We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money Apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Acropolis Apartments
Ranked #61 of 173 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in April 2014, Arrived late-ish and was greeted by Miros ( very nice man ) with a quick check in we quickly dumped our bags and headed back down stair for a quick drink and chat before heading out for a Gyros pita.

In the morning we had the chance to inspect the room further and it was exactly as we expected Basic clean spacious 1 bedroom apartment , our kids also had the same apartment type next door to us and both facing the road outside that was great for people watching yet may not suit if you are a light sleeper as you had some light traffic noise ( apartments to rear overlooking the pool are very quiet if that's what you are looking for ). Now I will be honest and say that one of the first things we did was check the mattresses ( after seeing a pic on here ) and they were all fine we even told Miros ( owner) we did this and we had a chat regarding some of his previous guests and lets just say some people can be very vindictive.

Down stairs you have a Bar serving snacks , Internet Café ( small fee), Free Wifi, Pool Table ( small fee ), Large selection of Books to read, Tvs, Playstation ,and roadside tables for people watching just perfect for our needs, you also have a little souvenir shop next door/attached owned by the same family and you get 10% discount for being guests at the apartments.

The swimming pool to the rear was clean but a little cold ( time of year ).

Location was ideal 150m from beach and main road with its shops and bus stops/ taxi rank,and directly opposite the apartments is an cash point ( ATM ) and next door is a Carrefour supermarket for all you self catering needs .

Miros and his family are very nice honest people and it was a pleasure meeting them and being guests at the Acropolis Apartments, our only regret is not staying longer than we did at these value for money apartments and we do plan to return in the future at some point possibly for a 3 month stay or longer.

Thanks Miros and all the best for the season ahead.
From Jacqui, Garry and the kids xxxx.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank BambooSasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 177 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013

stayed at the acropolis 15th/22nd October, and had a really great holiday, weather was perfect, and the room we stayed in you could not fault, it was basic that is true but, cleaned every day,by a lovely greek lady, miros could not do enough for you , if you were short of anything in the room you only had to ask, we booked this holiday at the last minuet, and got a really good priced holiday, the hotel itself is really central150 meters to the harbour, and 150 meters to the main shopping street, maybe some people have given negative views, but my husband and myself were made really welcome thanks again miros

Room Tip: rooms with pool view quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 966harry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed at the Acropolis for one week 20 September 2013, we thought we were going for a nice holiday - No it was the "Miros hammer house of horrors" it was utterly filthy. We arrived at 3.00 a.m in the morning, to be given room 003, the minute we opened the door to the apartment, you could smell the stench of stale cigarettes, the furniture was very basic and was covered in cigarette burns, there was squashed Mosquitos and splattered blood on the walls . The kitchen table looked like a dog had gnawed the corner and all along the edge away. We opened the kitchen door to find nothing but congealed grime along the edge of the door, absolutely revolting. The cheese grater had last weeks cheese still in the holes and was rusty. The bathroom all along the bath had mould and dirt along the edge of the bath, the taps that should have been chrome, but due to lack of cleaning had a horrible white crusted film all over them. I had no choice but to use the loo, and I ended up almost on the floor, as the toilet seat came detached from the loo. At the side of the toilet there was a dirty mop and bucket with a broom and dustpan and brush. As you do we checked over the apartment opened the balcony doors to find that the Inland view was that of a dirty grubby courtyard, covered in hoses and dirty puddles of water, and pipes going up the walls. The apartment opposite was all of 10ft away and you could see the other occupants sleeping in their room, and could hear another occupant going to the toilet (very attractive), we went back to the night porter to ask for another room to be told we would have to stay in this room until the morning, then we would need to speak to the Manager. The next day we went to the 'Welcome Meeting' which we would strongly recommend you do because that is where we found our Rep, we reported our findings to her, except we went one better and took her into the apartment, she agreed the apartment was filthy, and got us our room changed, we were offered two other rooms one of which 007 (and trust me it was not James Bond Material) it was just as bad. We were then offered another room on the third floor overlooking the road, we were advised it would be noisy which we said we can deal with that, and we did, but this apartment was lighter and brighter so it seemed. The previous occupants had just vacated the room, and we were told we would need to wait for the cleaners to clean the room, by this time it was12.15 p.m the next day and we had not had either a drink or anything to eat, so we chose the opportunity to get some food in the bar, 10 minutes later we were then told we could go and get settled, no way had they cleaned the room properly in that short space of time after we had eaten we went up to the room, to see it was pretty much still the same state as before with just clean sheets, we had no alternative but to get some cleaning fluids and clean the apartment ourselves. By the time we had done this unpacked and got showed it was 3.00 p.m the next day. We were 3 days into our holiday, the kettle we were given became faulty, the cup measure came away from the kettle and leaked boiling water all down my leg, fortunately, my shorts took the brunt of it but it still burnt my leg, we had to again to speak with the manager Miros, and he turned out to be nothing but an arrogrant ignoramous, he was confrontational, and unprofessional, to my husband, my husband walked away and Miros this wonderful lovely person everyone thinks he is took the argument out into the street, and then had the cheek to complain about us to our rep.
The apartments are very basic which doesn't bother us, but filthy dirty, and the beds are disgusting, the mattress looked like every bodily fluid and been absorbed into the mattress from the last 12 months, the pillows were covered in blood it was totally horrendous, we only found this on the last day. We do have photographs to back this up if needed, and a full scale complaint has been made to the tour operator. Oh by the way, the management of this establishment only provide you with one toilet roll, you have to buy your own if you want to wipe you bum. We do not go on holiday to befriend hotel/apartment families or managers, we go because we need a break. This was not a rest it was rubbish and if you go here stop at your own peril, The only reason these apartments get good reviews is because Miros asks you to give a good review. Well this time he got what he deserves he is nothing but a penny pinching pedlar.

Room Tip: Just don't book here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank maxitators
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Due to an on-going renovation programme the apartments can be a bit hit or miss. Slightly dated or very modern but always scrupulously clean and reasonably well equipped.
The thing that makes the Acropolis stand out is the attitude of the staff - you are always valued and respected.
The tenant/manager Myros and his family and staff are incredible - always friendly and accommodating, from Myros down to the chambermaids and topped off by Maria at front of house.
Great experience and we are sure to return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KenK61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed for two weeks in June. The room itself was large, basic but clean and bright. The balconies of the rooms on the inside of the building face other balconies and there is not much space between them so not pleasant at all to sit on, mostly always shaded as they are on the inside of the building.
The pool was nice but you are not permitted to eat or drink at the pool side (only bottles of water).
Most of the staff were nice but the real downside to these apartments is the food, awful with everything microwaved and definitely not value for money. I feel the owners could put more effort in to this as they seem to want to sit and chat most of the time which is fine if you have everything just right.
We would not go back to these apartments as there is so much choice in Crete and it is a wonderful friendly place, we are currently planning our next trip to go back to Hersonissos.
I would also say this is definitely not a place for young people as they have quite strict rules.

Room Tip: Rooms over pool have better situated balconies but still very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ModernMillie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed at the Acropolis apartments in early September 2013, from the first day until the last it was a memorable experience!
Myros along with his very pleasant team of staff were a credit to the hotel. Room was very spacious and cleaned daily and nice and quiet situated at back of hotel. We felt very welcome by everyone from time of arrival,Had a problem on first day with toilet which Myros resolved promptly. Apartments are in a great location for beach restaurants and shops approx 150 yards away We booked here on the back of previous reviews and would advise others to do the same. You won't be dissapointed! We will be going back next year for authentic greek hospitality,We have visited a number of different greek islands over the last 20 years and the Acropolis is up there with the best...Enjoy !!!!!

Room Tip: choose room at back for quiet,,, busy main street at front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DennisGilroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed at the Acropolis Apartments from 24th September - 1st October 2013, we had a really lovely time.

As ever, for a Greek 2 star accommodation is was basic, but clean. From the minute we walked in, we were made to feel welcome by Myros and his family/staff, I requested a ground floor apartment during the booking process as I was travelling with my Mom and Aunt, and Mom has problems with her knees, we asked, we got.... we were in room 003 on the ground floor and was pleasantly surprised with the space in the room, and instead of a balcony we had a terrace shared with the room opposite, which wasn't a problem for us. It was great on the terrace at lunchtime, it was shaded, and a break from the scortching sun.

We were short of a couple of items in the kitchen, all you need to do is ask at reception and they get you them straight away, no moaning, no complaints. The rooms were cleaned daily, and bed linen and towels changed 2 x weekly.

You couldn't wish for more friendly hosts, Hara the lovely lady who works in the bar is sooooo welcoming, and looks after you well.

The apartments are very convenient for the beach front and the main centre, there is a massive supermarket 2 door down, and a fantastic bakery opposite. What else do you need?
On the day we were due to check out, we were told we should be out by midday, but Myros let us keep the room til 1.30pm free of charge.

We will definitely be returning next year.... anyone who moans about these apartments should consider booking 4 star plus next time they visit Greece, because only then will you get luxury rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ladywall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
0.0 mi away
Minas Apartments
Minas Apartments
#37 of 173 in Hersonissos
364 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bellos Hotel Apartments
Bellos Hotel Apartments
#10 of 173 in Hersonissos
432 reviews
1.0 mi away
Galaxy Villas
Galaxy Villas
#6 of 13 in Koutouloufari
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kassavetis Center
Kassavetis Center
#133 of 173 in Hersonissos
75 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#2 of 13 in Koutouloufari
1,174 reviews
2.9 mi away
Rainbow Apartments
Rainbow Apartments
#4 of 52 in Stalis
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acropolis Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acropolis Apartments

Address: 11 Dimokratias, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Hersonissos
#17 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range: $16 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Acropolis Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For many years in a friendly environment we have hosted thousands of visitors. Our pleasant services will be memorable from your holidays in Hersonissos Crete. Acropolis Apartments consists of 30 apartments. With peaceful surroundings you can enjoy the Cretan hospitality. We are located only 150m from the sea and 150m from the town center. In Acropolis Apartments we offer our clients an all inclusive package with meals in our cafe - restaurant which is located right next to the main beach of Hersonissos. In Acropolis complex are also available to use for our clients, an internet café-corner, billiards, PC & TV games, Photo Shop Express and a market shop with souvenirs from Hersonissos and Crete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Acropolis Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acropolis Apartments Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing