We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ntanelis/Danelis Hotel”
Review of Ntanelis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ntanelis Hotel
Ranked #122 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Started badly when hotel had two names !! Rooms - complete with swarms of mosquitoes - very, very basic! Spent over £20 on mozzie sprays etc as hotel would not help. Dripping water all night - dread to think where from!! Food disgusting - pancakes and brown beans for breakfast - not even toast! Lunch and dinner were a re-hash of each other and cold - no desserts except lots of melon - sorry I don't like melon! Air conditioning in dining room only switched on at times and as it was on the fifth floor everyone was too hot! No snacks at all - not even to buy! Pool bar was ok but only beer, ouzo and wine - no local spirits - closed at 10.00pm - on holiday for goodness sake!! Of course you could pay - if you could manage to get the hotel bar open! If you like wildlife - plenty at this hotel - the cicada were deafening - morning, noon and night!! Beach a bit scruffy. The only free sunbeds and umbrellas were removed by bin men and police three days in to holiday. Sorry - the staff did try but need serious customer service training and if English people are welcome please cater a little for us!!

Room Tip: Get a good room ? - try another hotel !!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sonia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
There are newer reviews for Ntanelis Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 96 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2012

Staff friendly if you were.Lovely quiet and quaint village with enough shops and bars,but no entertainment.Beach lovely with lifeguard.Hotel clean apart from bathroom,and when showering nowhere to put shampoo or soap water,just a hand held shower that just about trickled out warm Towels changed regulary.Food Awful !! Plastic meat and spam at breakfast,salad and one type of bread but no toaster.Lunch and dinner very limited and VERY poor quality,Not 1 pudding all week,just cheap water melon by the bucket full.Drinks limited to soft,tea,coffee and canned lager.No snacks between meals,not even ice cream for the children.
Not nearly enough sunbeds.
In my opinion the private owners of this so called hotel are VERY mean and must be laughing all the way to the bank.We spoke to a local man who worked at the Ntanelis for 22 years and said the food was always disgusting THEN.!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank liz f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

As a solo traveller, I wasn't really bothered about plush rooms and 5* star service, but basic manners and 'all inclusive' services would have been nice... 95% of staff looked like they'd rather stick hot sticks in their eyes rather than help me. The food was typically continental ( which isn't an is due for me) however was limited and not very hot. The waiter tended to take your plate away as soon as you'd parted with your knife and fork... Pet hate of mine!! Bar shut at 2200, thereafter you had to request the night staff to reopen the bar so you could pay for the pleasure of a drink €3.50 for a tiny can of beer, €5.50 for an ouzo with mixer and €2.00 for rubbish wine... None of the local spirits are included in all inclusive and also no snacks! Probably one of the stingiest places I've been to. Beach nice, only a short walk away and weather good.... Was only there for 4 nights, would've ventured off if there longer....

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kazzak1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Booked this hotel last mintue and got a really good deal. and didnt check the reviews beforehand and when i realised there were all bad... i thought oh dear what have i gotten myself into.
but there isnt much i can fault.
it was clean, tidy, the room was cleaned each day, the food was excellent, there was always something different to eat and the food was also fresh.
only downside was it was located in a small village with a few shops, and places to eat, but there was a bus stop about 500metres which buses to malia every 30 mins.
but overall a great experience at this hotel i would recommand.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank 789_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

I had an amazing time during my stay - all the staff were extremely friendly and welcoming and always wanted to help out if the could. The accommodation was very clean and because it was situated near the local shop and the beach, it was easy to get any shopping you needed and walk to the sea for a swim.
I would recommend this hotel to couples or families who wish to have a nice, quiet, relaxed break abroad in a beautiful sleepy little village!
Thanks Ntanelis! x

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michaela_Scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2010

we booked this hotel mainly because of all the things it offered, like pool bar, snack bar, exchange etc. we arrived on 17/9/10 only to find that the pool/snack bar was now closed due to lack of occupancy. we had requested a double room but were given a twin. when we asked if we can have a double, we were told they did not have any. strange given that the hotel was 75% empty.in the ads it does not mention that Analipsi is on the flight path to Heraklion, with some planes passing over at 0415. ads dont mention the church bells on fri/sat/sun early am at regular intervals. the food leaves a lot to be desired. breakfast is cheese, ham, yoghurt, cereal. no fried/scrambled eggs or sausage or bacon. no toast.could not change Stirling for Euros. had no hot water for 2 days as a transport strike had hit supplies yet everywhere you go in greece people had solar power, apart from here it would seem. hotel seemed to echo noise everywhere. you could hear people talking 4/5 rooms away. hotel does not take credit/debit cards. had to find our own toilet rolls as cleaner did not leave any in room. there was no rubbish bin in the room so we hung a small bag from the dressing table drawer handle, but the cleaner would take it away later in the day. she never got the hint about a bin. beds were very uncomfortable. choice of food in the lunchtime and evenings was very poor so had to eat out so holiday cost a lot more than expected. standard of food seems to be a local joke with all the locals knowing about it. we seem to be one of many who have written a bad review about Danelis. i dont think the owner readsit

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank barbados_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

Before arriving at Hotel Danelis we did not read any reviews so we had no idea what to expect. Our first greeting in the reception was by an English holidaymaker who advised us to 'change hotels if we could because this place is shocking!' When we talked to him more he went on to describe how the beers are served in cans, there are few alcoholic drinks available, the staff who worked at the hotel are rude and the food is disgusting. After a long journey with a two year old this was not a greeting we welcomed! We went to our three rooms (7 of us travelling) and found ourselves pleasantly surprised by how clean they all were. The hotel accommodated us with a cot for my two year old daughter (that we didn't have to pay for) and moved a refrigerator into one of the rooms for a cost of 30 Euros for two weeks. We didn't pay for air con as we wanted to acclimatise to the Greek weather.

We were late arriving but the evening buffet was open until 9pm so we went for food. The restaurant area was again very clean and a selection of drinks were available upon request. The salad bar was full of pasta and salad food that had been freshly prepared. Oil and vinegar dressings were also available and by the end of our stay (after a few requests) the kitchen staff also made fresh mayonnaise. All the warm food was Cretian cuisine. There was normally a fish, pasta and meat option and a tray of potatoes - either roasted, mash or boiled. There was also a tray of vegetables often cooked in the stock from the meat which made them delicious. I understand that some people go on holiday and expect English food but the hotel clearly stated in its information pack that Cretian food would be served. The food (whilst it may not appeal to everybody’s tastes) was always properly cooked, well presented and varied. At no point in our two week holiday did anyone from our party of seven (including a two year old) have an upset stomach! If you are going away to Greece and expect to eat burger and chips then this is not the hotel to accommodate your needs! There are many eating places in the local village though which all serve wonderful food so we had a mixture of eating lunch in the hotel then wandering out some evenings.

A few people have criticised the hotel staff saying they were 'unfriendly' and 'unhelpful' but we didn't find this at all. They accommodated our every request and at all times were chatty and polite. They did explain that a few weeks before we arrived a group of English holiday makers had caused a lot of trouble at the hotel by breaking sun loungers (an explanation for the lack of them) and had refused to pay for the extras they requested i.e. air conditioning and fridges. Uri, the guy behind the bar, was fab! If you smile at him, be patient and have a conversation you will be greeted with the same back. Some people complained that he would disappear but this was for him to have a short break - not too much to ask for on a 13 hour shift I do not think!

The pool area was always spotless. The water was lovely for my daughter to swim in with little trace of chemicals being used. The pool is very deep and quickly slopes a third of the way in but this just made it more fun for the older children jumping in and learning to dive!

Overall we had an amazing holiday, not because of 'fellow Brits' we met there because of the welcoming Greek staff at the hotel and the clean apartments. We had a saying on our holiday which we shared with Uri everyday 'the sun is shining, the beers are cold, it's a good day!' If you go on holiday with that attitude I guarantee you will have an amazing time just like we did!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank voddenpage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
2.7 mi away
Hotel Ilios
Hotel Ilios
#127 of 171 in Hersonissos
78 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Oceanis
Hotel Oceanis
#7 of 7 in Anissaras
225 reviews
1.8 mi away
Gouves Bay Hotel
Gouves Bay Hotel
#13 of 36 in Kato Gouves
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Agrabella
Hotel Agrabella
#116 of 171 in Hersonissos
217 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Galini
Hotel Galini
#65 of 171 in Hersonissos
222 reviews
2.8 mi away
Kassavetis Center
Kassavetis Center
#133 of 171 in Hersonissos
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ntanelis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ntanelis Hotel

Address: Analipsis, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Price Range: $43 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ntanelis Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OPEN: APRIL-OCTOBER. DISTANCES: Sandy beach 300m, Airport 21km, Port 22km, Bus stop 400m. LOCATION: Ntanelis Hotel is located in the center of the village Analipsis close to souvenir-shops, cafe, restaurants, and bars. At the beach you can enjoy all kinds of sea sports, sunbeds and parasols, against fee. ACCOMMODATION: The hotel complex consists of a main building and the annex with 115 spacious rooms in total with private facilities, WC, shower, balcony, music, telephone with direct dial, safe deposit box, air condition (extra charge), Satellite TV, fridge (upon request, with extra charge), daily maid service. Room service and laundry are available. RECEPTION: Multilingual staff, 24 hours. Post office, fax-facilities, photocopy, exchange, wake-up-list, taxi service, car and motorbike rental, information, medical assistance (on call). RESTAURANT: On the top floor of the hotel, with panoramic view to the sea, you can find our air conditioned restaurant. Breakfast and dinner are served on a buffet form. Our guests can enjoy their salads with fresh olive oil and a menu based on traditional Greek cuisine. POOL: The large swimming pool, with fresh sweet water, is close to the terrace with the Snack-Pool Bar. Sun beds and umbrellas by the pool are free of charge. OTHER FACILITIES: Lounge with satellite TV, billiards, main bar, garden and meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ntanelis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danelis Hotel Hersonissos
Ntanelis Hotel Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing