We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean hotel, pleasant staff and nice food, but..................................”
Review of Mediterraneo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mediterraneo Hotel
Ranked #40 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Nottingham
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice clean hotel, pleasant staff and nice food, but..................................”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Situated about 2 miles East of Hersonissos town about a 30 minute walk, set back from the main road with an inclined driveway into a car park and the main block and reception, there are more blocks of accommodation nestling in the hill behind the main block, accessible by a lift and then quite a few steps, the hotel is very clean and well cared for , two pools , one with thumping bar music that have included the F word songs ( not nice ) and the other pool is a little more sedate .
The food is nice with plenty of choice a little cramped around the buffet area , we just ate and went . The " All inclusive" drinks are very limited to, beer, wine, raki , metaxa, or ouzo only and finish at 11pm sharp ! if you want a different drink like cocktails , vodka , gin, etc. etc. you must pay for them and they average at about 4 or 5 euros.
Hersonissos is lively with many shops and bars and a restaurant every 5 paces along the sea front , it takes a good 30 mins to walk there, but the seafront walk at night is a welcome break from the hotel which was a bit boring at times, there are a couple of nights basic entertainment at the hotel other than that it's eat, drink , bed.
Smoking is not allowed in the hotel but the outside eating area does get smoky as the Russians do enjoy a fag , all in all this is a nice clean well cared for hotel , nothing luxurious but pleasant and in my view good value , I was a little disappointed with the poor all inclusive restricted drinks choice and lack of entertainment , having said that the Greek bar girls livened the place up with a little spontaneous Greek dancing , I am not disappointed I chose this hotel but I wouldn't be that bothered about coming back, want a nice place to visit ? Try Elounda , very quaint harbour with boats bobbing up and down. or go in to the mountains , very peaceful . Oh watch out for the Mosquito's they seemed liked me lol

Room Tip: Free wifi in reception area, but I got it to work in my room. Rooms in main block may be noisy due t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bakerptv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    283
    204
    85
    59
See reviews for
390
276
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scarborough
Level Contributor
152 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for two weeks in May On arriving our first impressions were very good , the hotel was clean and well decorated . this hotel is on a hill so you will need to beware if your of a certain age or have mobility problems .Plus the hotel is a little isolated a good 15 mins walk to the town .On the plus side there is a bus stop at the bottom of the hill which runs every 15 to 2 mins during the day
.Our room was at the front of the hotel .the room was a very good size with a single bed and a large king size double .The maid changed our towels daily and the sheets every 3 days . Our balcony overlooked the pool, The room was very clean ,with plenty of room and plugs . good size mirror too we liked the small over the bed light -great for reading -.
the dining room is well set out once you are passed the small entrance .All the meals have a good selection of choice . Plenty of local dishes as well as the basic chips and spaghetti for the children .the only thing we thought about that needed a change was that there was only one toaster - fine if your in early - but can get a little hectic later .plus as we like a large cuppa we took our own mugs in .We would like to say that the girls in the dining room were very polite cheerful and very helpful ,all of them wore big smiles and nothing was too much trouble ,One out of them all we would like to say a big thanks to Aurela for her lovely smile,
the two pools are very different .we only used the top one as it was near our room .the other one seemed to be more popular with the younger set .there was always plenty of beds plus plenty of room to sit either on lawn or under the trees,
The bar was a self serve affair which we found ok apart from the thick horrible plastic glasses ( YES we know that these are good for around the pool) BUT= surely on a night we could be allowed to use glasses or at least a better class of plastic glass .
To get around this problem we got served drinks in the dining room and took these proper glasses out with us ,
the hotel was kept very clean and tidy at all times the staff worked very hard .
we loved the free Wi-Fi
As for the local area we loved it we did plenty of walking
the locals are very friendly and go out of their way to help.

Room Tip: rooms at the front of hotel get the morning sun plus very good views ie 125 127 129
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ratpack23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascais, Portugal
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed here in July 2013.
Location is very good: a short walk from the beach and from the town center. Ride from the ferry harbour took around 45 min.
Rooms are nice and clean.
Food is good.
Two very nice swimming pools.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Filipa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We went all inclusive for 4 nights, you still have to pay extras for towels, safe and a/c.The stuff in the hotel was very nice and helpful, comfortable and clean room. The location of the hotel far far from the beach, bars, city center. The same fatty food thing for dinner and lunch every day. This is classed as a 4 Star hotel, which it clearly is not.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tory_Andrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

just arrived back and would not be going ever again food nice but cold on occasions and service very poor at bar and this no water in bottles and 2 drinks per person is poor i have been to many great hotels and would not recommend this one

Room Tip: do not select room 2119 as the noise from the entertainment is bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aniversary7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

fantastic hollydayssssss for second visite in mediterraneo Hotell ,everything ,was excellent ...staff were vary friendly and Hellp fulll and the loooby bar and pooolll bar Excellent loccc Drinkss food was really, nice,, service it wasn"t fantastic the Room was cleaen and sstisfactory and cleaned the two poools are really nice and min woter parccc really nice will visit again, weather was fantasticccc super

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank rellav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We took an October half term break at this hotel and had a great time. The weather was fab - up to 26 degrees and sunny most days. Nearly everything round about was closed however and the beach near the hotel is access through a tunnel under the road, which is really a storm drain. The beach is tiny and in high season it would no doubt be thronged. The hotels two pools are really nice though one of them closed half way through the week we were there because it was the last week of the season. The room was clean and satisfactory and was cleaned every day. Sheets were changed at least once if not twice while we were there. The food was edible, there was plenty of it and there was plenty of choice, but it was never what you would call hot even if you went in at the very start of the service, and it wasn't of fantastic quality. The soup for example that was offered at every lunch and dinner service was the cheapest quality packet soup, not freshly made. With your eyes closed it would have been impossible to tell the difference between the pink, green and brown ice cream that was offered as dessert at lunchtimes, I would assume these were strawberry, pistachio and chocolate but they tasted of nothing - like I said, edible food but not great quality. The tea and coffee were consistently terrible and lukewarm. That said, everything else about this hotel was just great and I would go back. The staff were friendly and helpful and the facilities were really good.

Room Tip: We had a sea view which was really nice but because this hotel is on the north coast of Crete and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
0.5 mi away
Royal Belvedere
Royal Belvedere
#37 of 171 in Hersonissos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
0.4 mi away
Semiramis Village
Semiramis Village
#125 of 171 in Hersonissos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.7 mi away
Elmi Suites
Elmi Suites
#57 of 171 in Hersonissos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hersonissos Palace Hotel
Hersonissos Palace Hotel
#76 of 171 in Hersonissos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hersonissos Village Hotel
Hersonissos Village Hotel
#49 of 171 in Hersonissos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.5 mi away
Imperial Belvedere
Imperial Belvedere
#41 of 171 in Hersonissos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterraneo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterraneo Hotel

Property: Mediterraneo Hotel
Address: Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Hersonissos
#31 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mediterraneo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 305
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mediterraneo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterraneo Hotel Hersonissos
Mediterraneo Hotel Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing