We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing.”
View of Pier Cottage from Westcove House terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of Pier Cottage from Westcove House terrace
Aerial view of Pier Cottage and  the Pier in the 1970s View of Cottage with little beach in view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
View of Pier Cottage from Westcove House terrace
Aerial view of Pier Cottage and  the Pier in the 1970s
View of Cottage with little beach in view
Wild flowers in the foreground
Reflected in low tide
Looking West with harbour beyond
Pier Cottage and rainbow
Star gazer's delight!
The view from your picnic bench!
Stunning views over Derrynane Bay...taken from only 20 minutes walk away up the hill!
Seals on nearby rocks
Dolphins in the bay
Nearby Derrynane beach
Ground Floor Pier Cottage (West End and East End)
First Floor Pier Cottage (West End and East End)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Caherdaniel, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Lloyd C
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Relaxing.”
Reviewed January 1, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Pier Cottage (East)

Australian couple – mid 60's with own transport.

Pier Cottage is something special. A long rectangular stone and slate roofed building comprising an East end and a West end with a lockable door between the accommodations. There were no occupants in the West end during our 10 day stay.

Located on a spit of land in Kenmare Bay, water on 3 sides (when the tide is in), no close neighbours (apart from the seals and shags) and very comfortable accommodation.

Pier Cottage (East) is not large. The kitchen and sitting room (with open fire) are on the ground floor with the 2 bedrooms on the 1st floor. Pier Cottage (East) sleeps four but I would suggest that the four would be a couple and two young children. There were only the 2 of us and we used the 2nd bedroom as a repository for our suitcases.

The cottage was clean, the shower was hot and the toilet flushed well. There were no “off” smells anywhere in the accommodation. Dishwasher, washing machine and TV (good picture) were also fine.

WIFI was fast and reliable.

We based ourselves in Pier Cottage and wagon-wheeled out into the surrounding country-side. The Ring of Kerry, the Dingle peninsular and the Beara Ring (not given its just deserts) were all easily accessible.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSDTRonth...
Chinon, France
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Paradise on the Ring of Kerry”
Reviewed February 29, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Pier Cottage is one of the most amazing places I have ever stayed. A lot of this is due to its stunning location, away from the main house of Westcove on its own little pensinsula, surrounded by water and nature. The ocean starts just after the front lawn, there is a seal colony in the little harbour and nothing oculd beat getting up in the morning and watching them from the living room window. There are also lots of birds and other lucky visitors have even spotted otter.
The cottage is cosy, well equipped and clean. The bed is very comfortable and there is plenty of hot water in the bathroom.There is an open fire, which is great in winter and on colder days , when you just want to relax and read. Wifi is fast and free and there is a TV/DVD.
There is a fantastic supply of information on what to do and see in the area, as well as restaurant recommendations and suggestions for walks. We have met both Susanna, who owns Westcove and Katherine, who is the caretaker for the cottages. Both ladies have been very welcoming, kind and helpfull and we felt very well looked after.
Some of our friends thought it strange that we chose to visit Ireland in winter, but February is actually a great time to visit Kerry. We have been very lucky with the weather and had much of the beautiful walks and sights to ourselves.
We booked for a week, but could easily have stayed two or three weeks.
The pier cottage is a truly special and magic place and I cannot recommend it highly enough. I hope we will be back one day!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: the amazing location, the comfort, the surounding nature
Traveling group: Avec mon époux(se) / partenaire
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 1, 2016
Many thanks M.and K. for your great review...so glad you enjoyed Pier Cottage and the wonderful surrounding countryside... and nice for other prospective visitors to know that it is worth coming to Pier Cottage....even in February!...Susannah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P
Canandaigua, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations!”
Reviewed September 25, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This was our 5th trip to Ireland. We had wanted to see more of the Ring of Kerry and what a way to do it-an 8 day stay right on the Bay of Kenmare. The Pier Cottage is a restored coast-guard station and would be best described as a 'duplex'-we had the east side with 2 bedrooms, 1 bath, and a kitchen, dining table and living-room in a great-room. While able to sleep 4 comfortably it was perfect for my wife and me. There is a peat/wood-burning fireplace in the comfortable living-room with a generous amount of both in a covered outdoor storage bin. I had indicated our particular desire for peat (rather than wood) which Michael our caretaker provided for relaxing peat fires each evening. For groups of 8-10 renting both the east and west units would be ideal.
This brings us to Michael and Katherine our property's caretakers who acted more like our personal hosts providing not only a warm welcome with lots of information of local interest but also making reservations for us to travel to Skellig Michael (one of 2 World Heritage Sites in Ireland) as well as information for the Gap of Dunloe in near-by Killarney (about an hour's drive north-east through beautiful Molls Gap, the Ladies View and the Killarney National Park.) These are 2 not-to-miss day events, weather and health permitting (Skellig Michael and the Gap of Dunloe). Katherine will also provide home-made Irish dishes on request for a modest fee. Communication with Katherine was quick and simple via the Pier's on site Wi-Fi.
The Pier Cottage is situated on a grassy terrace gently sloping to the bay with off-shore seals for your personal entertainment! Despite our best intentions to use the onsite row-boat, we never had a chance given all of the other things to see and do. There are several good pubs in near-by villages within a short and easy drive-our favorite was the Blind Piper in Catherdaniel. As you can imagine, a rental car is a must for a full Ring of Kerry holiday experience.
Other things not to miss include: Valentia Island located at the north-west corner of The Ring of Kerry (another day-trip), Derrynane Bay and Beach with Derry cemetery and ruins in the village of Catherdaniel, the villages of Sneem with several quaint shops including Quills Wollens, and Waterville with the Fisherman's Bar (delicious seafood), the town of Kenmare to the north with its Wednesday street market, colorful buildings and Kenmore lace (above the very helpful Visitor's Center with an abundance of local maps). And of course there is the drive along the south-west coast of the Ring of Kerry with its unparrelled panoramic views. Given the Pier Cottage's proximity to this stretch of highway and my love of photography, it was an easy drive to capture the "golden hour" in the early morning and late evening.
All in all-a beautiful place with beautiful people providing a wonderful experience. We would indeed return to the Pier Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, privacy, views, hospitality.
Liked least: The kitchen accessories were basic and adequate but nothing fancy.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Reviewed March 22, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Internet, washer/dryer, views!
Liked least: It was very cold in the cottage when we arrived
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 12, 2011 for a stay in September 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the cottage
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 3, 2011 for a stay in June 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and the location.
Liked least: The vagaries of the Irish weather
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cyrjo
Bordeaux, France
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Traveling group: Avec mon époux(se) / partenaire
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing