We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a dream until day 3...”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Glaros Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glaros Beach Hotel
Ranked #73 of 176 Hotels in Hersonissos
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“It was a dream until day 3...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2008

This recently renovated (in style ) hotel is really wonderful, so is the staff.
The deco of both the 2 restaurant,( one overlooking the sea ), swiming pool, different bars is amazing : not a single mistake : fresh, simple, comfortable and elegant : I thought it would even deserve an extra star.
The food in general is various and nicely presented in a classy restaurant.Breakfast is especially looked after with a huge choice of all you might feel like having.
Of course the single traveler like me, will not be granted a room with a view but rather one at the back, overlooking a dried out patch of grass and the poor,somehow unfinished, backs of other buildings. But it didn't really matter: the room was nice, clean and quiet.For an extra 25 Euros per week I did rent a fridge too.
My two first days were a dream: between the sun- deck, the pool, small private beach and a la carte ( really cheap) restaurant for lunch.
Quiet and nice clients who took the bother to dress for diner...so you will understand my shock... when on the third day I was confronted to an INVASION of a hundred young Bosnians,who quickly took over, chain-smoking ( boys & girls) ,eating chips and take-aways around the lovely pool, piling food on their plates every meal, not ordering a sole bottle of water from the restaurant, having " balcony- partys " at night, coming back from Discos singing and knocking on doors at 4 o'clock in the morning!!!
It really put me off and even kept me away from the hotel : I had to avoid the noisy, crowded and smokey lobby at certain times as well as make sure the restaurant was not inavaded by a starving horde.
I have nothing against groups if they are a normal size neither against Bosnian or whatever young people as long as they spend their holidays in a suitable hotel...for a hundred young people that is...and those are many in Chersonissos... but honestly...at the Glaros : NO WAY!
I think it's a pity the managment doesn't realize they undergrade their lovely hotel badely with that kind of policy and eventually take the risk loosing their devoted clients: I was not the only one to complain and heard many others say they would never come back...
But I will! and I recommand you do so too : ONLY MAKE SURE THEY ARE NOT HAVING A HUGE GROUP OF YOUNG PEOPLE BEFORE YOU BOOK...if yes... give it a miss...

  • Liked — the location by the sea, the tasty style & deco. the staff
  • Disliked — the fact they fill the hotel by any mean taking in huge groups of disturbing & unconsiderate young people
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Quality-Pro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    92
    45
    15
    5
See reviews for
29
102
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2007

Good: breakfasts, dinners, renewed and air-conditioned rooms, close to the city center (15 min. walk) with restaurants, bars, clubs, quiet neighbourhood
Bad: tiny, not renewed bathroom - small shower, very small pool, lack of tea/coffe maker in rooms
I recomand this hotel

  • Liked — renewed room
  • Disliked — old bathroom
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ania-o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
93 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2007

The hotel itself is not bad, though we got a tiny room where the air conditioning broke after 3 days (but they fixed it the next day). The food was good (nice choice for its 3 stars) and the room and other spaces were kept clean. They change the towels every day, but never changed the beds during our 7 nights stay.
The location of the hotel is good, because it is close to the main road (stores and agencies for trips are really next door) and in the same time close to the "beach" and the restaurants that cover the shore line.
The "beach" is rocky, and you need special shoes to go in the water, but the sea is great. Clear and warm, with some waves, just enough not to be bored.
The problems we had were related more to the other guests of the hotel (and I understand this is the normal group of tourists they get there): young guys (generally Dutch, British or German) which like to drink a lot and are very loud during the night. So if you are going to this hotel, get ready for "white nights" - it's either you party all night long, or you mostly hate your vacation!
Tips: Don't hurry when choosing one or more of the trips proposed by your agent to the nearby attractions! There are a lot of local agents that could offer bonuses or better travel conditions.

  • Liked — close to stores and attractions
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Miruna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zadar
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2007

hotel is very nice and personals too. we make a friendship with one personal, his name is dimitri( for friends DIMI). he was polight too us, acting very friendly,make us a coffe in early morning hours when coffe bar was officialy closed. thank you for the 7 very best days in kreta!! mario, croatia

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
Thank jayjayZadar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
0.1 mi away
Arlen Beach Hotel
Arlen Beach Hotel
#49 of 176 in Hersonissos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Beach Hotel
Golden Beach Hotel
#61 of 176 in Hersonissos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palmera Beach Hotel
Palmera Beach Hotel
#7 of 176 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Elmi Suites
Elmi Suites
#59 of 176 in Hersonissos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hersonissos Maris Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Silva Beach
Silva Beach
#21 of 176 in Hersonissos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glaros Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glaros Beach Hotel

Property: Glaros Beach Hotel
Address: 5 Bouboulinas | Lim. Chersonissos, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
#46 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Glaros Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Found in a geographically privileged location of Hersonissos, right next to the sea and within a short distance from the popular destination's heart of nightlife, Glaros Hotel offers four-star hospitality services in a contemporary, friendly and affordable luxurious environment. Its full renovation in 2009 created contemporary spaces with touches of elegant aesthetics that predispose a comfortable and rejuvenating stay.The sunlit lobby with successive arches framing the sea, the comfortable rooms, the stylish restaurant and the refreshing oasis of the pool serve as proof that Glaros Hotel pays attention to detail, to friendly service and to all those details that will make your stay a unique experience. Glaros Hotel is where the cosmopolitan aspect of Hersonissos meets relaxation and authentic Cretan hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Glaros Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glaros Hotel Hersonissos
Glaros Beach Hotel Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing