We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint & quirky”
Review of The Sugarshack Cakery - CLOSED

The Sugarshack Cakery
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $16
Cuisines: Soups, Irish, Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Sugarshack Cakery is a Vintage Tearooms, Cafe, Wedding Cakery and Authentic Artisan Homemade Takeaway or Eat in Pizzaria, we serve locally home produced hot and cold meals breakfast,bread and scones cakes baked daily locally sourced ingredients. We sell, Ice Cream, Jams and Preserves, locally produced Chocolates we are situated in the idyllic village of Caherdaniel next to the Kerry Way on the stunning Iveragh Peninsula on the Wild Atlantic Way coastal route Ring of Kerry of South West Ireland we are situated in the core of The Kerry International Dark Sky Reserve our skies are pristine. The Cakery encompasses unique Wedding Cakery with Vintage Tearooms and offers a truly unique experience in a spectacular location not to be missed.. Loose tea's and excellent Coffee beans roasted and blended in Cork City. We are a seasonal business and our opening hours are shorter in April May and June. July and August Early Bird Menu 17.30 to 19.30 Thurs, Fri, Sat, Sun and Mon Tues and Weds 10.30 to 6pm. September 1st to 14th open 11-4.30 weekdays and 10.30 to 17.00 Sat and Sunday Takeaway Menu available. Contact Kay to confirm.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quaint & quirky”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Very good coffee served in bone china cups with saucers!, (would have liked a refill )homemade scones & jam were superb, bit pricey, but worth it for the great customer service.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    7
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cork
1 review
“cakes and cups”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

selection of cakes was out of this world as was the pretty cups etc we were served by very helpful staff

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathangan, Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“China plates, China teapots and wonderful food.”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I was charmed by the Sugarshack. Beautiful china plates, cups, jugs, teapots etc, tiny silver spoons. A collectors dream. And thats only the surroundings. The coffee and food was delicious with an extensive menu to suit all ages and tastes. Miss Courtney's in Killarney should take lessons from the Sugarshack. I'll be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kay O, Owner at The Sugarshack Cakery, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Look forward to your return thanks for the great review please tell your friends about us 2014 new Artisan Pizza's have arrived.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Best baked scone in Ireland”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

On route to Derrynene House we stumbled across this little bakery and tea house. We made a great decision to stop and have afternoon Tea. The scones were delicious and so was the home made jam.
This is a great wee find
Thanks Kay for the tips about making good scones
Scottish Marie

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
“A little gem on the Ring of Kerry”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Caherdaniel is about half ways around the ring of Kerry and we were ready for lunch. We planned to have dinner later when we got back to Killarney so we really just wanted a snack. The Sugarshack Cakery sounded perfect and it was! The staff are lovely, we felt really welcome. Great snack menu. I loved the selection of tea, especially the fruit tea, so refreshing I will never use tea bags again. Make sure you leave room for desset, we shared coffee cake and rosewater meringue. A real find. Just wish it was closer to home! Thank you Sugarshack Cakery, we will be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sugarshack Cakery also viewed

Caherdaniel, County Kerry
Caherdaniel, County Kerry
 
Caherdaniel, County Kerry
Caherdaniel, County Kerry
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing