We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed views!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mediterraneo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mediterraneo Hotel
Ranked #44 of 178 Hotels in Hersonissos
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Mixed views!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

On arrival, we had a friendly welcome. Room was large and modern, however, bed was hard and springy (couldn't have slept on it for longer than a week). I thought thte pool area was rather dirty as I never saw it swept or hosed down in the whole week. Sun loungers were old and dated. I also never saw anyone clean the outside toilets and noticed a rubbish bag was left there all week and they often ran out of toilet paper.

Staff were friendly and polite and food nice.

To get to the beach you had to walk down the road and go under an underpass. 10 minutes + to get to the beach and not as near as pictures look.

I agree with another comment about everyone playing cards due to the lack of entertainment.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front overlooking the sea appear to be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VixB392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    271
    199
    84
    59
See reviews for
360
266
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

Like many on here I was a little concerned with the negative reviews but took the good reviews as the decision maker. This was a big holiday as I was taking not just the wife but my parents also, for their first trip out of the UK. So it had to be good...
This hotel delivered fantastically, we stayed in one of the private villas at the back of this huge hotel complex and had our own private pool (which was great).
The only things letting the place down was that the reception staff were a bit moody, the beds are pretty tough but seems to be the theme in Greek hotels I find and it isn't quite as close to the sea as the pictures suggest (about 10 min walk).
The good things though, are great things. Food is excellent, I have no idea what some of the reviewers are talking about saying it's bad. Very tasty, lots of options if only a little repetitive. Pools are nice. Plenty to do there with football, volleyball, tennis and a gym. Rooms are basic but very clean.
All in all I would certainly come back here. Crete itself is lovely, all the Raki to drink and olives to eat.
Certainly see Spinalonga Island if thats the only trip you do :)

Room Tip: For groups of 4+ get yourselves the villa w/ private pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank G_Dorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

What a lot of people seem to forget is a 4 star in Greece isn't the same as a 4 star in England. The hotel was just what i wanted! A quiet location yet a 10 minute walk away from the local shops, with a beach just across the road. The whole place is kept very clean, has a varied amount of food for an all inclusive that size (no two meals were the same!). The only thing that would of improved the experience was if the all inclusive included a few more spirits!

My boyfriend and I adored the gorgeous view of the sea from both our front door and balcony, it was stunning! The views coupled with the helpful staff and above mentioned things made this the perfect trip. I'd definitely go back!

Room Tip: Higher rooms had the best view but you have to walk up a a few flights of steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andmyopinionis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

got home last night after one week all inclusive. Make sure you get a comfy matress and soft pillows as ours were full of springs and rock hard. Only one night of 'entertainment' - nearly everyone seemed to be playing cards!! great fun (not). Food OK but usual repitition of all inclusive (great fresh tomatoes though!) 'Local drinks' DO NOT include vodka, rum etc ONLY ouzo, raki, local beer (wine with meal). Definitely visit villages up the hill (left at Bank on main road) hard walk but worth it for view and local tavernas. keep going through hersonissos to visit port and beyond as much more pleasant.

Room Tip: higher blocks have great sea view but steep climb up (one lift takes you half way up). top floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JudyM1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

We have just got back for 14 days in Crete, great place but don’t say here. We booked 14 days in the Mediterraneo Hotel, but only stayed 14 hours and we knew that we had to move within 14 minutes. Room with a view of three bushes, corridors like jails, breakfast of deep fried bananas and sweet corn. I would not give this 1 star let alone 4 stars.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hersonissos hotels

moscow
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

the reception sevice s perfect and the restaurant s good, good view from the room

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yuyu09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2011

This hotel was so good when we stayed there three years ago that my sister and I
decided to book it again this year. It was all inclusive and we got a week in May for
only £460 which was excellent value. The staff are so helpful and friendly and the
place is spotless. The food is varied and tasty and there is something for everyone.
There are two pools, one close to the hotel restaurant which families tend to use,
another is slightly further away and is more quieter. You can get drinks all through
the day, by the pool or inside, and snacks every afternoon. It is about a thirty minute
walk into Hersonissos or, if you don't feel energetic, a bus ride for 2 euro's, stop
near the hotel. If you go into Hersonissos you must visit the Aquarium there. It is
only 5 euro's and you can visit as many times as you like. John and his wife own
and run it and they are so enthusiastic and knowledgeable about all the sea life there
including lots of tortoises, lizards and snakes. Children will love it and learn a lot
about all these creatures and you can handle some of the residents which make
great pictures to take home. The town is very clean and although full of shops, they
are not tacky shops like a lot we have seen elsewhere. We will definitely be going
back to the Mediterraneo hotel again and hope that those of you who read this will
give it and the aquarium a try - you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Look on the internet anytime from August onwards
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LincolnshireSasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
0.6 mi away
Royal Belvedere
Royal Belvedere
#36 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
0.4 mi away
Semiramis Village
Semiramis Village
#128 of 178 in Hersonissos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hersonissos Village Hotel
Hersonissos Village Hotel
#54 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hersonissos Palace Hotel
Hersonissos Palace Hotel
#74 of 178 in Hersonissos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
0.8 mi away
Elmi Suites
Elmi Suites
#61 of 178 in Hersonissos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
23.6 mi away
Blue Bay Resort Hotel
Blue Bay Resort Hotel
#4 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterraneo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterraneo Hotel

Property: Mediterraneo Hotel
Address: Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Hersonissos
#34 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mediterraneo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 305
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Mediterraneo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterraneo Hotel Hersonissos
Mediterraneo Hotel Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing