We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”
Review of Hotel Thalia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Thalia
Ranked #47 of 172 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2014

I and my mum stayed in this hotel from 11th to 18th June. I was very happy being there, because of great hospitable atmosphere. The hotel is not very big and it is a quiet one. The food was good, the room service was nice either. The only problem for me were mosquitos, I had to buy some sprays against them. All in all the price is good for this hotel. I liked it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lenore733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Thalia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 181 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

On the first look it apears to be very good hotel, with nice rooms and polite staff. But after one night the problems start to show. The air conditioner in the room costs 7 euros a day and the refrigerator 3 euros per day. We also had problems with the toilet that broke every single day. Also the cleaning lady changes the towels and sheets after 3 days. So you can't take towels to the pool (that was very poor and dirty) and to the beach. The beds are uncomfortable and the pillows were hard. The rooms has balcony, but it was tiny compares to other hotels. I do have to say that the location was great on the main street. We did enjoy overall, but i expected more from a 4 stars hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danielwolter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimMountris, Ιδιοκτήτης at Hotel Thalia, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Thank you for comments.
I would just like to mention, that the air-condition and the refrigerator (depends on the tour operator, some include it in the price and some don't, but you are right, they should have inform you when you made the booking). The same applies for the change of linen, it is every 3rd day, as per contract (very common in 2-3 star resort hotels though). Also, it is not common that 3 star hotels are providing beach towels for free, as some 5 star hotel do. I have also to mention that we are a 3 star hotel, not a 4 star, in which case, you would have every right to expect more as you say.
Finally, thank you very much for the other points you made, we will look after them.
Thank you for your kind words about our staff, we appreciate it a lot.
I am happy that you enjoyed your holiday with us, and we will be very happy to be able to accommodate you again in the future, until then be well!
kind regards
Efthimios Mountrakis
md
THALIA HOTEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I absolutely recommend this lovely family run hotel for those that seek a non-party (read: able to sleep at night) location within a 20metre/2 minute walking distance from the beachwalk and some fantastic eateries. I stumbled on it trying to find a quiet hotel to relocate to from the centre and its nightly boom-boom outdoor discos. Karin, the lady on the reception was truly welcoming and extremely helpful in finding me a room. All the staff and the owner Gordana (who can frequently be found downstairs in the natural goods shop herself) are the true embodiment of Greek hospitality - genuinely taking interest and care of their guests and making sure that their stay was memorable and comfortable.
The hotel is on the main road, but the building stretches towards the mountains, so most rooms are quiet and you don't feel the main street is anywhere near. The rooms are clean and most have balconies. There is a cosy swimming pool on the ground floor, which is closed after 6PM. All the shops are nearby, the beach is 20metres away and if you prefer the main, central beaches or want to get to one of those midnight outdoor discos, those are only a 10 minutes walk away.
Also, don't miss the Fotis taverna directly across the street in the cul-de-sac near the sea - it has a similar feel-at-home-welcome family service, daily fresh fish and the best fish fillet in town.

Room Tip: Ask for what you need. Seriously.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ilona N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We've been there in Aug, 2013. The family who runs Thalia is really very friendly and helpful. And it's the only real pleasant thing about the hotel.
1) Rooms.
Rooms are OK. A typical 3*. But we had real problems.
There were always a lot of water in the bathroom. We lived on the last floor under the roof. And there were workers making up new water system. So from 9 a.m. There were a lot of noise and water coming from top. Fistly in the bath and then coming to the room. It was awful.
By the way, the problem was solved as soon as we asked the owners.
Then we had problems with the door lock. We waited for 2 hours till our room was opened. It was the last day so we had less time to prepare for the departure.
2) Room Service.
Can say nothing pleasant about it. The towels were being changed twice a weak. Nobody washed the ashtray. And everyday it was put in our wash-bowl like "wash it by yourself".
If you ask to delay the service for 10-20 minutes the maid regrets.
So.. It's clear we didn't like it.
3) Breakfast.
No time to sleep! Come on, get up and go to eat!
8:00-9:30.
As we liked to spend nightouts - we usually didn't get the time. But we would force ourselves to go if only it was worth it.
Some ham, disgusting cheese, some fruit, yogurt, flakes, coffee. That's all. Nothing hot. So would you get up for this?
4) Atmosphere.
We are from Russia and we prefer visiting places with not too many citizens of our state. Just in order to feel ourselves in a natural country atmosphere.
Forget it. Many many many russian tourists +40 who go to sleep at 10:30 p.m. and asks for less noise when we are sitting on a balcony playing poker really quitely.

To sum up, i would say that it is just not our type of hotel. If you are 'young, wild and free' - this is not a place for you. We are students, we enjoy nightlife and parties.
It is a good hotel for quiet rest in a calm atmosphere.

But the owners are so nice! If you ever live there - feel free to communicate to them!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wimacheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

you go there, if you wanna stay pleasant and enjoy the city, Very nice couple that run the Hotel and very very nice staff, can not recommend it enough. Reception staff speaks scandianavian and english- greeh, but she is swedish, so take care off Karen. I could go on aboutthis plass , but i guees you guys have other things to do.

Room Tip: there is upstairs and downstais, but all have balkon and there is a elevator, so what :-)
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoWagener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We with my friend stayed in Thalia Hotel in May 2013.
For us it became the perfect choice in terms of price / quality. Because this hotel is not expensive but it provides all the necessary good-quality service: clean nice rooms, tasty food (we had breakfasts there), friendly personnel and good location.
The hotel is located near to the beach, bars and shops. For going to the beach you just need to cross the road and walk around 50-100 metres. But some days we preferred to walk a little bit far to the "Star Beach" (it took us around 7-10 minutes), because "Star Beach" is a sandy beach which has water sports and some other activities.
Also it was very nice for us that it was possible to take the guitar from the hotel reception and go to the beach just to seat there and play the songs :)
I would like to say separate words about the personnel - they all are realy very nice friendly people who are always ready to help.
So I think this hotel is a good choice for people who don't look for lots of entertainments in the hotel, but who need just to spend a good time there with a good service at a good price.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimMountris, Owner at Hotel Thalia, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

thank you very much for your kind comments, very kind of you, may be we meet again...!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

My husband and i stayed at Thalia in Sept after moving from a hotel down the road which was absolutely awful. We were greeted with such a warm welcome and the lady on Reception was so nice and helpful, she let me look at the rooms and pool etc before actually booking. The rooms are basic but all of Crete is the same, these were clean and new bathrooms with good showers.All the staff couldnt do enough to help you in any way. The breakfast was fresh and plenty of it every morning. If you want a central location 5 mins from the beach and bars, restuarants etc then i would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JULIE G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Melpo
Hotel Melpo
#57 of 172 in Hersonissos
128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arlen Beach Hotel
Arlen Beach Hotel
#55 of 172 in Hersonissos
78 reviews
0.2 mi away
Petra Beach Hotel and Apartments
Petra Beach Hotel and Apartments
#38 of 172 in Hersonissos
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sergios Hotel
Sergios Hotel
#43 of 172 in Hersonissos
386 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Adamakis
Hotel Adamakis
#70 of 172 in Hersonissos
70 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palmera Beach Hotel
Palmera Beach Hotel
#13 of 172 in Hersonissos
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Thalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Thalia

Address: 176 El Venizelou Street | Limenas Hersonissou, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
#32 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range: $45 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Thalia 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THALIA hotel is a very friendly and hommy 3* family run hotel,since 1979, second generation. It is near to the see and near to the shopping street. It operates from May to October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Otel, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Thalia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thalia Hotel Hersonissos
Hotel Thalia Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing