We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely holiday but some minor points”
Review of Hotel Ilios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Ilios
Ranked #130 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely holiday but some minor points”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

This was a last minute holiday planned with a tight budget. The hotel was very clean with rooms big enough for what we needed...who spends their holiday in a room anyway?! The staff were excellent..couldn't do enough, especially Nikolas at the pool bar. The rooftop pool was so clean and tranquil with gorgeous views. The hotel was near enough to the front and town centre but quiet too. The only small downsides were the food ( you didn't get a choice unless you told them you didn't like it) although there was plenty of fresh salad at the salad bar and the meals which we did have were hot and freshly cooked. Also it would have been nice if there was a bar. We were staying AI and we had to go to reception for drinks once the waiters had finished dinner service. If there had been a bar I think people would have socialised more rather than playing on their phones. The room could have done with a fridge too. Yes you can hire one but I think AI should have one anyway. There was a happy hour when AI finished at 10 til 12 and drinks were very cheap. Overall we had an excellent holiday but would probably not go back due to the food situation. Great break on a small budget though.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shel83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    17
    17
    7
    18
See reviews for
17
23
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The only positive point of the hotel is ths rooftop Swimming Pool. And Nice and discrete personnel. Further on Rooms are medieval, shower didn't work as supposed to and there was no warm wather. You pay 7€ for 1 night airco and it works only 1 hour. Very Noisy. Situated on the main road of Chersonnisos, very bussy noise day & Night.
I do not advise to go with children

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mke1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hersonissos hotels

Krasnoyarsk, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

My wife and I stayed here this past July and found the place wonderful. Not far from the beach and attractions. The staff were really friendly and outgoing and the food was suburb, prepared by the owner. I would highly recommend Ilios to anyone, unless you want the big "party" hotel. Ilios is a more low key place but still, walking distance to the clubs, beaches (not Star Beach) and other attractions.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

I spend one week with my wife and our two kids at Helios hotel. I must say that I was very impressed with the service and the food. My kids enjoyed the pool on the roof and my wife due to the location had access to all the stores and restaurants in Hersonissos which were at a walking distance. The Beach was only 5 minutes walk. The people were vey frendly and the rooms clean with all the required services. Great choice at a great price.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Linaki_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
1.3 mi away
Hotel Oceanis
Hotel Oceanis
#7 of 7 in Anissaras
214 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Agrabella
Hotel Agrabella
#119 of 171 in Hersonissos
207 reviews
51.0 mi away
Hotel Ilios
Hotel Ilios
#36 of 175 in Rethymnon
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Blue Island Hotel
Blue Island Hotel
#95 of 171 in Hersonissos
74 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Iro
Hotel Iro
#81 of 171 in Hersonissos
72 reviews
53.6 mi away
Pantheon Hotel
Pantheon Hotel
#2 of 2 in Atsipopoulo
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ilios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ilios

Property: Hotel Ilios
Address: 2 Omirou St., Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ilios 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ilios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ilios Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing