We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible service and bad food”
Review of Mari-Kristin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mari-Kristin Hotel
Ranked #75 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible service and bad food”
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Great location, close to the sea(but a tiny beach) and in the center of hersonissos. Good location for couples that wants to have fun. The service is bad, the bartender is a frustrating Russian guy. The food is terrible not to many things to eat, poor variety. If you have late diner, they will wait with a cold plate that includes the left over, terrible, also the early breakfast, only cake and coffee/tea. The wifi works in the lobby, don't expect in the rooms. The rooms are "vintage" type, old and poor furniture. The bathroom is small.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Caraveteanu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MASTORAKI, Διευθυντής at Mari-Kristin Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Mrs Caraveteanu,
first of all i would like to thank you for spending your time to write a review for us.
Make me sad to know that the service is no good, because as a family hotel,we try to make a friendly atmosphare and enviroment.
During your stay we did not have any complaints from you or from your guide who represents you.
Our hotel offer a greek traditional couisine and the most products on the buffet are home made.
I am sorry for did not like, but i can understand that different nationalities have different taste.
Moreover as regards the cold plate, if you remember, you had the choice or to take lunch baskets with you or to keep you cold plates.
Last but not least, i really wish i had the opportunity in the future to welcome you again, in order
to do our best to make your holidays unforgetable and to succeed to change your impression for our hotel.

Kind Regards
Maria Mastoraki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    42
    29
    16
    14
See reviews for
35
60
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
iasi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I don't get the people complaining about this hotel. Very close both to the sea but also bus pickup point to anywhere crete and restaurants and shops, it has tiny clean oldish rooms. Even if we went in july we didn't need the air conditioning, the room was temperature confortable. We had breakfast and dinner included (buffet) with plenty and diverse foods, juice, coffee, tea , watermelon and melon for fruits. If i'll ever come again in hersonisos, i'd stay here again. Nice personnel also and quiet room.

Room Tip: Sea view, even if the sea view is not what you'd expect, the room is cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dd w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MASTORAKI, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Mari-Kristin Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guests

We would like to thank you for taking time to post your impressions on your holiday experience in Mari Kristin Hotel.Your valuable feedback about our hospitality services is vital for us to maintain the high class quality level that we continuously provide to all our guests.

We are happy to have hosted you in our hotel Mari Kristin and we hope to have again the opportunity to welcoming you back to Mari Kristin in the future.

Best Regards
Maria Mastoraki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara, Romania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We chose this hotel because of the presentation of the travel agency. Some liars. The room was tiny, the bathroom terribly small, no shower curtains. The bathroom was always a puddle on the floor, and slippery. Many mosquitoes, windows without safety net, so sleeping was frustrating because of that. Only one channel on TV was available, so I handed the remote in the same day. Also it was an old radio plugged into the wall that never worked. For refrigerator and air conditioner you must pay, although at how small the room was not sure where would a refrigerator fit. From 7 days, I think that in two of them they did not changed the towels and sheets. On the other hand, the food was relatively good. In the evening were not offered free drinks(water,juice, tea, coffee). Nearest beach is 5 minutes away, but it's a rocky beach. A beautiful beach is 15 minutes walk. This hotel gets a plus from me only for the location and for the free wi-fi in reception area. The staff is ok.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank Ana-MariaS_Ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MASTORAKI, Διευθυντής at Mari-Kristin Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guests,

First of all i would like to thank you for spending your time writing for us.
Secondly i want to express my deep sad for your comments and i have the impression that you are mentioning in another hotel.
Anyway i feel useless to answer and i really am sorry for having so many complaints. I want to assure you that if you, or your guide who represents you, contact us,all matters have been solved on the spot.
In regards to your comments for the extra payment for the A/C and your fridge, i am sorry but probably the tour agent you booked your trip, did not inform you that we do not have them in the price, as are not included to our contracts.
For your information also,the free drinks are only in the all inclusive hotels and we are Half Board.Again i suuppose it was missunderstanding from your tour operator.
On the other hand, i am glad to know that you liked our food,as we are trying to use only homemade products.
Anyway, i would like to thank you once more for your feedback and despite the negative comments, it would pleasant for us to welcome you again in the future in our hotel


Kind regards
Maria Mastoraki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hersonissos hotels

Sinaia, Romania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

it is a goood hotel with a wonderful lobby and restaurant with little oldies rooms a small pool and a very polite staff.what i didnt like it was that wi-fi i had to pay 3 euro/hour.

Room Tip: take a room at the last floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank koko1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MASTORAKI, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Mari-Kristin Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guests,

We would like to thank you for taking time to post your impressions on your holiday experience in Mari Kristin Hotel.Your valuable feedback about our hospitality servises is vital for us to maintain the high class quality level that we continuously provide to all our guests.
However, as regards the wi fi, for your information, the wi fi on the reception area now is free.

We thank you again for your comments and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again in Mari Kristin Hotel.

Kind regars
Maria Mastoraki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heerlen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
68 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

During summer rooms are very hot. Rooms could have better equipment but for the price you shouldn´t complain. Assortment is not very large but if your are not too picky you will have good meals. The street in front of the hotel is noisy but on the other hand, you are right in the middle of shops and restaurants. Beaches are nearby.
The hotel has a nice Greek atmosphere unlike many other hotels in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank DimitriB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

If you are looking for travel all along Crete (maybe just East side) Hersonissos is the right place and Mari-Kristin could be the right place.
Good position (you can easilly walk to the beach way in the evening), a lot of car rent office next to...

Cousine quality is medium very simple and based on buffet.
Rooms are clean even if you need to pay an extra for use air conditioning.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ila_Marco2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2008

Location: Good location - far enough away from the town bars for a walk. Hersonissos isn't a very attractive town....

Rooms: small and due to the thin concrete walls, tiles and narrow corridors are very noisy. Small balconies. You are charged extra for fridge, air-co and security boxes. Tiny showers and cold after 9am. Most rooms face the street aso you'll get the 4am garbage pickup serenade. Most rooms do not have a sea view and the hotel is not directly on the beach despite what some websites say.

Pool: Pool photos are old - the retangular pool no longer exists - there is a new pool 2/3 size of the one in the photo. There is no pool bar as some photos suggest - its a shot of nearby tavern near the sea. Pool is small - if all the guests in the 68 rooms turn up it will be standing room only!

2 star/ 3 star? Some sites say its 2 some (easyjet, bless'em!) say its 3. Its not a 3 star hotel.

Food: Breakfast was continental + eggs, and never changed. No fruit or fruit juice. Buffet dinner was OK with not too much recycling. Deserts were terrible (packet mix) and no coffee.

I would'nt stay there again - I suppose it would be OK if you got it for a good price but I'd look at paying little extra.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Rooms, pool, website exaggerations
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travman999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
0.1 mi away
Arlen Beach Hotel
Arlen Beach Hotel
#51 of 171 in Hersonissos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Floral
Hotel Floral
#78 of 171 in Hersonissos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.3 mi away
Central Hersonissos Hotel
Central Hersonissos Hotel
#31 of 171 in Hersonissos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pela Maria Hotel
Pela Maria Hotel
#70 of 171 in Hersonissos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.2 mi away
Petra Beach Hotel and Apartments
Petra Beach Hotel and Apartments
#50 of 171 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Iro
Hotel Iro
#80 of 171 in Hersonissos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mari-Kristin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mari-Kristin Hotel

Property: Mari-Kristin Hotel
Address: 179 El. Venizelou | Hersonissos Crete, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mari-Kristin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mari-Kristin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mari-Kristin Hotel Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing