We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, wonderful location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hersonissos Village Hotel
Ranked #53 of 176 Hotels in Hersonissos
Bucharest
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great hotel, wonderful location”
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We chose this hotel because it said it's a traditional Cretan village, quiet, clean and located in the second biggest town in Crete. All true, we had a wonderful room, it was located in the first row of villas, having a sea-view and a great panoramic view of the town. It was very nice, staff was helpful and nice, food was good although there weren't so many sweets at desert but we didn't mind. If you're looking for some peace and quiet this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Teodora S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    108
    58
    26
    14
See reviews for
111
121
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

After reading some of the reviews my friend and I were sceptical about the hotel. Reading about the food and the hill it is situated on. However, neither of these things were a problem.
When we arrived they did not have a twin room for us and we were transferred to another hotel for the night. THis was dealt in a professional manner and was not a bother to us at all and we were upgraded into a nicer room when we arrived back at this hotel.
The hotel is situated on a hill which can be described as steep but unless you are seriously unfit, the walk into town was 15minutes. The hotel also offered free shuttle bus service to the beach and to town at various times of the day.
The room was lovely with a fantastic view. It was decorated in a traiditional manner, and minimalistic, but that was all that was needed for the holiday as we spent most of our time out exploring.
Overall a great hotel and much better than what we expected.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with CoopTravel

Helpful?
6 Thank HollyP22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Not a 4* hotel. It was clear for us from the first moment that we arrived there that this was not a 4* hotel. After a few days we discovered that in some brochures from the hotel’s tourist information corner the hotel was ranked as a 3*+ hotel, which I thinks that is more suited for this place. From the outside, the white buildings that belong to the hotel look very well, but when you enter the rooms, it is not longer impressive. At first, we received a room on an upper floor but it had two separate beds, which you couldn’t put one close to the other (we are a young couple) so we asked for a different room with a matrimonial bad (as reserved). We got another room at the ground floor, which had no balcony or terrace, but it had a big double bed. The furniture is minimalistic, very basic. The bathroom looks bad, old, rusty and dirty. The towels didn’t have the white color anymore and were in a really bad shape. Even so, it is not allowed to take them to the pool, so we had to especially buy towels from the town. But the worst thing was the fact that bugs were entering the room under the door. Horrible!!! The hotel offers the all inclusive concept but it ends at 23:00 and it starts again in the morning, so you have to pay for drinks during the night, if you want to stay at the hotel’s bar for example. They serve breakfast and dinner at the main restaurant and lunch at the restaurant next to the pool. The restaurant next to the pool is often visited by cats which might bother some. The food is not diversified at all; it is very basic. Even so, sometimes I even had the impression that the restaurant manager is monitoring how much food you put on the plate. Most of the personnel were rude and unprofessional. The swimming pool is small but offers a nice view of the town and of the beach. The hotel is situated on a hill, so getting to the beach could be a little bit tricky, especially with kids. It’s more than a 10 minutes walk to the beach and around 20 minutes walk until the main town street. They have no animation, but during our stay one night they offered a special traditional show. The tennis and the football field are not well maintained and hardly anyone uses them. You can access internet from a computer and they charge you for that. They also have a small shop but the prices are much higher than in the town. The good thing about the town is the fact that it has an active night life during the summer season. There are a lot of bars, discothèques, shops, and restaurants, all on the main street next to the beach. I definitely recommend the town but not the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sonia02gh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

We are just at the end of a weeks holiday here and we are generally impressed with the value for money (1500 euros for 2 adults and 1 school kid all inclusive for 1 week).

Expect a 3 star hotel with ok food, however by mid week we had to go into town to escape the monotonous menus. Greek salad is great, just not everyday!

The rooms are clean if a little tired, the shower is dated and a pain to use, tv consists of German, French or Greek channels with the exception of Russian News channel in English.

Pool is fine but polluted with suntan cream etc, the sea (small beach) is a 5 min walk away and nice.

It's true that the hotel is on a hill, however they run a free shuttle bus to a larger beach and into town several times a day, so no real need to slog up the hill if you don't want to.

We would come back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Panchomucho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolomna
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

The hotel is very nice, it wallows in greenery and flowers, full of fresh sea air. It has а feature because combines successful location (not far from the town center) and high-quality service. Food is tasty enough and not monotonous. We also liked landscape and beautiful all-around view from the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank RosaKolomna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratsinakis, Manager at Hersonissos Village Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2011
Dear RosaKolomna,

I would like to take this opportunity and thank you for choosing Hersonissos Village as your holiday destination for this years holiday of yours.

I am glad to notice the you had a good time with us.

I hope I will be seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2010

The staff are very nice, buildings and rooms look nice too. The place is very quiet and there is a nice view.

The hotel is located on a hill, about 300m from the nearest small beach and 600m from the main promenade. Because of the hill, the distance seems much larger.

The food (all included) is generally bad. Breakfast is Ok, fruits are good, everything else was quite uneatable. This is strange, especially comparing to the excellent and cheap food in any restaurant in Crete we tried.

Overall we enjoyed our Crete vacation very much, but were disappointed with the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank igoroks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratsinakis, Manager at Hersonissos Village Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2010
Dear Igork, I would like to thank you for choosing Hersonissos Village for you summer holiday, as well as for taking the time to write a review on the internet.

You are very kind to praise our service and the view the hotel has to offer, although I seem not to understand why the location was a problem, as it is clearly stated in every hotel description, thus you should have knowledge of it and expect it. On the other hand, I can not help to mention the point you make concerning food, it would be very helpful for us if you could contact us and inform us about what you did not like so that we could improve. Even though I would like to mention for the other readers, that at the Hersonissos Village restaurant during dinner time there is a wide selection of 13 warm dishes, 12 cold dishes, soup, dessert, and fruit available every night at a 14 day rotation.

Further more I would like to wish a pleasant winter time, and hope to see you coming back soon.

PS: please be so kind to contact us for further details.


Kind regards,

Pratsinakis Dimitris
Hotel Manager
Hersonissos Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2010

We stayed at this hotel the first week of August 2010.We were a mixed group consisting of children aged 4 to 11yrs ,2 families ages 30 - 65 and 3 tenns aged 16 yrs.The hotel itself is up a very steep bank.We were quite shocked when we arrived as it was clearly out of the way compared to the others near the town. However,the hotel was very pretty looking we arrived late at night and the reception staff were very welcoming. They showed us to our rooms. Our rooms consisted of 1 maisonette style with an up and a down and 3 balconies,it was very nice .The other rooms were basic concrete based beds ,shower/bath very typically Greek.The rooms were clean and the maids came every day to make /clean the beds and refresh the towels.The hotel is set amongst quite hilly grounds with quite a lot of steps to some of the apartments/rooms. However this was not a problem even with one of our group using sticks due to a medical condition.After we booked in we were taken to the restauraunt where 13 meals had been provided for us (Salad/meats) etc and drinks.This was lovely as we didn't expect it.The hotel pool looked lovely lit up from the terraceThere is 2 pools,1 which is the main one which is clean but be careful as itis very deep at the deep end.The other pool is set in a quiter part of the hotel at the back in very nice surroundings.There is a games room under the pool area with table tennis,snooker and Ice Hockey.There is a shop on site which sells inflatables and basic provisons and newspapers.All inclusive consists of breakfasts which were ok ,scrambled egg with ham ,boiled eggs,hotdogs.Some cereals,bread jams ,choc spread no toast facility.Tea/coffe and orange juice /grapefruit juice.AI opens @ 10am.Self serve from lager pump,lemondae,coke,sprite,fanta orange,Rose 7 White wine.Ice cream in tubs which u help yourself too also.Dinner served from 1pm in pool terrace area.We found the food ok to be honest ,chips,salads,chicken,pastas etc.Tea served in main dining area,much the same chefs cooked either fish or meat then there was chips,salads,pastas even a cheese pastie style dish.Self serve lager wines pop.The all inc drinks consited of lager,rose wine,white wine,ouzo or raki.The rest you need to pay for.The AI ends propmt @ 11PM.There is no entertainment in the hotel apart form a greek nite which was 5 euros and is set around the pool ,you receive a cocktail.It was quite good.There is no entertainment at the hotel other than the greek nite.There is a small bar where people sit which does have lovely views over the sea and we just made our own entertaintment.The children spent the evenings playing cards/DS etc. Another thing to mention is that we were the only english as far as we know at this hotel. It does seem to be more German,Dutch orientated.We did venture into Herssonissos itself a few evenings which was a 15 min walk quite a feat in the sweltering heat however we were fine just had no makeup on by the time we got there lol!.We did however get taxis back as the banks are just too steep the taxis were 7 euros or 10 by the time we tipped.The town itself is a long strip style,Dutch end and Irish end.Bog standard terrace bars over looking sea on one side.Air conditioned small bars on the other amongst pizza ,crepe stalls.It was ok .Our 3 teenage girls however loved it and had a few hours in Amesia nighclub. It was lively enough for the girls as they are still quite young, for older teens etc may be a bit of a let down compared to Malia.Quiet if you like quiet with no entertainment and some lively bars if thats what you likeThe beaches are small shingle but we went snorkelling and you can go out quite far and stand,it's lovely even our 4 yr old went way out with us..All in all we had a lovely hol as we made our own entertainment but there was nothing really for children here.Luckily though our kids are happy playing cards,etc ha ha.To sum up- Hotel is cheap and cheerful just as expected,in lovely setting but a bit out the way if you prefer a busier holiday.Staff were lovely with us if your nice to folk you are treat nice in return.The head of the restauraunt is particularly welcoming.The food was just as expected we were happy with it,can be repetative but arent all hotels like that.The weather was scorching so what we done to keep our room cool was to ask for a second card to keep in the air con slot in the room,our rooms stayed cool day & night which was just what ya needed as it was boiling. Don't be put off by the bad reviews I did enjoy the holiday mainly because we have fun as a family which u prob need to be able to do if your after a entertaining holiday as its not that kind of hotel.The teenagers had the best week of their lives in the bars,the little kids had fun in the pool,the adults had a relaxing holiday.All in all enjoyable but wouldn't go back as we like a more family orientated hotel with some entertainment,more english speaking families,and near enough the resort to walk back without using taxis.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank regansared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
0.2 mi away
Hersonissos Maris Hotel and Suites
0.6 mi away
Hersonissos Palace Hotel
Hersonissos Palace Hotel
#74 of 176 in Hersonissos
740 reviews
19.8 mi away
Elounda Water Park Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Semiramis Village
Semiramis Village
#126 of 176 in Hersonissos
357 reviews
0.5 mi away
Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel
Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel
#14 of 176 in Hersonissos
862 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hersonissos Hotel
Hersonissos Hotel
#38 of 58 in Heraklion
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hersonissos Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hersonissos Village Hotel

Property: Hersonissos Village Hotel
Address: 12 Solomou, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
#39 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#48 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hersonissos Village Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hersonissos Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hersonissos Village Hotel Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing