We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful authentic friendly hotel with great location!”
Review of Hotel Melpo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Melpo
Ranked #57 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful authentic friendly hotel with great location!”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

this hotel located in center of Hersonissos - it's easy to reach any place by walk - would you like to turn right and go to Star Beach or turn left and go to the bar street. And there are a lot of cafes and shops around.
hotel has it's own Greek personality with all these interior decorations.
I liked the view from my window to the mountain.
but the best thing about this hotel is the crew - VERY helpful and friendly! anything you need - you will get help! include piece of advice where to go or just pleasant conversation.
rooms are clean, breakfast is nice, wifi in the lobby is good.
highly recommended! :)))

Room Tip: the room with windows on the street was to noisy for me, but the crew was so nice to change my room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Olga K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    23
    7
    5
    6
See reviews for
17
35
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Modena, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Location is perfect! Just on the main street of Hersonissos. That means everything you could ever need is close at hand (pubs, bars, banks, car rental, shops and of course the beach, which is just 5 minutes walking from the hotel...). Rooms are very clean and comfortable. We booked a 3 beds room and we experienced no problem fitting all our stuff.
A special mention goes to the stuff , which was very kind and helpful in every situation by suggesting the best restaurants, by lending us a thermometer and so on. They know how to sort every issue out!
I would definitively recommend this hotel, expecially to young group of friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 187803Bungle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

It is a very cosy and clean hotel in the heart of Hersonissos. It is located on the main street within a walking distance to the best shops, bars, restaurants, etc. You need to walk about 5 minutes and all the main beaches of the town are in front of you. In the evening, you will be surprised by the variety of parties you can choose and what is great - you do not need to take a taxi to get there. Everything is close to your hotel. The location is also good as the bus stops and car rentals are also on the same street within a walking distance.
The staff of Hotel Melpo is very friendly. They are always ready to help you whatever you need. I felt absolutely comfortable there. Choose Hotel Melpo for the holidays of your life !

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Alisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Hotel Melpo is situated in the heart of Chersonissos at the main street.Altough its in the center, you are not in the crowded area where all the bars and clubs are. In the main street are shops, some pubs and restaurants, but most of them close after 23.00 hours. We had a room at the backside of the hotel and no problems at night due to any noises. The staff of the hotel is very helpful and friendly.If you want to know something, just ask and they will help to find it out.
The rooms are ok with a refridgerator and a balcony. Only the bathroom is very small and the airco is not included in the price. There is also a swimmingpool with free sunbeds and umbrella. The breakfast is basic, with baguette, cheese and ham, cornflakes and milk.
But overall we would recommend this hotel for a stay at Chersonissos, good location for a good price.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Travelgirl2723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2009

I didn't think it was possible, but although we came with no expectations whatsoever, we were extremely disappointed. I am not the kind of traveler that has over-the-top standards, but this hotel was unbearable and simply awful.

Upon arrival (we got the rooms early, at about 10 AM), we were introduced to a room with 2 single beds (although we specifically requested a double bed). At this time we ignored the smell of rotting wooden furniture and were determined to fix the problem. A short run through the front desk got us nowhere, as the clerk just said "no double bed" about six times and dismissed us. It was apparent to us at that time that this wasn't going to get us a double bed, so we just accepted the room with a smile, went upstairs and put the beds together. Although the room was fairly clean (ignoring the dirty mess that was the mini-fridge), it was very inconveniently planned and the shower and toilet gave you no chance of keeping them clean (there is no way to shower without the shower curtain sticking to you all the time). When it started to get warm, we started searching for the A/C remote, but it was no where to be found. Upon requesting it at the front desk, we where told we would have to pay an extra 7 Euros per night in order to enjoy the A/C. This was the breaking point for me, as we ordered and paid for an air-conditioned room. Trying to reason with the clerk did not work, and thus we spent our 4-night holiday without A/C.

The location of Melpo is excellent, no complaints there. It is smack in the middle of Hersonissos, and a walking distance from anything interesting and fun in town.

In conclusion - we did not book a fancy hotel or anything, because we weren't planning on a holiday or anything. We came to the hotel just to shower and lay our heads down at night, but somehow it managed to be worse than the guesthouses I used to stay in my Southeast Asia backpacking trip. In the website, it is not even implied that you are to pay an extra fee for air-conditioning, but when confronted with this fact - "Do you advertise that there is A/C in all the rooms and then ask people to pay extra?" the clerk at reception just said:"...yes"

Do not book this hotel, no matter what your standards are!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank stavash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2008

When we arrived at the hotel (12.00am), we got a twin bed room. We had booked and paid for a double bed room; however, the recepcionist said there was none available. After discussing the situation, he offered us to leave the hotel and find another one. Obviously, we took the room and waited for a change, which never happened.

During our stay, we discovered that the service was unfriendly in general.

The breakfast is poor. The location of the hotel is good, specially if you get a room facing the pool. Rooms are quite large, with a balcony to the terrace/pool.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The service
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank massau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2008

Pros:
- relatively cheap for Hersonissos
- good location on main street, close to restaurants, bars and the beach

Cons:
- VERY noisy (don't expect to be able to sleep in beyond 7.30)
- Air Con an additional €6 per night
- creakiest bed i've ever slept in!

Although the location was excellent, we did not have a very good experience at the Melpo Hotel. We had booked a double room more than a month in advance and were told when we arrived that there were no double rooms left! As we were hoping to have a romantic getaway this was disappointing for us!

In addition the hotel was VERY noisy in the morning, mostly due to the open architecture, the fact that there are only floor tiles in the rooms and throughout the hotel and wooden furniture which was dragged around early in the morning as rooms were cleaned and as people prepared to leave. The hotel seemed to cater to package tourists so perhaps they were not as aware of other guests who were hoping for a sleep in! Breakfast is from 7.30am to 9.30am and you can hear plates clanking and chairs dragging on the floor.

I would not recommend this hotel to friends - there are so many hotels in Hersonissos there has to be something better around!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise in the mornings
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank MelbourneAnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Thalia
Hotel Thalia
#45 of 171 in Hersonissos
166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Iro
Hotel Iro
#81 of 171 in Hersonissos
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arlen Beach Hotel
Arlen Beach Hotel
#53 of 171 in Hersonissos
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Adamakis
Hotel Adamakis
#73 of 171 in Hersonissos
66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Island Hotel
Blue Island Hotel
#97 of 171 in Hersonissos
74 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Floral
Hotel Floral
#72 of 171 in Hersonissos
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Melpo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Melpo

Property: Hotel Melpo
Address: 152 Eleftheriou Venizelou, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Hersonissos
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Melpo 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the village of Hersonisos, just 80 metres from the long sandy beach, Melpo Hotel offers friendly hospitality services only 200 metres from the centre of the resort.Melpo Hotel consists of 40 rooms featuring hand-made fittings in accordance with the local Cretan decorative style. Each guestroom offers balcony with views to the sea and the mountains.Before heading to the beach or the hotel's swimming pool, guests can enjoy complimentary breakfast served in the breakfast lounge area.The hotel's friendly 24-hour front desk offers rental services and currency exchange. At Melpo's attractive seating areas and bar, guests can relax and watch TV or enjoy a drink.The picturesque Hersonissos offers a variety of beaches both organized and quiet ones. Within walking distance, visitors can explore the villages of Piskopiano and Koutouloufari. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Bookgreece.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Melpo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melpo Hotel Hersonissos
Hotel Melpo Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing