We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad surprise”
Review of Lyttos Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Ranked #8 of 184 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Three days before flying, our travel agency told that the selected hotel was under reconstruction. So we were redirected to Lyttos Beach. Every thing is there to make it a nice place but there is a serious lack in coordination. Especially the restaurant is terrible. Too much peolpe in a short period (each meal duration is 1h30). Only three coffe machines for breakfast (over 300 rooms), plates were never served hot, not enough refilling. Though the staff is very friendly and helpfull, and they try to do their best with the poor means they had.
Enough diversity in the presented food.
Restaurants have only tables for 8 persons. As a couple we could never eat with just the two of us.
the bar at the pool is very noisy. Barman and Barmaid are very good (thanks Nikolaos). drinks are OK.
The pool is surprising, minimum depth is 1m40; very dangerous for little children. No stairs to enter the pool, which is not easy for older or disabled people. Beach is nice and big (350 m) with enough seats and umbrellas. Pool and beach are under control of a life guard.
Lots of Russian people.

Room Tip: The good rooms are the sea front bungallows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MadPaul3537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (779)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

187 - 193 of 779 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed at the Lyttos Beach from 2nd April for a week. There were ten of us, including three children. It wasn't the hotel we had picked, our choice wasn't going to be open so this was the alternative. We arrived at midnight and our first day disappointed us as, being all inclusive, we expected snacks and drinks from 11.00 till 17.00. Instead there was beer and nothing for kids! I rang tour operator and by next day all was sorted....snacks, ice cream and a good choice of soft and alcoholic drinks. There were very few tourists at hotel but a large number of young tennis players, attending a tournament. (Hotel wouldn't have been open otherwise).
Food in buffet area was plentiful and there was a good choice of salads, hot food, breads and sweets. Wine kept in fridge, both red and white! We helped ourselves to a bottle as required! On tap beer at lunch and evening too plus soft and hot drinks.
In high season there is an earlier kids' meal time. But as with most of facilities - night club, kids' club, other restaurant and entertainment, these were not available as it was early season. There are play areas for kids, though zip wire wasn't working. Good water slides which we used too.
Rooms clean and comfortable, not quite as shown in brochure, but perfect for our needs.
Plenty of sun beds, though parasols not out yet on most beds.
Location good but there is short walk to bus stop on main road. We walked along coast in both directions and it was very evident that Crete wasn't fully open for business!
Overall we enjoyed our stay, even if I did have to call UK tour operator about all inclusive!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mobimed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel is designed for families with kids, although at the end of September there were much fewer kids around. The grounds are pretty big and there are plenty of things to do and places to go to. Staff was a little bit too relaxed, may be because it was almost the end of the season, however more attention to guests would have been appreciated.

Also rooms could have been cleaned a little bit better, nothing major but even a 4 star hotel needs to keep up with it's image.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Bungalow by the Sea, which was perfect for us as it gave us more privacy, however WiF...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Viktor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

While the water slides in the facility are great if you are traveling with kids, the place is sworming with Russians so you don't feel like you are in Greece. Also, expect to be aggressively be pushed around during dinner. The drinks taste terrible and i have had a few bed bugs bits. Beach is not good for swiming and the resort is very windy. Luckily, the management was very helpful when we wanted to cancel our reservation which we are grateful for.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
11  Thank mallya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017
Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Matthias G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikos P, Front Office Manager at Lyttos Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank avantigela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikos P, Front Office Manager at Lyttos Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
0.8 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#5 of 184 in Hersonissos
3,230 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#12 of 184 in Hersonissos
2,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
66.9 mi away
Kalyves Beach Hotel
Kalyves Beach Hotel
#2 of 6 in Kalyves
693 reviews
3.5 mi away
Star Beach Village & Water Park
Star Beach Village & Water Park
#24 of 184 in Hersonissos
792 reviews
68.1 mi away
Kiani Beach Resort Family All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyttos Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyttos Beach Hotel

Address: Hersonissos, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
#3 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#6 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#39 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range: $120 - $711 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lyttos Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On one of the most beautiful islands in Greece, Crete and within a 20 kilometer distance from the airport of Iraklion, a heavenly garden awaits for you in Hersonissos. In the famous holiday destination of Hersonissos, the hotel can easily be compared to a heavenly scenery. Just 5 km from the town, hidden amongst vast, colorful gardens, in an area of 150 acres (15 Hectares) of more than 500 palm trees and various flowers leading to a 350 meter fully-organized, Blue Flag awarded sandy beach, Lyttos Beach is unlike any other hotel in the island. Its 349 rooms sea or garden view (double rooms, quadruple rooms, family rooms and suites), six swimming pools (one of Olympic size, 1 with water-slides, 1 heart shaped), two restaurants and four bars decorate this large area, leaving enough space for 22 tennis courts, a mini football pitch, basketball court, archery and golf training range. Just 5 km away from the hotel, golfers can enjoy the most exciting 18-hole golf courts in the island, with magnificent views to the multi-colored Cretan mountains. Family services include but are not limited to: Children supervision during meals in Main Restaurant from our animation team, Mini Club, kids pool with mini water-park, movie night, children participation in select shows, swimming lessons, cooking lessons, beach day, etc! Lyttos Beach is a mosaic created by sun, sea, sand, mountains, athleticism, fun and games, relaxation, fine International & Greek cuisine and friendly atmosphere. Our animation team completes our hotel services with shows for young friends and families in the amphitheater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lyttos Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyttos Beach Hotel Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing