We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh Dear!”
Review of Hotel Galini

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Galini
Ranked #65 of 173 Hotels in Hersonissos
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Recently returned from Crete having stayed at the Hotel Galini. Very disappointing, food lacklustre in the extreme! All inclusive from 11 to 11. Some of it only 2pm to 4pm. No snacks available, well they were but they cost. Staff were great, doing a hard job under difficult circumstances. The hotel needs a makeover and a rethink of all inclusive facilities to retain Western European customers. We will probably not return and will go back to using Portugal.

Room Tip: My tip on choosing a good room would be to go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 226 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

I also booked this hotel after reading reviews for the other Hotel Galini Beach Hotel,so I only have myself to blaim for the mistake. The transfer driver dropped us at the bottom of the road at midnight ,pitch black and left us to find the hotel,We arrived to be shown the room by the security man,as soon as we saw it I knew we had made a terrible mistake. The room was not like any other hotel room we have ever stayed in before,it was very small ,the bed was 3/4 size with a smaller bed on a concrete base,the larger bed was very uncomfortable with an almost solid mattress, the linen and towels were changed once during our stay,the sheets had holes in and the towels were quite grey.The rooms were not cleaned at all during our stay leaving the sink and the toilet dirty,I did enquire to reception about how often the rooms were cleaned and I was told they were cleaned daily,the only things that were done were the top sheet folded up,toilet paper bin emptied,and toilet roll replaced, The corridor was filthy when we arrived,and was in the same state when we left.The only bin was the toilet paper bin,there are no hygiene standards whatsoever.
The food was something else,most of it unrecognisable,nearly always luke warm,chefs speciality mashed potato covered with tomato sauce.The desert was either slices of water melon or green melon,slices of orange or slices of apple,There were 2 occasions when there was jelly,one jelly to be shared with all guests. The all inclusive drinks consisted of wine or beer or a shot of raki. 80% of the guests during the week we were there were Russian who were very loud and very greedy and drank like alcohol was going out of fashion,they were basically quite rude.Top marks to Maleika in the bar who was always very pleasant.We had to walk into Heronossis on a few occasions to buy a decent meal,which you shouldn't have to when you have paid all inclusive.We didn't actually arrive at the hotel until Friday morning ,because of flight times although we were booked in from Thursday,so on the following Thursday at 12.00 midday the receptionist came dashing down to the pool area where we were sitting with a pair of scissors and cut off our all inclusive wristbands saying we could no longer have anything to eat or drink unless we paid for it,I told her we had only had 6 days and had paid for 7 but she didn't want to know.
Another guest said we should put it down to experience but I don't agree we went for a holiday not an experience,my husband needed a holiday badly and I felt that I had let him down by making such a bad choice,at this unloved neglected (Hotel?) no comforts whatsoever,no hairdryers,very basis showers,I had to kneel on the floor to wash my hair.Never again ever.....

Room Tip: If you want a good room do not go to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pat17032013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

what can you say about hotel galini well the food was basic and not much choice always same the beach miles away if you cant walk far location way out room not up to savoy standard ie hyacycinnith bucket standard clean thats bad ponts all hotel staff super no local tavernas in walking distance so please check before you dare book galini its never 3 star more 1/2 star robert and jean sep17 /oct 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jess C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Having travelled many of the greek islands, twice ayear for the past 20 years, this is by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. We were all inclusive for 10 days, we love greek food and eat virtually anything, none of us could eat here. The food is disgusting, there is no choice, usually fat and chips followed by slices of melon. Drinks are watered down beer, orange or sprite, NO Spirits at all not even local metaxa. If you ask for a shot of lime in your beer you will be told very sternly it is not in the all inclusive. The whole hotel including the pool area is in dire need of refurbishment. The sun beds are broken, dirty and possibly about 20 years old. The location is poor with a fair walk down hill to a rocky beacn, not suitable for swimming. The only option is a taxi to the busy town at about 10 euro each way. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, stay well clear. Once you have paid your money for all inclusive you are stuck there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank spoooooky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Just returned from 15 days in this hotel. It was meant to be a special 60th birthday treat for my wife. Oops! Serious brownie points now needed.

In summary, eventually had 3 different rooms because of cockroach infestation. The food is truly beyond a joke. Chicken wings or fatty belly pork ... all lovingly prepared by a chef with a fag in his mouth!

The staff do try, but you kind of get the impression they know the issues. The hotel desperately needs a huge cash injection and the ropes handed over to the legendary Kostas.

I want to be charitable about this place, but that would be unfair to other readers of this site.

In summary I would say ensure you are getting the Galini you think. Apparently there are 3 on the Island, quite independant of each other. A tent is the pouring English rain would have been an upgrade after this experience. Thank God for the saving grace of some lovely guests.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

well my wife and have just returned from the galini hotel what an experience this hotel should be boarded up. the hotel has stopped in the 1960 s and it shows the food is disgusting unless you like pork fat ,chicken wings and all the other crap they tried to feed people all inclusive has no meaning too this hotel my wife lived on tomatoes and bread for 2 weeks for breakfast every meal time 3 members of the galini staff stood like the gastapo behind the servery watching you taking your food or not my personal view I have never been more gratefull for a plate of chicken soup that they let the chicken run through the water for flavour the rooms were very very very basic concrete beds with thin slats of wood to keep the matress up, bathroom was filthy nowhere to hang shower head you had to balance like a circus clown to try and have a shower but for by all the discomfort we endured. we met some brilliant people we had a good time with. by the way Russians are taking over the galini don't don't go to this hovel. pleased to be back in Scotland

Room Tip: don't take any room stay away
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank keith w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

spent 2 weeks at this place the worst place weve ever stayed dont get confused with the galini beach hotel which is where we thought we were going to stay, this place is called the HOTEL GALINI our room was ok but on the first evening i decided to take a shower and when he came out of the shower i was covered in paint because for some strange reason they wanted to paint the tiles with gloss paint to cover the mould, then we had our first night in the bed and 9 days felt like we had been torchered the pain was indescriable the matress had a big ridge across the centre and down the side after nine days of asking to be moved they finaly gave us another mattress,ok now the food continental some might say well we went their as salad lovers but that was short lived because their is greek salad and then thier is the galini salad feta cheese is a treat rarley seen main course is very bland and repetative chicken wings or belly pork was on the menu most days as reguards for dessert orange one day or melon thats it no cakes ect most food not used was recycled served as something else on the next meal we and other holiday makers took to eating mostly at the resterant called the big blue where the food and service is fantastic and very reasonable.,their was no entertainment laid on at this hotel for customers the only good thing was time spent by the pool area with other holiday makers and bar staff kostas malika and lucy were very nice people. The beach however is 400 hundred meters as a crow flys but around a mile but up hill to walk back would not recomend this place to anyone the only real good thing was the weather

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aaron d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
2.0 mi away
Mari-Kristin Hotel
Mari-Kristin Hotel
#75 of 173 in Hersonissos
172 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel and Apartments Dimitra
Hotel and Apartments Dimitra
#3 of 13 in Kokkini Hani
108 reviews
2.2 mi away
Galaxy Villas
Galaxy Villas
#6 of 13 in Koutouloufari
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Memory Boutique Hotel
Memory Boutique Hotel
#96 of 173 in Hersonissos
126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oceanis
Hotel Oceanis
#7 of 7 in Anissaras
228 reviews
4.1 mi away
Kalia Beach Hotel
Kalia Beach Hotel
#27 of 36 in Kato Gouves
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galini

Address: Anissaras L Chersonissou | Anissaras, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 173 Hotels in Hersonissos
Price Range: $27 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Galini 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galini Anissaras, 2**+ Greece, Crete, Anissaras ( Location Anissaras. Distance to sandy - pebble beach is about 400 m. Distance to the resort center is about 2 km (Chersonissos). Distance to the airport is about 23 km (Heraklion). Hotel facilities Hotel was opened 1988 y. Hotel was renovated 2010 y. Room number - 52. Restaurant. Bar. Snack Bar. TV room.Wi-Fi ( free in the reception area). Pool. Sun beds by the pool. Sun beds on the beach (paid). Umbrellas by the pool. Umbrellas on the beach (paid). Hotel official category - 2*.+ Room facilities Possibility to order PROMO room. It can be any type of the room, exact type of the room you will know on arrival to the hotel. Standard Room space is about 18 sq.m. Shower. WC. Balcony or terrace. Air Conditioner (independent, paid). Phone. TV. Safe (paid). Refrigerator (paid). Maximum accommodation - 2+1. Family room Room space is about 28 sq.m. 1 bedroom. Sitting area. Shower. WC. Balcony or terrace. Air Conditioner (independent, paid). Phone. TV. Safe (paid). Refrigerator (paid). Maximum accommodation - 4. Activities Billiards(paid) Children facilities Kids Pool. Playground (swings). Catering Available catering types: Half Board, ALL Inclusive. Remarks Food and beverages in the restaurants, cafeterias, bars and other outlets indicated in the hotel's description are served according to the hotel's management system and are extra chargeable according to the meal plan booked. Information provided in the hotel description, variety of the hotel services and their timing and prices might be changed. (more foto and info is in hotel facebook . hotel galini anisaras) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Galini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galini Hotel Hersonissos
Hotel Galini Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing