We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 Star Apartments with 5 Star Service & Atmosphere”
Review of Mareva Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mareva Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“3 Star Apartments with 5 Star Service & Atmosphere”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

From begin to end our stay at Mareva Apartments did not disappoint, and I am more than happy to write this review to explain in detail why we had such a great holiday here, so here goes:

Upon arrival in Crete we were allocated our accommodation. This was the first time we had booked such a 'Bingo' holiday, and the not knowing where we would be staying only added to the excitement, would we get lucky or end up somewhere we didn't really like? Well, we got lucky! After meeting our Holiday Rep and boarding the transfer bus we were told we'd be staying at the 3 Star Mareva Apartments in Koutouloufari. I immediately checked Trip Advisor and after reading all the positive reviews my partner Arno and I breathed a collective sigh of relief. The reviews did not at all disappoint us.

Once we'd left the bus at Mareva we were immediately given a warm welcome by Manager Giannis, who led us through the complex to the bar where we checked-in for our stay.

The Accommodation:
We found our Studio to be clean & cozy, basic in furnishing but more than adequate for our stay. There was a separate shower room with good running hot & cold water (which was always on tap and meant we could shower whenever we wanted as there always seemed to be enough), separate Kitchenette with Kettle, Electric ceramic cook-plate, Fridge with freezer compartment, cutlery, plates, cups, glasses and a few utensils enough to cook simple meals if desired. I easily managed to cook a nice Pasta dish one evening and we often prepared lunch and breakfast of boiled eggs, croissants, salads and such. One tip though, when going to bed open the fridge and turn down the dial to its lowest setting before closing door again: that way you won't be kept awake by its constant droning sound. The beds were also comfortable although I do like a nice plump pillow and so I had planned ahead and brought one with me. Another good tip because we also took our pillows with us to the beach and pool which meant we could comfortably lay around for hours on end! To summaries then: We found the accommodation to be more than acceptable, well cleaned and furnished and good value for money.

The Location:
Mareva Apartments is situated halfway up a hill between the main street of Hersonissos and the picturesque restaurant village of Koutouloufari. The beach is about 300m down the hill. The main high street of Hersonissos is a typical holiday destination shopping street full of banks, supermarkets, souvenir shops and car hire companies. It's handy for the basic essentials such as water, coffee, tea and toilet rolls and there is even a large Spar supermarket for everything else you could need. The side streets from the main high street all lead down to the beach boulevard, only 2 minutes walk to the Sea.

Going up the hill from Mareva leads to a beautiful Cretan village with a multitude of fabulous Restaurants, Tavernas, Cocktail Bars and Cafes, too numerous to mention here but all equally worth a visit. We recommend that you always go up hill to eat and down hill to party! To summaries then: We found Mareva perfectly situated for our tastes, equally spaced between the beach/party bars down by the sea and the beautiful village of restaurants just up the hill.

The Facilities:
Mareva has a pleasant pool 1.5m deep and large enough to swim a few lengths. We noticed that the pool was cleaned every evening and appeared healthy and not full of chlorine like in some pools. The pool area itself had enough sun loungers for everybody and we never had a problem finding vacant ones. Adjacent to the pool is the bar and seating area with pool table and TV for the football fans. My partner & I aren't such fans but it was not a problem because we were always kept entertained by the Manager & Manageress Giannis & Areti - more about this happy duo later. The bar is pretty much open 24 hours, so even if you come home late you can still get a drink. The bar itself is small but very friendly and well stocked and staffed by either Giannis or Areti depending on the time of day or night; we spent many hours sitting there talking to either them or the other guests and whiling away the time with a nice cool beer or Ouzo. Definitely a great atmosphere whether you are football fans or not. To summarize then: We found the facilities at Mareva to be very good and perfectly adequate. The staff really do do their best to ensure your needs are met.

The Staff:
We saved the best for last. The one thing that really made our holiday was the family that owns and runs Mareva Apartments. Mama, Papa, son Giannis and daughter Areti. We were made to feel welcome from the first minute we arrived and by leaving on the eleventh day we almost felt like part of the family. This is what makes the difference when booking 3 star accommodation as opposed to 4/5 star. People do say you get what you pay for, but there is no amount of money that can compensate for bad service or an unwelcoming atmosphere, something which (as a gay couple) my partner and I have frequently experienced at other big 4/5 star Hotels. This was certainly not the case at 3 Star Mareva. We were both made so welcome that for once we felt we could just be ourselves and relax on our Holiday, and we did just that.

A special word about Giannis & Areti:
A brother and sister duo who now run the complex after their mother and father built it from the ground up. We think they do a great job and really do do their best to keep everybody happy and content. Giannis has a great sense of humor and loves his football, keeping everyone entertained with a joke or three and keeping a good eye on things. Areti is equally entertaining and is very knowledgeable in Ancient Greece and all things archaeological, I especially enjoyed talking to her about the origins of the Minoan and Greek society. Mama and Papa are also always around and Mama cooks a great English Breakfast whilst Papa makes a great BBQ!

To summarize then: No amount of money can buy the kind of friendliness and service that this family offers at Mareva Apartments. I'm sure once you've experienced it you'll want to come back again and again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    34
    16
    4
    5
See reviews for
38
94
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Booked as a last minute holiday and also picked because of the reviews on here. The rooms are basic but very much liveable but not sure if you can cook too much in there so you might want to budget for eating out. My family, 2 teenagers and my husband enjoyed it at the Mareva apts and Yiannis seemed to take a liking to my husband (Norman) but I think that might be because he likes football! Nothing was too much trouble for the family who run the apts, all you have to do is ask and it's done almost instantly. There is no children's pool there and most of the other holiday makers did not have children but if have children and they can swim then that's ok. There is a free resort approx 20 mins away called Star Beach and this is a great place for everyone but especially children as they have water slides, the baby pool ones are free but the big ones are €8 a day and banana boat approx €10 each ride and a bungee jump but not sure how much that is? they also have a free have a lazy river. The apts are a walk up a hill it's not that bad a walk just make sure you have some water! I prefered staying there as the hustle and bustle at the bottom would have been too loud to be able to relax. A walk further up the hill is a must to visit Koutouloufari it's such a pretty place nighttime and daytime with loads of places to eat and as you are halfway there being on the hill it's easier to walk to than if you were to walk from the bottom ..bonus!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Superhaphazard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

The best holiday in Mareva apts. Areti and Yiannis are very friendly and always there to help you with anything you need. The rooms are cozy and clean and the service is excellent. The poolbar area is a great place to relax and hang out with nice music and a cool drink.
I will definately come again :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anmmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryton
2 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Booked last minute through Olympic and they recommended the Mareva. From the minute we arrived we were made very welcome. What a lovely family. Yiannis is a total star. He and his sister are always around to make sure you have everthing you need. Nothing is too much trouble. Pity he could'nt make me a perfect cosmopolitan but he kept trying lol, good fun. Areti on the other hand beat him hands down. The accommodation is basic as you expect in Greece but is kept very clean.The apartment was cleaned every other day, sheets changed and clean towels provided. The pool area is great, not too big, and really friendly. Bar right next to the pool and a pleasant sitting area for snacks. I never once worried about my 15 year old son or 12 year old daughter. Yiannis always kept an eye out for them, they also thought he was fab. We would definately return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cazablanca1463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We booked this holiday as a last minute break. Having not paid a lot per person for this holiday we were unsure of what to expect, but after reading the reviews we were put at ease.
Rooms were basic (as expected in Greece) but very clean. Yannis and his family couldn't do enough for us. There is a beautiful village a short walk up the hill with fantastic tavernas, restaurants etc. A 5 minute walk down the hill was a busy strip bustling with pubs and shops. Pool and bar area kept very clean.
Would recommend BBQ night.
If possible, would advise booking via Olympic for Aegean Airways as the flight was fantastic with food and drink included, not your usual rip off Ryanair type of flight.
Overall had an amazing holiday and wish to return again in the future,
Gray, Julie & Brad (Pitt)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieAndGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Had such an awesome holiday at Mareva a few weeks ago. The staff made my holiday. The brother and sister Areti and Yiannis were so helpful and friendly, they couldnt have done more to help me have a great holiday. Yiannis especially will do anything he can to help you, all the other guests said the same. Lots of the guests had been several times, one couple had been 7 times and absolutely love it. Apart from the staff themselves, the rooms are well kept, and the apartments are lovely. The hotel is situated a few minutes up a hill from the town Hersonnisis, so if you want the hustle and bustle its easily accessible. The shops, post office, bank and buses are all just at the end of the road. I liked being set back from it all though, was more peaceful and there was a slight breeze being a little up the hill which was lovely in the heat. 5 minutes up the hill are 3 picturesque traditional Greek villages. They were so beautiful, lots of wonderful restaurants where you could watch the sunset over Hersonnisis and afar as well as boutiques for great shopping. The pool and sun loungers were immaculate. The bar area is great, Yiannis is very entertaining and everyone there makes it friendly, relaxing chilled out area to hang out in. In the evenings its a fun place to have a few drinks before or after going out, or to hang out in all evening-food is good too. I had such an amazing time there, am already booking my next trip!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Hi Yannis and Areti
Thank you for such a fantastic time on holiday in your apartments. We had a brilliant 11 nights thanks to you both been so welcoming and such fantastic hosts! Nothing at all was too much trouble for either of you, you both helped us with anything we needed throughout the whole holiday. The apartments were a great place to stay, the location was brilliant right in the middle of everything going on which was really good. We had a very enjoyable time but if it hadn't been for Yannis and Areti being so nice I do not think we would of enjoyed it as much as we did. Yes the apartments are basic but it's like Yannis says your only there to sleep in it nothing else, but they are clean throughout regardless. Yes it is very hot and there is fans to hire as we hired a fan and it was still so hot so Yannis thankfully gave us another one free of charge which really helped us a lot and was very nice of Yannis and his family. We definitely have only good things to say about Mareva Apartments, Yannis and Areti. We will be returning in a couple of years we hope to see everyone again. Thank you so much again for a lovely time! Take care and see you again soon. Love Sam and James. 20th July 2013- 31st July 2013. xx

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sam l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
0.3 mi away
Astra Village Apartments
Astra Village Apartments
#8 of 13 in Koutouloufari
292 reviews
57.1 mi away
Costas & Chrysoula
Costas & Chrysoula
#3 of 24 in Plakias
187 reviews
0.5 mi away
Petra Village Apartments
Petra Village Apartments
#10 of 13 in Koutouloufari
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Galaxy Villas
Galaxy Villas
#6 of 13 in Koutouloufari
332 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa Marina
Villa Marina
#1 of 6 in Anissaras
125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Romantica Hotel Apartments
Romantica Hotel Apartments
#5 of 11 in Koutouloufari
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mareva Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mareva Apartments

Property: Mareva Apartments
Address: Agiou Vasiliou 21, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 121 Specialty Lodging in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mareva Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mareva Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mareva Apartments Hotel Chersonisos
Mareva Apartments Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing