We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab little museum....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lychnostatis Open Air Museum

Lychnostatis Open Air Museum
Ranked #2 of 36 things to do in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Cretan open- air Museum "LYCHNOSTATIS" is located at Hersonissos, by the sea- side. It consists of four main collections: Nature & Flora Collection, with gardens of fruit- trees, aromatic herbs, cactus, shrubs and plants, stones and minerals of Crete. Ethnographic Collection, with a presentation of Cretan traditional life (a stone- made farmhouse, a middleclass house, a chapel, an olive- oil press, a windmill, a shepherd's shelter, a threshing floor, a wine- vat, a raki- distillery, workshops of ceramics, weaving and plant- dyeing, an old school, a bee's & wax house).Art collection with works of folk artists exhibited in the Folk Artist's Gallery, the Open- Air Theatre and the Exhibitions' Room.Collection of pre-Industrial Technology with equipment (olive- oil press, windmill, carob-mill, herb-press) used in the past. The Museum organizes a range of educational programs and its Audiovisual Department produces films, CD- ROM's, DVD' s presented daily in the Multimedia & Conference room. It has also a Museum-shop and a cafe. The Museum was nominated for the European Museum of the Year Award in 2010 and honoured by the University of Crete in 1997 for its ecological activities. "LYCHNOSTATIS" is open for a daily visit with a guided- tour, from (Saturday closed).
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fab little museum....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

I was strolling from Stalis to Hersonisos along the road/beach and came across the museum by chance.

I spent a good hour wandering around- really interestiing little place, watch the DVD first to find out the back story of how it came about.

Lovely room sets and interesting history from Crete's past.

If you exit onto the beach there is a cute little cove about a five minute walk away where i sat and had a lovely cold beer!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    633
    208
    30
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Outer Hebrides, Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

What a quaint little museum. Within walking distance of Hersonisos and the Nana Beach Hotel and very good entrance fee of just a couple of euros each. Spent a long time there and reminded us of back home of how locals here in the Hebrides lived till not so long ago.

Good information and great to just wonder at your own pace.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Sealever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Make sure you have time!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We visited this site towards the end of a very full day, and felt that we were not doing it justice as there was a lot to take in when we were really just wanting to get back to our rooms. We saw enough to realise that it did give an interesting insight into island life in the past, with many artefacts presented in an attractive manner, but do make sure that you leave enough time to see it properly!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Junkroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Excellent Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Visited the Museum on the recommendation of my son and daughter in law. I'm pleased I took their advice and took in the excellent museum as part of our weeks holiday in Stalis.
On arrival one of the staff checks your nationality and gives you the appropriate guide literature and offers you an audio guide to assist in your tour for only an extra Euro. The entrance fee is only 6 Euros, a bargain considering the number of exhibits around the museum.
I started by watching a short DVD presentation of the history of Crete followed by the history of Lychnostatis. Its been a work of passion by a dedicated group of people to create a living history of Cretian life.
The walking tour around the museum after the DVD is done at your own pace, no-one is trying to rush you at any point. There are plenty of staff around to give any advice or guidance. Very friendly people. The leaflet given at the entrance includes a map with two suggested routes, a shorter quicker route and the full tour.
I took in the full tour and spent a very pleasant 2 hours wandering the extensive grounds.

Because of the number of steps and stairs around the museum, its not really suitable for anyone with walking difficulties.

I would recommend Lychnostatis Museum to anyone with a yearning for history of places youre visiting.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank MikeUKDriffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stein
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cretan from the past”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

It's almost in the same erea, the past and the modern Crete, just 100 meters between History, Lychnostatis museum and nowadays Starbeach. What happens with Crete?
For those who likes more of these kind of Historymuseums, there is an otherone in Agios Georgios, Lassithi.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rtvmoonen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lychnostatis Open Air Museum also viewed

Hersonissos, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Hersonissos, Heraklion Prefecture
Hersonissos, Heraklion Prefecture
 

Been to Lychnostatis Open Air Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing