We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place in a Great Position”
Review of Silvia Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Silvia Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Place in a Great Position”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This was a last minute booking to somewhere new so I didn't know what to expect.
But what I got was great.
I was staying in Apartment 100 on the ground floor. It's large and clean but a little tired and has enough room for 4people with 2 beds in the one bedroom, and 2 more beds in the main living area. The kitchen area is basic with a kettle, 2 ring hob and a fridge which is all you really need to get by.
The aircon is situated in the Bedroom which is great for getting a good nights sleep on a hot night and does a good job to keep the whole place cool on the hottest of afternoons. Be aware tho that the aircon cost an extra €50 for a week which is more than worth while, but its worth knowing in advance so it doesn't come as too much of a shock when you arrive.

Whats where.
Turn left when you leave the complex and your heading down to the beach which is only abut 10 to 15 minutes away.
Turn right up the hill and your heading for the nearest supermarket which is at the top of the hill on the left or go right to Koutouloufari village. It's only about a 10 - 15 minute walk, and there are lots of shops and restaurants to choose from and it's a lot more picturesque than the beach.
By the way, if your into watching sports on TV, there a great sports bar up there as well.

One final thing is to complement all the guys and girls working at Silvia's. They're all really helpful and friendly.

So there you go. Would I go back, Without a doubt!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colinsplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    52
    26
    9
    12
See reviews for
67
62
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Sylvia's apartments is the perfect place to chill out, nothing is a problem except the many times she asks you if everything is ok, she and her staff work very hard and the place shows it , very clean, fluffy towels , and lovely pool, gardens well kept and bar always open for meals drinks etc, Diana and Andreas always chatty and a laugh, the place is a credit to Sylvia , thank you we were sorry to leave

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is a late review of our holiday at the end of August this year.

The bad bits:

On arrival to the apartments it was 4am which is the usual for the flights we were told. There was a note on the door telling us where to go and which apartment number, but no map of the resort? It was pitch black dark and we had to approach near to each numbered apartment to see if we were getting closer. 20 minutes later we found our apartment tucked in a corner. First impressions, grim indeed!
A major burn hole in the living room curtain greeted us, a ripped to shreds shower curtain, no soaps etc, 1 bog roll (which is all we ever got for 2 weeks). bits missing from the curtain rails and generally basic and unclean. Basic kitchen, no kettle? Had to use a pan, No hair dryer.
More or less the exact opposite of what had been listed in the advertising! It was everything but.
We have stayed in Sri lanka and other 3rd world type countries, and I'll this place did show at first glance in bad light indeed compared.

Later that day (in daylight), we were ushered to the pool bar to pay for the air con and safe, both which I am not used to paying extra for and for 2 weeks knocked me back for over 100 euros?
They replaced the curtain in the lounge, we never saw a new shower curtain. Adding to this we hardly over the 2 weeks experienced any hot water.
A 'special' barbecue night was £15 each and it was crap really, I've done better in my own garden!

The staff: Silvia was nice yet money grabbing, Jahnny (Greek John) the bar man was a nice bloke. Silvia's sister seemed to be something else, one minute seething and angry looking, ignorant and blanking and then bursting out laughing at the sky or something next? weird indeed!

Good points:

The pool was nice, it was quiet.
The surrounding areas are beautiful and Crete itself fabulous, nice scenery, hot weather, lovely locals etc. Old Hersonisos and Koutouloufari village were our regular haunts and we stayed out til past 4am most nights with the locals friends we made on holiday. We would definitely visit Crete again, may go back next year, but will find a self catering apartment which hopefully fits the description.
Silvia's place would be great if it were maintained properly and the staff were as consistent as the money grabbing!

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ushibaosensei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We booked through Bookable Holidays via teletext " what a mistake ". Damp rooms beds were disgusting we paid inflated prices so so disappointed. We requested to be moved from the damp room to a room that was equally as disgusting. Shower room was terrible it was a joke - if you don't have a sense of humour don't even entertain going! Someone somewhere is making a killing on these apartments and its not the owner - although she is arrogant! It's the first holiday I had where I wanted to catch the next flight and come home can only blame myself for booking without researching first , lesson learnt!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SiouxanH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed 4-19 September (room 404) and had a great time. The reception was friendly as were all staff on site. This is a great location; 10 mins walk down to the 'strip' and bus stops and 20 up to the villages. The site was quiet - to be expected in September, mainly couples - but reported by the management to be busier/noisier with 'the youth' in June and families in August. The 1-bed apartment was fine (sleeps 5) but a toaster would have been useful. The pool area and bar was pleasant. The local shops and super markets provided everything we needed and the meat and fish is cheap. We preferred the tavernas in the villages above the resort although had no problems down in Liman Chersonisos. The bus connections were straight forward and reliable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gissapint99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

A smallish hotel/apartment site with reasonable rooms somewhat basically furnished and equipped. Clean but in need of some refurbishment. Located a short walk from the village, it was difficult to find (it lies to the East of the village). Pool was large and pleasant. The village has good restaurants, etc. but they are pricey for Crete.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brunlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

A perfect location to chill ,but not too far away from the resort o
the lovely village of Koutouloufari with its fantastic tavernas...we found the apartments more than adequate and looked to be recently overhauled,,,,the only thing we were surprised about was the none refundable charge of 65 euros for the safe deposit box & a/c for one weeks stay..despite this we would certainly not hesitate in returning...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaiserbil101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
0.3 mi away
Galaxy Villas
Galaxy Villas
#6 of 13 in Koutouloufari
334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#2 of 13 in Koutouloufari
1,069 reviews
0.1 mi away
Petra Village Apartments
Petra Village Apartments
#10 of 13 in Koutouloufari
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Imperial Belvedere
Imperial Belvedere
#44 of 171 in Hersonissos
734 reviews
0.6 mi away
Astra Village Apartments
Astra Village Apartments
#8 of 13 in Koutouloufari
293 reviews
1.6 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#6 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silvia Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silvia Apartments

Property: Silvia Apartments
Address: Village of Koutouloufari, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 121 Specialty Lodging in Hersonissos
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Silvia Apartments 1.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Bookgreece.com so you can book your Silvia Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silvia Apartments Hotel Chersonisos
Silvia Apartments Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing