We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hotel not for British clients as mainly russian/German/ Dutch guests” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lyttos Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Ranked #6 of 178 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“hotel not for British clients as mainly russian/German/ Dutch guests”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

First choice rep does not visit hotel except to sell his trips, dumped from coach and left to own devices . No a la carte restaurant,no british kids club,international drinks at extra charge and wi-fi only available in pool bar or reception. However hotel was clean and tidy with little litter, and there were plenty of sun beds although towels appeared early on prime beds. The food was very basic and mainly the same taste all the time. Would not recommend this holiday.

Room Tip: Do not choose a bungalow room as this can be on first or second floor - yes that's right
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mitchinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    181
    39
    13
    7
See reviews for
423
76
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We went to Lyttos Beach at the end of august with our 2 children, We had a family room, which was large. It included a double bed and two singles with room for a cot. We also had a very large balcony. Overall the room was fine, the Air con worked and was clean (when we arrived)
Talking of cleaning, this was not at all good!! in 7 days our room was swept once (on the last day) and the bathroom was never cleaned (except the bin being emptied) the lined was changed once and towel daily at our request. 3 dirty glasses were never changed in a week, and a table never wiped. I found this extremely disappointing. The beds are also VERY uncomfortable!

The food - This was OK. very very repetitive, and with only two restaurants choice was near enough the same. The seating in the hotel is a massive issue especially if you are in a group smaller than 8! There are no tables for 2,4 or 6 unless you book into the downstairs restaurant the morning before you want to eat there. (you will have to sit with other guests if you are a small group) Another thing that disappointed me is that ice cream is available only between certain times and once its gone its gone!! There is no ice cream for dessert at either restaurant?

The pool - fantastic size, with a separate slide pool, which is manned by two lifeguards. Sunbeds around the pool didn't seem to be an issue, although we spent our time on the beach.

The beach - A sandy beach with plenty on umbrellas and beds, free of charge. it is the windy side to the island, so the sea was red flag all week.

The Staff- with exception to the bar man at night by the pool, the rest were just miserable and made no effort with guest....the reason, the majority of guests in this hotel are the most rudest, obnoxious people I have ever met, to the point it actual ruined my holiday.

Kids- the only thing for British kids is the water slides. The kids club are in German and not very welcoming for other nationalities.

Overall- Would I go back? No. it needs a lot of work doing to this hotel, and I hope its pulled from the first choice brochure as it isn't catered for British people.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mjo4tyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

the hotel is very nice, and with the excellent service it makes an excellent holiday resort.
Marvelous facilities for families- a swimming pool with great water slides for kids and adults, a pool with a "pirate ship" with smaller water slides for smaller kids, a playground right next to the swimming pool, a kids club.
the beach is very nice (though the waves were rather high when we were there).
the food and drinks are good.
If you want to eat at "the Tavern" at dinner (- a restaurant by the beach), at dinner ,instead of the regular dining room, (which is fine as well), you need to make reservations two days in advance.
At lunch however there is no need for reservations at the "tavern".

the service was great. we were 2 adults, one teenager and two kids. we made reservation for 2 rooms, however we were suggested a big suite instead of two rooms because the rooms were too far a part . the "Apollo suite" was great, with an exit to the beach. It did not have a bath tub (just a shower) but it didn't bother us too much.

Finally- We forgot a bag with some swimming goggles and swimming suits on our last day in the hotel.
the hotel were extremely nice and helpful, located the bag and sent us all of our stuff, by air mail, free of charge!
this was so nice that we suggested to pay them back and also felt that it gave a sweet taste to the end of this great vacation.

Room Tip: Rooms close to the beach are more convenient if you go to the beach often.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rakefet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pozzuoli, Italia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

In a period of overbooking (August), the hotel is unclean, the pool is full and the beach is impraticable.in addiction, the desk staff is unfriendly and unable to make your holiday good.the pool is totaly unsafetly.

Helpful?
5 Thank RoBoMA
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

The food in the hotel is good but is no big different in the serving between the days.
The main pool is big and They are 3 water slides that good for children and nice for adults.
There are more from 10 tennis courts in the hotel and the reception gives the racket and the balls.
There is a excellent synthetic grass field for soccer.
Taxi from hotel to Chersonisos cost 8 Euro and to Heraklion 40 Euro.
In the reception can rent car from 55 Euro to single day.
Selection in the bar are large but some of the drinks cost money
Rooms are simple and don't luxurious but very clean

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aya121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Went with my husband an open mind as we always do after reading reviews Asked the Thompson rep to be transferred the next day. Full of Russians, Germans and Dutch overrun with lots of young screaming children everywhere! Could not be transferred straight away so stayed for 3 nights. Good points about hotel - lovely beach, plenty of free sunbeds everywhere. Food good and well presented and housekeeping standards of rooms good. Unfortunately this is not the place to relax for 2 people!! Thompsons should pull out of this hotel, we talked to another British couple who chose hotel for children's clubs and entertainment. They were unable to use the kids clubs as their son could not talk to any of the other children as they could not speak English and communicate with them.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jean p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

i went to this hotel all inclusive from 16th June for 2 weeks with my wife and son(13). The hotel and complex and staff we very good - but we were totally disapointed with the fact that we met 1 irish couple and 2 english couples. Mostly Russian, German, Itialian and other nationalalities. The daily and evening entertainment and games we based on other nationalities as we would have been considered outcasts with only a few of us speaking english. The town was a couple of miles away and you had to make your way down a road (10-15 min walk) to get to the main road for a bus or order a taxi which would cost €10.00 each way. Even though there was a lot of facilities within the complex it just is not suitable for english speaking people. I would not suggest this complex to irish or uk citizans.

Room Tip: Main hotel facing pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mossy087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
2.1 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,553 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#10 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Star Beach Village & Water Park
Star Beach Village & Water Park
#28 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anissa Beach Hotel
Anissa Beach Hotel
#34 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Beach Hotel
Bella Beach Hotel
#5 of 7 in Anissaras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyttos Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyttos Beach Hotel

Property: Lyttos Beach Hotel
Address: Hersonissos, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#7 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#39 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lyttos Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On one of the most beautiful islands in Greece, Crete and within a 20 kilometer distance from the airport of Iraklion, a heavenly garden awaits for you in Hersonissos. In the famous holiday destination of Hersonissos, the hotel can easily be compared to a heavenly scenery. Just 5 km from the town, hidden amongst vast, colorful gardens, in an area of 150 acres of palm trees and flowers leading to a 350 meter fully-organized, Blue Flag awarded sandy beach, Lyttos Beach is unlike any other hotel in the island. Its 365 rooms sea or garden view (double rooms, quadruple rooms, family rooms and suites), four swimming pools (one of Olympic size), two restaurants and two bars decorate this large area, leaving enough space for 15 tennis courts, a mini football pitch, basketball court, archery and golf training range. Just 5 km away from the hotel, golfers can enjoy the most exciting 18-hole golf courts in the island, with magnificent views to the multi-colored Cretan mountains. Lyttos Beach is a mosaic created by sun, sea, sand, mountains, athleticism, fun and games, relaxation, fine International & Greek cuisine and friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Lyttos Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyttos Beach Hotel Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing