We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“forget the rest & try the best!”
Review of Mareva Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mareva Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

The best holiday in Mareva apts. Areti and Yiannis are very friendly and always there to help you with anything you need. The rooms are cozy and clean and the service is excellent. The poolbar area is a great place to relax and hang out with nice music and a cool drink.
I will definately come again :)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anmmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 219 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2013

Booked last minute through Olympic and they recommended the Mareva. From the minute we arrived we were made very welcome. What a lovely family. Yiannis is a total star. He and his sister are always around to make sure you have everthing you need. Nothing is too much trouble. Pity he could'nt make me a perfect cosmopolitan but he kept trying lol, good fun. Areti on the other hand beat him hands down. The accommodation is basic as you expect in Greece but is kept very clean.The apartment was cleaned every other day, sheets changed and clean towels provided. The pool area is great, not too big, and really friendly. Bar right next to the pool and a pleasant sitting area for snacks. I never once worried about my 15 year old son or 12 year old daughter. Yiannis always kept an eye out for them, they also thought he was fab. We would definately return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cazablanca1463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We booked this holiday as a last minute break. Having not paid a lot per person for this holiday we were unsure of what to expect, but after reading the reviews we were put at ease.
Rooms were basic (as expected in Greece) but very clean. Yannis and his family couldn't do enough for us. There is a beautiful village a short walk up the hill with fantastic tavernas, restaurants etc. A 5 minute walk down the hill was a busy strip bustling with pubs and shops. Pool and bar area kept very clean.
Would recommend BBQ night.
If possible, would advise booking via Olympic for Aegean Airways as the flight was fantastic with food and drink included, not your usual rip off Ryanair type of flight.
Overall had an amazing holiday and wish to return again in the future,
Gray, Julie & Brad (Pitt)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulieAndGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Had such an awesome holiday at Mareva a few weeks ago. The staff made my holiday. The brother and sister Areti and Yiannis were so helpful and friendly, they couldnt have done more to help me have a great holiday. Yiannis especially will do anything he can to help you, all the other guests said the same. Lots of the guests had been several times, one couple had been 7 times and absolutely love it. Apart from the staff themselves, the rooms are well kept, and the apartments are lovely. The hotel is situated a few minutes up a hill from the town Hersonnisis, so if you want the hustle and bustle its easily accessible. The shops, post office, bank and buses are all just at the end of the road. I liked being set back from it all though, was more peaceful and there was a slight breeze being a little up the hill which was lovely in the heat. 5 minutes up the hill are 3 picturesque traditional Greek villages. They were so beautiful, lots of wonderful restaurants where you could watch the sunset over Hersonnisis and afar as well as boutiques for great shopping. The pool and sun loungers were immaculate. The bar area is great, Yiannis is very entertaining and everyone there makes it friendly, relaxing chilled out area to hang out in. In the evenings its a fun place to have a few drinks before or after going out, or to hang out in all evening-food is good too. I had such an amazing time there, am already booking my next trip!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Hi Yannis and Areti
Thank you for such a fantastic time on holiday in your apartments. We had a brilliant 11 nights thanks to you both been so welcoming and such fantastic hosts! Nothing at all was too much trouble for either of you, you both helped us with anything we needed throughout the whole holiday. The apartments were a great place to stay, the location was brilliant right in the middle of everything going on which was really good. We had a very enjoyable time but if it hadn't been for Yannis and Areti being so nice I do not think we would of enjoyed it as much as we did. Yes the apartments are basic but it's like Yannis says your only there to sleep in it nothing else, but they are clean throughout regardless. Yes it is very hot and there is fans to hire as we hired a fan and it was still so hot so Yannis thankfully gave us another one free of charge which really helped us a lot and was very nice of Yannis and his family. We definitely have only good things to say about Mareva Apartments, Yannis and Areti. We will be returning in a couple of years we hope to see everyone again. Thank you so much again for a lovely time! Take care and see you again soon. Love Sam and James. 20th July 2013- 31st July 2013. xx

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank sam l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Situated about 400 mts off the main strip half way up the hill to the famous 3 villages.
Yes the hill is not for the faint hearted if you want to walk to the top where all the best restaurants are but the walk up from the bottom is not too bad. Apartments are good value for money but basic. Next year I am told they will have air con which is vital in summer (I am told there will be a 7 euro per day local charge for this). Swimming pool is great - very clean and plenty of sun loungers (no cushions) so you don't need to reserve them.
Yanis, the owner is a smashing chap. Great personality and so wiling to help all his guests in any way he can. You really are made very, very welcome. At first I thought the food and drink was expensive in the bar but after eating and drinking elsewhere, it is not. I wish I had spent more in Mareva bar to support them.
Would I recommend the Mareba - yes 100%
Thanks Yanis for your brilliant hospiality. - Steve & Sue

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

If you are deciding where to book a trip to Crete, then stop looking; you have found the apartments that you should book for your stay.

We stayed in a studio for 1 week arriving on 28th June and I do not have a single bad thing to say about our stay.

Yiannis and his family are amazing; very friendly and do everything they can to make your stay as memorable as possible.

The accommodation is exceptionally clean and the room was cleaned every day and sheets/towels every other day during our stay.

Location is ideal. 5-10 mins walk down the hill from the apartments and you are in your usual 'strip' that you get in most resorts full of bars, restaurants, supermarkets, tourist shops etc. A number of small beaches are available and you can hire sunbeds from most bars on the beach front - the ones we went for were 5 euros each and you got free glasses of iced water all day.
If you come out the apartments on walk up the hill, again for about 5-10 mins, you get to the lovely Cretan village of Koutouloufari. This is a lovely place to spend your evenings walking around the lovely cobbled streets deciding which of the little bars or restaurants you are going to visit.

All in all, we had a fantastic holiday and it was all down to the Mareva Apartments. These apartments are great and are in a fantastic location and I would most definitely recommend that you stay here. Looking forward to coming back here when we next return to Crete.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stuart153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
0.4 mi away
Asterias Village Resort
Asterias Village Resort
#5 of 13 in Koutouloufari
603 reviews
3 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#9 of 174 in Hersonissos
778 reviews
3.6 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#6 of 174 in Hersonissos
3,226 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mitsis Laguna Resort & Spa
2.6 mi away
Zorbas Village and Aqua Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mareva Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mareva Apartments

Address: Agiou Vasiliou 21, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 124 Specialty Lodging in Hersonissos
Price Range: $27 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mareva Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mareva Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mareva Apartments Hotel Chersonisos
Mareva Apartments Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing