We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Apartments”
Review of Silvia Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Silvia Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Apartments”
Reviewed July 28, 2010

Just got back from Silvia Apartments in Koutouloufari, These apartments are excellent value they are cleaned every day, we had so many cleans towels, the service and what you get is the best I have experienced in Crete, stayed in apartment 100.
A/C cost five euros a day well worth it, which you are told that it cost extra when you book, the same all over Crete.
I Know when I was there that their was a couple with children that moaned about everything.
The dutch people are great yes there are groups of young lads as well as dutch family's that are very friendly and polite, we had no problems at all, in fact if that was a load of English lads then it would of been a completely different story, The menu is in dutch and English, My son made friends with the dutch lads, my son is 7, and I felt completely safe when he would sit and talk to them with his other friends Chelsea and Connor, and another thing I would like to point out I never saw the dutch drink Alcohol in the day.
The people that complain about them I think are the type of people that should be going to Benidorm, you know like the TV show that used to be on!!!!!!
I disagree about the size of the rooms, what was said about the two beds squeezed into the kitchen area, this made me nearly cancel my holiday, you should be ashamed of your self.

The staff are first class and work very long hours, and if you stuck up lot took your time to talk to them then you might feel different, the owner Athena and her sister Silvia are lovely people, On the last night Athena came and said good bye and told me if the transfer did not turn up to wake her up and she would call a taxi, this would of been at 4 in the morning, as I had book a last minute holiday with Travel Republic and they could not book my transfer so I had to do it on line. I would like to thank Carole and Billy and their two lovely children Connor and Chelsea, hopefully we will see again when they get back from Crete next week from their holiday.
The views are fantastic, if you walk up the hill and turn right you come to the small beautiful village of Koutouloufari, which has lots of fantastic restaurants and shops, if you go down the hill to Hersonisos, and have children take them to Star Beach free to get in, but you will have to pay for sun beds, and there is a gorgeous beach there, with little coves, star beach after six at night is for the party people.
They have some great kids pools there, and will keep the little ones entertained for hours.
I would recommend these apartment for none lazy people whom do not mind walking up and down a Hill,
There are lots of places to hire cars and bikes in the area, a good supermarket that is cheap is the spar down the other end of Hersonisos, and there is a Lidi, the Bus is 1.40 Euros down to the end of Hersonisos, the walk is long in the hot sun, so its worth taking the bus.
To Athena, Yannis, and the very hard working cleaner thank you for your excellent service, and hope to see you all again next year.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YvetteMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    52
    26
    9
    12
See reviews for
67
62
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2010

we stayed here for 10 nites with 2 teenage children, we had a 2 bedroom appartment, well the kids had 2 single beds squeezed into the kitchen area, the kitchen is very BASIC an not very clean we had ants trooping around the sick area for the 10 days we stayed, the are conditions either frooze you or you baked, the childrens room had no air con in.very quiet place not to many people about, the bar man was the best with his lovly coctails , the owner an his daughter (reciptionest) would waddle round the place shounting at the bar man jannis..pure rude.. i put up wit it for 10 nites but would not return here..

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minniemouseIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury on Thames
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2009

Well, I was worried about staying here as I had read reviews about the fact that this hotel is advertised in Holland as an 18-30's - there were a few groups of young dutch guys and they were quite loud in the evenings but I think they get hushed if it gets too late. They didnt cause many problems in the pool or anything but we heard that there were much more dutch loads earlier in the season.
The rooms were great but they mistakenly gave us room to cater for 4 when there was only 2 of us (we booked 2 rooms between 4 of us). The maids came every 2 days (wheather you liked it or not - they made my teenagers get out of bed, which we found funny but they didnt!)
They rooms for 2 ppl looked ok too - self catering is very basic - just 2 hob rings. We had 2 apartments one of them had a toaster and kettle and lots of plates and bowls and the other had none of these!
The pool was great and big - the staff were ok but their english wasnt great.
The location was good for Koutoulafari and quite a trek to the small beaches scattered around. The walk back up the hill after being on a hot beach was quite tough!
Anyway - happy to answer any questions about the pace - email me!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuteley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2009

Stayed at the Silvia apartments from 14th of July to the 21st. When we arrived the reception was closed and had to go to bar to ask where the receptionist was. We were then allocated a room up the back area of the complex where all the young Dutch boys were staying. The room was clean and the barman Jannis was very welcoming. But when we arrived back to the room after being out for dinner, we found out patio chairs had been stolen by the Dutch boys, who claim it wasn't them even though they had 6 chairs and we only had 2. They did however keep the noise down after midnight which was good. There was also a notice on the inside of the door stating that the linen would be changed every second day, this was not the case and was only changed once throughout our week long stay. There was also laser pens shining towards our balcony at night time and one morning there was very loud music at 7:30 am and had a phone call from young Dutch boys to the room laughing and saying something about toilet roll. They also managed to bring a shopping trolley to the hotel and took it to their upstairs room and throw it off the balcony. The bar was also very expensive as was the whole resort. Would definitely not recommend the Silvia apartments to ANY BRITISH people and only to 18-30 year old Dutch boys.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross_McLean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2008

Arrived on the 19th October. Our first apartment wasnt up to much (a bit stuffy with no view). Had a word with Athena (the Manageress) who was very helpful and she moved us the next day to a lovely, light and spacious balcony apartment for no extra charge. She is such a lovely girl who would bend over backwards to make sure your stay there was as pleasant as possible. All the staff were polite and they made us feel very welcome. We will definately come back next year.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curlywurly3669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 21, 2008

this complex was very good overall had a very good holiday staff very freindly nothing was to much trouble for them the bar man jannis was very good would do food anytime when asked would go back again next year a bit hilly for those that have walking problems very peaceful but near enough to night life when needed wsheffield couple oct 2008 aged 58/60

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank greciansheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcestershire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2008

I have just returned from this hotel and i would say its ok if you are just after basic accomadation.If you want fantastic service and pristine accomadation then it probably wouldnt be your cup of tea.
When we arrived at the hotel at midnight the receptionist (who was the same one all week!) told us she was ill and we would have to check in in the morning.We didnt mind that too much at the time but as we got to know her more it become obvious she was just lazy and spent most of her time sunbathing,hence anyone who needed to go to reception had to either wait until she returned or go and hunt her down.On our departure we had to leave our keys and safe key with the barman as she had gone off to a party.
We did eat there a couple of times and the food was ok.The barman Yanis had to do basically everything,he really could do with a little helper/waitress!
We had no problems with the Dutch guests although i think they had all returned home all but a few.One of them was on crutches due to diving into the pool at 4 in the morning after being at a club.We did hear from fellow guests that the Dutch were very noisy though but we did not see it ourselves.
The location of the hotel was great for us it was in walking distance of the town which was very very friendley and there were plenty of places to go.We will definetley go again but will stay elsewhere the village.
The last day of our holiday we were not very happy when athena (the receptionist) made us pay for keeping both of our apartments untill 6 .We had spoke to her earlier in the week and she said because nobody was going into the rooms we could keep them till 6.On the last day she denied saying it and we had to pay 60 euros more.
All in all this hotel is probably ok for a lads holiday but for families im sure there are better places in koutolafari then the silvia.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank jammy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
0.3 mi away
Galaxy Villas
Galaxy Villas
#6 of 13 in Koutouloufari
332 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#2 of 13 in Koutouloufari
1,068 reviews
0.1 mi away
Petra Village Apartments
Petra Village Apartments
#10 of 13 in Koutouloufari
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Imperial Belvedere
Imperial Belvedere
#44 of 171 in Hersonissos
729 reviews
0.6 mi away
Astra Village Apartments
Astra Village Apartments
#8 of 13 in Koutouloufari
292 reviews
1.6 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#5 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silvia Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silvia Apartments

Property: Silvia Apartments
Address: Village of Koutouloufari, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 121 Specialty Lodging in Hersonissos
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Silvia Apartments 1.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Bookgreece.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Silvia Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silvia Apartments Hotel Chersonisos
Silvia Apartments Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing