We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting history” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Derrynane House

Derrynane House
Book In Advance
More Info
$61.75*
and up
Ring of Kerry Private Tour from Kenmare
Ranked #2 of 12 things to do in Caherdaniel
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Carnforth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Interesting history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

The house is set in extensive beautiful gardens overlooking the scenic Kerry coastline. The audio visual presentation is very informative. When we visited some of the artifacts had been removed for renovation & so the house was a little disappointing.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Spencerbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    41
    8
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Dont Close it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

A gallery of Irish history which all should visit. I hear they may close it. 1 word of advice DON'T!!!!!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank cpmr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice house, Fab gardens”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The house isn't terribly exciting, just another famous Irishman's house. The gardens however are LOVELY! Well worth a visit, you could easily spend several hours there if you are interested in such things.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank eclipsecentre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
241 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“The Movie Was Interesting, The Rest So-So”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

We missed seeing the turnoff for this landmark and overshot it by a couple of kilometers. We made the U-turn when we realized it and were the first visitor of the morning. Based on the size of the parking lot, it looks like this site can be very busy in the summer. After paying our fee, the curator was kind to start the movie just for us. The movie was a good introduction for us Yanks to life of this Irish national hero. The rest of the house was not very interesting, other than seeing the chapel and the ornate chariot. The location and the surrounding property were pretty.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank JohnGalt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very Well Presented”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Lovely House, very informative. Both my parents were Irish but I learnt a lot about Irish history. Don't miss Daniel o'Connor's triumphant carriage in it's own out building. Very useful video to start the tour. Nice gardens & large car park. A visit recommended. Value for money.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Derrynane House also viewed

 
Caherdaniel, County Kerry
Caherdaniel, County Kerry
 

Been to Derrynane House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing