we stayed at Derrynane Bay House for a 3 day break , located in what must be the most beautiful part of Ireland. We were given a choice of rooms and opted to take the upstairs accommodation which comprised of a superior room with its own private bathroom with it’s stunning views over Derrynane Bay and the adjoining large family en-suite room which had two double beds and 1 single bed - ideal for our 3 teenagers. The accommodation was brilliant, perfect for our family, and the best power showers anywhere on our trip. We were given all the information regarding daily outings by our hosts and we needed all of our three days to experience the many attractions in the area. Comfort, cleanliness and good food are their obvious priorities here and the owners are to be commended for achieving this.
An excellent breakfast was served each morning with a range of choices from their menu and we dined at the nearby Blind Piper pub each evening for very good bar food.
A perfect break, in spite of the weather!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin_Laurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2009

Great place to stay. The friendly hosts are welcoming you. Good location to visit Derrynane house, the beach and doing the mass trail. Good for walkers, too. Each room has its own private bathroom. Spectacular view over the bay from the breakfast table.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hclanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caherdaniel
9.8 mi away
Sneem Hotel
Sneem Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sneem
1,120 reviews
10.3 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
5.0 mi away
Butler Arms Hotel
Butler Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Waterville
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Sea Lodge Hotel Waterville
Sea Lodge Hotel Waterville
#1 of 3 in Waterville
160 reviews
13.3 mi away
Royal Valentia Hotel
Royal Valentia Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knightstown
273 reviews
23.2 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derrynane Bay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derrynane Bay House

Address: N70 | Derrynane Bay, Caherdaniel, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Caherdaniel
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caherdaniel
Price Range: $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Derrynane Bay Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing