We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, greatest food, wonderful staff, very clean & spacious”
Review of Maragakis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maragakis Hotel
Ranked #70 of 184 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2011

It is 20 m from the beach with sunbeds & umbrella, 10 m from tavernas with excellent good price greek food, 2 min from bus station to explore the island, 3 min from the harbour to book cruises and trips, 5 min to Spar 2 level super market with low prices and all necesarry products. Breakfast and dinner buffet: U find all you need whether you are vegetarian or meat lover or on a diet, the food is very well cooked, healthy & delicious with local bio products, the chef is great and always interested in your feedback, the waiters Vasilis & Robert are great in helping you and offer you a sincere smile & conversation. Large rooms with sea view, inner garden view, some very quiet if you require like I did. Sheets & towels changed every 2 days, cleaning daily. Great staff! Great hotel! Good value for money! You will not be sorry to choose this hotel!

Room Tip: Reception helps you with anything you need! Great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank deliamihail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 195 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2011

I travelled alone with a 6 month old baby, and this migh not have been the perfect hotel for someone with a stroller since there is a stair of 7 steps from the street up to the reception. But the staff was very helpfull and came rushing every time I wanted to go in or out, to help me with the stroller up and down the stairs. After all it was not their fault I had booked a hotel that was not baby / handicapped friendly, but they for sure did what they could to help out! :)

I brought a big normal stroller, not a sulky model, and it didn't fit in the elevator of the hotel. (Elevators in Greece tends to be very small so this was not strange at all, a sulky would have fit of course.) So I had to leave the stroller in the reception instead of taking it up to my room. I sometimes seemed like a donkey with all my packing to and from the reception, haha. But it felt rather safe to leave the stroller in the reception since it was open 24-7 AND the hotel is located opposite the police station. :)

I found the bed a bit hard, but that is always the case in Greece (maybe not in luxury hotels, but I never had the money to try them out.) I solved this problem by folding the blankets / quilts found in the closet, and put them under the sheet like a mattress. :)

I had booked a single room but since I had the baby with me they had very nicely given us a double room with a nice baby crib. They had also ignored my wish of sea view and given us garden view. This because all the noise from the street if you had sea view, and I am very grateful that they were smarter than me!!
My baby slept quietly every night and neither of us was disturbed by the noise from the street. We didn't spend much time in the room anyway so there was really no need to the sea view I greedily had wished for. :)

There was a refridgerator in the room which came very handy for both a little water and if you bring your own food for the baby.
A bath tub felt like luxery but we were happy for it and took baths together in the nights, a bit warmer that the sea daytime. ;)

Free internet in the reception if you brought your own laptop, and otherwise a computer corner with normal prices.

All together I can gladly recommend anyone to stay in this hotel, even though I might chose another one as long as I chose to bring my normal stroller. But when my baby is big enough for a sulky this will for sure be an option for us, not least for the very good price for the very central location!! :)

Thank you the Maragakis Family for all your help and for making our holiday work! :)

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Apollo
2  Thank tinatoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

We came back from our holidays in Hersonissos,and i would say we are happy enough!
The hotel is not luxurious,but it is a nice small complex with clean rooms,just a few meters from the beach!! (actually you have the sea in front of your feet,and that's exactly what we wanted!)
It locates in the centre of the city-close to all shops.cafes,bars(if you are a night type)
What we adored was the kitchen(Greek and other)..!
The guy who cooks is a great person,and he cooks V E R Y delicious stuff!
Our room was cleaned fine and a/c units are working great,but you must pay for the air condition(depends if you want to use it).
if you leave the window open,it is also ok,if not too hot.
thanks to the night guy for his assistance(though he is very busy sometimes),and special thanks to Michael,the cook! see you next year,thank you Maragakis!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank traveler187823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

Worst hotel we've ever been. The most irritating was the noise or nearby disco's and "dance all night" music from the open rooms all over the floors. We couldn't get sleep not a single night. For singles, probably it is ok, but for people willing to get some vacation..The view from the room was to a inner yard where every night hundreds of bats are flying around..The food is terrible, don't know what are you eating, just looks like a food. The only positive was a good Wi-fi in the lobby.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kucanac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled solo
Thank Σοφία Λ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilaria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: W pokojach od ogrodu jest ciszej.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank muszkaa2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
0.3 mi away
Petra Beach Hotel
Petra Beach Hotel
#39 of 184 in Hersonissos
143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palmera Beach Hotel
Palmera Beach Hotel
#16 of 184 in Hersonissos
620 reviews
0 mi away
Kassavetis Center
Kassavetis Center
#139 of 184 in Hersonissos
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Anna Maria Village
Anna Maria Village
#44 of 184 in Hersonissos
146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alia Beach Hotel
Alia Beach Hotel
#78 of 184 in Hersonissos
82 reviews
2.8 mi away
Venus Mare Apartments
Venus Mare Apartments
#6 of 14 in Analipsi
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maragakis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maragakis Hotel

Address: 17 Minoos | Opposite Police Station of Hersonissos, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece (Formerly Viva Island Hotel)
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range: $56 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maragakis Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Maragakis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maragakis Hotel Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing