We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it here.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Acropolis Apartments
Ranked #57 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
West Mids England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Loved it here.”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed at the Acropolis Apartments from 24th September - 1st October 2013, we had a really lovely time.

As ever, for a Greek 2 star accommodation is was basic, but clean. From the minute we walked in, we were made to feel welcome by Myros and his family/staff, I requested a ground floor apartment during the booking process as I was travelling with my Mom and Aunt, and Mom has problems with her knees, we asked, we got.... we were in room 003 on the ground floor and was pleasantly surprised with the space in the room, and instead of a balcony we had a terrace shared with the room opposite, which wasn't a problem for us. It was great on the terrace at lunchtime, it was shaded, and a break from the scortching sun.

We were short of a couple of items in the kitchen, all you need to do is ask at reception and they get you them straight away, no moaning, no complaints. The rooms were cleaned daily, and bed linen and towels changed 2 x weekly.

You couldn't wish for more friendly hosts, Hara the lovely lady who works in the bar is sooooo welcoming, and looks after you well.

The apartments are very convenient for the beach front and the main centre, there is a massive supermarket 2 door down, and a fantastic bakery opposite. What else do you need?
On the day we were due to check out, we were told we should be out by midday, but Myros let us keep the room til 1.30pm free of charge.

We will definitely be returning next year.... anyone who moans about these apartments should consider booking 4 star plus next time they visit Greece, because only then will you get luxury rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ladywall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    36
    11
    6
    7
See reviews for
33
67
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is our second visit this year to this place. What can we say apart from we love it here, Myros, Vicky,Hara and staff we do not have a bad word to say, just wish our country new how customer service should be. They are very welcoming and make you feel part of the family, that they have become very good friends of ours. Our room was as good as it was on our last visit, clean, spacious and live able for our 2 weeks stay. We enjoy it that much here we are returning next May, all booked and paid for.

Room Tip: Room 108 and 208 both over looking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We always use TripAdvisor for comments on potential holiday destinations and accommodations. Having never visited Crete and wanting a quick getaway found the acropolis apartments in Hersonnis the comments posted were very impressive especially of the owner and his wonderful Greek hospitality. We booked our stay for two weeks through Olympic Holidays. We have stayed in many beautiful hotels around the world and felt that although the Acropolis was rated as 2 star the Greek family run accommodation would be clean and welcoming. How wrong could we be.Arriving late the charming Mirlos had obviously had his fill of air weary tourists he gave us two keys and asked us to pick a room we did to or regret a ground floor room with a court yard shared by two other couples sat on bar chairs staring at us the room was in a dreadful state and not the inland view booked. We asked to move but our less than happy host told us not possible until the following week. We went to see our representative and told her of the inland view mistake. Our host was asked to move us Oh dear to say he was unhappy would be an understatement he told us we should not have spoken to rep etc. Like to naughty children we retired to our dark dismal box for a further two nights. Day 3 we were moved to the back overlooking the pool the room was spacious and that is were it ends. The whole room was in bad need of update and repair the double bed we slept on was disgusting with what looked like 5 or more years of other tourists bodily fluids an absolute disgrace why oh why do owners allow people to have such squalor do they think we expect it because they are rated 2 star. I think not surely basic cleaniness is not to much to ask for. The only good thing to say is the location is great in walking distance to the centre. If you don't mind a sleeping on a bed that you wouldn't put your family pet on and a general grubby feel to everything provided and a host who clearly wishes you a million miles away then you've hit jackpot staying here. If you want clean traditional hospitality take advice and stay elsewhere. Greece needs our spending power but I'm afraid our experience has really put us off

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank flosieHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackburnva
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

what can we say! Myros, Vicky, Maria, and Hara made us so welcome..all the staff work so hard to please their customers and accommodate them on their stay..always helpful and pleasant...and their sense of humour is brilliant! as for the rooms they are excellent..large 1 bedroomed apartments...never stayed in anything so big in Greece before and we have been going for years! all you could need were there for self catering..I must say some people were dissapointed in their rooms, but I think these were the rooms allocated to Olympic..Myros is doing his best to refurbish all the rooms to the same standard as ours was but if people are not happy he will move you! The hotel itself no longer has a restaurant on site..it has moved to the sea front and serves excellent value meals..every where was kept clean, towels and sheets changed regularly..we don't usually go back to the same place(there are soooo many places to visit in Greece) but we might make an exception in this case! Valerie and Jeff Blackburn

Room Tip: we were on the ground floor at the back..006,,the only problem we had was the kittens coming in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blackburnva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We arrived late in the evening and was given a room at the front on the hotel, which turned out to be a little noisy for us, we spoke to Milos and the following morning we were able to move into a lovely large family room at the back of the hotel overlooking the pool area. The staff are helpful and very pleasant and hospitality was impeccable. We went on a half board basis and found it was excellent value for money, having breakfast in the hotel and then having our evening meal at the Acropolis restaurant which was situated on the beach front 10 mins walk away the staff there were very nice. The apartment was spacious and clean, the cleaners came in every day and spruced up the place. The pool area is lovely and clean and well maintained. Thank you to Milos and staff for a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Basic apartments at an affordable price situated within easy walking distance of the beach and the town center. The real gems of this place are the staff. From the manager, the waitress, through to the night porter, all are very friendly and helpful. Arrived at 3:00 am and the following day we determined we needed a room that was a little quieter. This was arranged within the hour. For two people the apartments provide plenty of space and you can cook or make use of the restaurant at the apartments, or the many restaurants in town. The tavern area gives the place a real local flavor.
The staff here give the place a family feeling and present a typical picture of the very best of Greek hospitality.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter and cooler in the hot summer months
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidJHopcroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Really nice place to stay central for everything and great service from Miros, Cara and Maria.
A little bit noisy as at the front of a busy road but all in all a good place to stay.
5 minutes from the beach and all the bars and restaurants.

Thanks

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizzie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
0.0 mi away
Minas Apartments
Minas Apartments
#40 of 171 in Hersonissos
327 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bellos Hotel Apartments
Bellos Hotel Apartments
#22 of 171 in Hersonissos
369 reviews
0.5 mi away
Petra Beach Hotel and Apartments
Petra Beach Hotel and Apartments
#47 of 171 in Hersonissos
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Adamakis
Hotel Adamakis
#73 of 171 in Hersonissos
66 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maragakis Hotel
Maragakis Hotel
#67 of 171 in Hersonissos
178 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Floral
Hotel Floral
#71 of 171 in Hersonissos
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acropolis Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acropolis Apartments

Property: Acropolis Apartments
Address: 11 Dimokratias, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Hersonissos
#17 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Acropolis Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For many years in a friendly environment we have hosted thousands of visitors. Our pleasant services will be memorable from your holidays in Hersonissos Crete. Acropolis Apartments consists of 30 apartments. With peaceful surroundings you can enjoy the Cretan hospitality. We are located only 150m from the sea and 150m from the town center. In Acropolis Apartments we offer our clients an all inclusive package with meals in our cafe - restaurant which is located right next to the main beach of Hersonissos. In Acropolis complex are also available to use for our clients, an internet café-corner, billiards, PC & TV games, Photo Shop Express and a market shop with souvenirs from Hersonissos and Crete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Acropolis Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acropolis Apartments Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing