We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“interesting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lychnostatis Open Air Museum

Lychnostatis Open Air Museum
Ranked #2 of 36 things to do in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Cretan open- air Museum "LYCHNOSTATIS" is located at Hersonissos, by the sea- side. It consists of four main collections: Nature & Flora Collection, with gardens of fruit- trees, aromatic herbs, cactus, shrubs and plants, stones and minerals of Crete. Ethnographic Collection, with a presentation of Cretan traditional life (a stone- made farmhouse, a middleclass house, a chapel, an olive- oil press, a windmill, a shepherd's shelter, a threshing floor, a wine- vat, a raki- distillery, workshops of ceramics, weaving and plant- dyeing, an old school, a bee's & wax house).Art collection with works of folk artists exhibited in the Folk Artist's Gallery, the Open- Air Theatre and the Exhibitions' Room.Collection of pre-Industrial Technology with equipment (olive- oil press, windmill, carob-mill, herb-press) used in the past. The Museum organizes a range of educational programs and its Audiovisual Department produces films, CD- ROM's, DVD' s presented daily in the Multimedia & Conference room. It has also a Museum-shop and a cafe. The Museum was nominated for the European Museum of the Year Award in 2010 and honoured by the University of Crete in 1997 for its ecological activities. "LYCHNOSTATIS" is open for a daily visit with a guided- tour, from (Saturday closed).
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Interesting museum and insight into Crete in the past. Especially liked the wine making and the traditional cretan house. Worth a visit if you are looking for something a little different.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank thelw d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    633
    209
    30
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Brilliant Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

This museum of Cretan life is well worth a visit. It is extremely well thought out and put together. We particularly enjoyed watching the film of the origins of the museum and how it was developed.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cretelovers71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crete, Greece
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great museum to visit in Crete”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

quite by accident, we discovered this museum and it is highly recommended, very friendly staff, they even speak Dutch at the reception, it was a fine afternoon, we also have eaten there a delicious sandwich at a reasonable price.
Thanks and maybe later

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank hanne2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

This is a quirky, unusual museum - a rural retreat right in the middle of the most built up tourist centre in Crete. It's well worth a visit, even if you're not the sort who generally includes museums in your holiday itinerary. You're free to wander around, clamber over the buildings and touch many of the exhibits. There are examples of many traditional Cretan dwellings, as well as rural crafts and occupations. The grounds are a pleasure to wander around, particularly for keen gardeners and cooks, as you'll find numerous herbs and scented flowers. I grow many of them in here the UK - but the cool, wet climate means that they are not nearly as fragrant as they are in Crete. There is a great cafe at the museum where you can stop for a drink and a snack or a complete meal. On the day we visited we had some grapes from Lychnostatis' own garden - the sweetest, most delicious grapes I have even tasted.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank constantgardenerKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great museum not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We walked past this little museum on our first day (Friday) and at first sight thought it looked like some sort of ‘Micky Mouse’ effort and, having been to such things before, not really worth bothering with. However we had noticed a sign over the road advertising a Winefest there at 11am on Wednesdays and as we had nothing better to do the following week we decided to bite the bullet and give it a go.

What a surprise we got!

We treaded grapes, learned how to distil raki, ate baked potaoes and cheese pies, grapes, water melon and cactus fruit. This was then followed by a guided tour of the museum with Elsa who brought all the exhibits to life and recaputred the essence of life in Crete before the onset of tourism with anecdotes and stories. This is one museum that should not be missed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank barneydurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lychnostatis Open Air Museum also viewed

Hersonissos, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Hersonissos, Heraklion Prefecture
Hersonissos, Heraklion Prefecture
 

Been to Lychnostatis Open Air Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing