We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a wonderful holiday - can't wait to go back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aldemar Royal Villas
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Such a wonderful holiday - can't wait to go back”
Reviewed September 1, 2010

My husband and I and two small children aged 5 and 3 have just returned from a weeks stay in the Royal Villas. The complex was amazing. We stayed on an all inclusive basis and the food was just wonderful. so much choice every meal time and child friendly. Our villa was perfectly clean and the surrounding areas around the hotel well maintained. We just loved 'The Animation Team' - so full of energy and very very friendly. Our boys loved the Mini Club (so did we - we took it in turns to stay) The care and facilities were outstanding. The mini disco on an evening was the perfect end to every perfect day. The only thing that did cause problems with the children was the salt water pools - however a quick purchase of swimming goggles soon sorted that. We are recommending this to all our friends and family and can't wait to return soon.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crook_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krv_9, General Manager at Aldemar Royal Villas, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Our dearest and valuable Guests,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post these comments from your experience in our hotel Aldemar Knossos Royal & Royal Villas 5*.

Your support gives us the strength to continue our efforts towards guest’s satisfaction as well as the motivation to come up with new creative ideas.
Warm and sunny days are ahead and we look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once again.

Let us offer you additional and exciting experiences in the Aldemar tradition, with authentic hospitality and memorable moments – something we have provided travelers with for more than twenty years.

Sincerely yours,
Michael Gasparis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
19
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Whilst this hotel complex was beautiful it was enhanced by the superb staff on the animation team who were not only talented and friendly, but made you feel like a special guest on holiday. No one was left out and they took time to cater for your needs and include everyone in their fun and activities. Well done to them and thank you for a lovely holiday to all the staff at the hotel

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenMelZoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

Staying at this hotel was an amazing 5 star experience. Myself, my husband and two children aged 11 and 7 all had a truly wonderful holiday thanks to the excellent service and luxurious facilities this hotel offers. The service was first class at all times. The staff in reception, restaurants & bars as well as and the cleaning and maintenance staff were all friendly and helpful. It was this service that made us all feel extremely welcome. We all felt very special.

The food in all the restaurants was of an outstandingly high standard and again the service made the experience out of this world. All our meals are delicious. The breakfast for Villa guests is served in a beautiful restaurant and the manager was exceptionally welcoming and personable. She ran her restaurant team most efficiently.

The Villa was spacious and well maintained. Our cleaner was wonderful and kept the room spotlessly clean every day and was so friendly. The lounge led straight out on to our private pool shared with just a few other Villas. It was peaceful so you could totally relax but at the same time the kids could play all day in the pool.

Other than the service and facilities, extra touches also created a sense of luxury: Cava and smoked salmon canapés in the room on arrival; a daily fresh fruit platter and daily water in the room; a daily pool side service of ice cream and bottles of water; and Molton Brown toiletries.

I would definitely recommend staying at the Royal Knossos Villas and would love to return. This is most certainly first class accommodation.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Holidaygirl65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2010

From the moment we arrived at this hotel we were impressed with the friendliness of the staff and the beautiful surroundings. Our opinion did not waiver in the 2 weeks we spent at this perfect hotel. The food was of a very high standard with endless choice, the all inclusive option made the holiday extremely good value. Our villa appartment was spacious, exeptionally clean with air conditioning and a fan. To celebrate our anniversary we had complimentary wine, ouzo, champagne and fruit with a personalised card. Again the staff could ot do enough for us, our every need was catered for and nothing was too much trouble.
The hotel surroundings are stunning, they are extremely peaceful to walk around. The swimming pools bring welcome relief from the hot sun, the only down side are they are salt water.
We could not recommend this hotel highly enough and would definitely go back. We would recommend the walk to Hersonnisos, it takes about 1 hour but the coastal route is breathtaking.
Customer service in this hotel is exceptional and all the staff should be congratulated. The Animation team worked so hard to make everyone's holiday special and their evening performances were entertaining.
The only down side were that there were a lot of young children around but they were in the main well behaved and well controlled by their parents

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BirminghamYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2010

By a happy accident we spent 11 days in Knossos in May 2009 and there is no regret about these wonderful days.
It was the beginning of the season, few-days holidays in Russia which we decided to spend in our favorite place – Crete Island. Normally we are staying in Cretan Village (4-stars hotel of very high quality which is also a part of Aldemar chain and situated just next to Knossos Royal). But in the beginning of May Cretan Village still was not open and tour operator offered us to stay in Knossos.
First impression – vast, green territory, well-groomed, with lush vegetation – enough space for walking and many things to do.
We lived in a junior villa stands on a little eminence on the cape. Particularly it has the same facilities like a bungalow (in question of interior, furniture, accessories etc. – as we repeatedly showed in Aldemar hotels, the accommodation is always very good and comfortable). But as the inhabitants of Villas we were entitled to have a breakfast in a Villas’ restaurant on the sea-side. There is a breakfast buffet with wide choice of appetizers, fruits, bakery, hot snacks, beverages and even Champaign (!) on the guest’s accord. In the main restaurant you can also try some traditional dishes of different cuisines (for example, Russian crêpes were even much tasty than we could expect – just like in Moscow :-))
There are several restaurants in Knossos Royal: main restaurant (served breakfast, lunch and dinner), restaurant on the beach (lunch & dinner – for advance reservation), Tavern “Artemis” (live music, advance reservation), main bar with wicker chairs near the main building, some pool bars, “ouzo-cafe” (not only Ouzo, but also Metaxa, nice Cretan Vines and international drinks) – you can visit all of it with All incl. system. Plus gourmet restaurant “Fontana Amorosa” – for additional charge, but it is really worthy you visit!
Knossos Royal has 4 water pools (with fresh and sea water), pool for children with waterslide + private pools for every villas. Like a public person I preferred the main pool with textile awnings and fountain – a superb place for rest and communication with people. On the contrary, my mother much likes our private pool where you can relax far away from the seething life. In Knossos Royal everyone will find the rest which is looking for.
In conclusion of our essay, special thanks we want to say for the hotel’s staff and the animation team. Remember these people whose presence (evident or invisible) makes your stay really unforgettable.
The only caution – choose the right time for visit. I think June till September are more reasonable, because in May and October you can not be totally sure in weather (during our stay in the beginning of May 2 days were cloudy).
Anyway Knossos Royal and Royal Villas is really deserved your visit. Personally our family rating for this hotel – strong 5.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Piccola_Russa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed September 22, 2008

We spent two weeks in the Knossos Royal Villas in September 2008, in fact we got married there and it was a great experience.
The staff is very friendly and caring, they make you feel welcome during the stay.

Organising the wedding was very easy, quickly and stress free. It was just want we wanted. A romantic ceremony without too much hassle.

We had the ceremony at the Fontana Amorosa and the reception was in the same place. I was concerns that being an small group could make them lose interest in the event, but it was first class service. The food at the Fontana Amorosa was excellent, full of detail and carefully prepared. It was a real gourmet experience for our guests.

It is worth to take a villa with a private swimming pool, especially if you want a relaxing and resting holidays. Everything was clean and towers were changed twice a day.

The food at the main restaurant is very fresh and there is a good selection every day. They have theme nights to make it a bit more dynamic.

The beach is not particularly good, it is full of rocks and the sand is basically little rocks which make it very difficult to walk thorugh. I would not recommend if you have small children who are dreaming to play with the sand.

We had late check out and we were able to use the suit until 1.30 am when we had to take a taxi to the airport.

We recommend going to the village inland to experience the taberna's real food. The food is not sophisticated but is real homemade food.

We did not like that much Herssonisos, it is a shame it has been converted in another Benidorm... full of places selling English breakfast. Hersonissos is about 30 minutes walking or €8 by taxi. The old Hersonissos village is a bit further and the taxi is about €12

Overall we had a great experience and without doubt we recommend this resort.

  • Liked — It was very relax and hassle free
  • Disliked — Animationg team leaves the hotel down. Lack of ideas and not well organise.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MJimenez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
0.2 mi away
Anna Maria Village
Anna Maria Village
#40 of 176 in Hersonissos
110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#10 of 176 in Hersonissos
1,879 reviews
0.1 mi away
Annabelle Beach Resort
Annabelle Beach Resort
#25 of 176 in Hersonissos
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Insula Alba Resort & Spa
Insula Alba Resort & Spa
#17 of 176 in Hersonissos
389 reviews
0.8 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 176 in Hersonissos
2,571 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kosta Mare Palace Hotel
Kosta Mare Palace Hotel
#44 of 176 in Hersonissos
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldemar Royal Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldemar Royal Villas

Property: Aldemar Royal Villas
Address: Limenas Hersonissou, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 123 Specialty Lodging in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Aldemar Royal Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 392
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Aldemar Royal Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldemar Knossos Royal Villas Hotel Chersonisos
Aldemar Royal Villas Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing