We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”
Review of Angelos Village

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hersonissos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Angelos Village
Ranked #103 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed October 18, 2008

What a fantastic holiday. The room was typically Greek, but the beds comfortable, the sea view was amazing. In fact views throughout the hotel were wonderful.
The staff were friendly, and extremely helpful, any assistance or queries they would hapily resolve.
The food was lovely, we stayed for 12 nights and had no repeat of evening meals. There was traditional and international fare. Breakfast was basic, but did have enough choice to satisfy.
The location was superb, up the hill from the main resort which gave a sense of peace, but close enough to the centre should you require it.
I would happily recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — The evening meal and the staff
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanhardwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    25
    11
    11
    0
See reviews for
16
47
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bergen
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2008

We arrived the hotel after having done a road trip in Crete, and we wanted to enjoy a couple of relaxing days before heading back home. We wanted to go to Knossos, Heraklion, the beach and the sun - for us this was a perfect place to be able to do these things, and the last days of our hollidays was just like we imagined.
The staff here is amazing, it's so nice to come to a family run hotel and to feel so welcomed - VERY nice family;o). They have good advices on what to do,and what places that are good to visit and they take their time to explain well.
We really enjoyed the meals as well, it was nice to have a selection of different things both for breakfast and dinner. And the fresh tasty watermelon is the best.
It is also possible to order lunch in the bar by the pool, the prices are good, and the food is tasty.
Thank you, all of you, sooo much for the stay, and maybe we'll see you again some day!!
Greetings from Norway!!!

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank Trippert333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2008

We came back from Angelos Village on thursday. We had a great holiday and stayed at this hotel on 1/2 board basis. Hotel is family run and all staff very friendly. Bungalows very nice, but quite basic, but very clean, with no TV in room. Ours had 3 single beds, fridge, optional airconditioning, wet room style bathroom, balcony surrounded by olive trees and towels and sheets changed twice in the week. The food considering what we paid was perfectly adequate. The 7minute walk up the from the edge of town gets much easier the more times you do it. Would definately consider staying here again. It was a quiet, relaxing and very enjoyable stay. Buses from the bottom of the hill very regular to Heraklion and Agios Nikalous. Would recommend boat trip from Agios Nikalous to Leper Island of Spinalonga on the Ostria boat (this boat has a brilliant talking guide - "Karen, the Scottish English speaking guide". Venus just gives you a map and you wander around on your own and costs the same!)

  • Liked — warm & friendly & very good hospitality
  • Disliked — single ply toilet paper!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenSouthWestUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2008

We have just come home after a third visit in 16 months to Angelos Village. This time we took friends as we knew they would love it and we weren't wrong. As always you are treated like family from start to finish, you can't pick out any exceptions as everyone makes you so welcome. Greg, the new addition to the team, certainly keeps you entertained at the bar and made us laugh every night! We really can't say any more....we just can't wait to go back again!! Anyone who doesn't like this place needs their heads testing, it may be simple but that what makes it so great! Our friends have travelled extensively and they loved it so there is a great compliment to the team. Thank you so much for everything.
Love to you all and good luck in January Harria!!!
Jeff & Annie xx

  • Liked — The warm hospitality and the views
  • Disliked — having to leave
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NorfolkFlygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2008

Just back from a weeks B&B @ AV.

Had no real complaints, it was a friendly quaint place & the staff answered all our enquires.

However, some musings - my girlfriend found the beds very very firm, no shower nozzle holder, sharp wee hill to "scale" on your way home (only an issue if you have over indulged in food/drink).

The breakfast was okay, bread, cereal, youghart, eggs, ham, cheese, we didn't actually eat in the hotel apart from breakfast but were given mixed reviews by those who had.

Hersonissos itself (about a 20 minute walk from AV) is a touristy resort with streaches of beach, however the excellent Cretan public transport allowed me/us to go to the lovely Agios Nicklaes, boat trip to Sissi & the tricky but worthwhile Samarian Gorge.

Overall AV was fine but would only recommend a week & probably only on a B&B basis.

  • Liked — Quiet, well run.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank johnnyscotsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlisle
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2008

we arrived at angelos on our wedding anniverary, it was very pretty, with a lovely atmosphere. No loud music, beautiful views, lovely greek family & greg!, who done everything to make our stay wonderful. The bungalows were perfect, no TV, just fantastic view. We stayed half board, meals were fine although a little repetitive, buffet style, eggs ham cheese etc for breakfast, meatloaf or casseroles for tea, greek salad lovely. we ate out at koutilafari(?) a litte village further up the mountain, was absolutely gorg!I would go back to angelos, only a couple of dissapointments, our towels and sheets were only changed once during our stay, our neighbours were changed more often, so perhaps we were just missed, angelos please by a shower hook!! ha ha, but overall a very nice place to meet new friends, beautiful scenery. Our party consisted of 6 adults over 40, we had a lovely holiday thank you, we were very sorry to leave x

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — hills!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mich15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north east
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2008

Sorry this review is a bit late since we stayed Jul/Aug 2008 and didnt have time to write a comment in the hotel book before we left but just thought I had to say a few honest words about this hotel.Anyone who books this would have been aware that it is a traditional Cretan family hotel and that when they get there that is exactly what it is. Prior to my holidays I regularly looked at Trip Advisor to read reviews and could not believe how particular people who stayed here could be.My two weeks stay with grandparents and children was as relaxing as any where else we have been. The staff were extremely welcoming and would help with any problems you had from trips to booking taxis.Yes there is a hill, get over it, it means that the loud bustle of Hersonissos doesn't bother you.Harria recommended Stalis Beach and how right she was, we spent most days there (use the Brittania Pub for sunbeds and eating) Breakfasts were adequate and tasty the coffee excellent finish your last cup on the front terrace and even take your evening wine there to cool off and witness the fantastic sunsets before retiring to your verandah. Also use local buses even as far as Agios which is well worth a visit as are Piskopiano and Koutalafari in the evening. Rooms are basic but adequate YOUR ON HOLIDAY YOU ONLY SLEEP THERE .The fridge in the room was ice cold , ideal for your drinks.Supermarket 10 mins walk everything you want. Evening meals superb traditional Cretan cooking, lots of it and good choice. The lunch menu was brilliant, salads and pastas for a pittance. Greg keep up the good work.On the downside please management ,sort out the sunbed shortage and get rid of broken ones, my wife injured her finger on one, and maybe invest in a better toaster.Thanks for a great holiday.

  • Liked — Family friendly
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littledevils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
1.7 mi away
Dorian Boutique Apartments
Dorian Boutique Apartments
#1 of 1 in Limenas Chersonisou
4 reviews
0.0 mi away
Elmi Suites
Elmi Suites
#65 of 171 in Hersonissos
536 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arlen Beach Hotel
Arlen Beach Hotel
#58 of 171 in Hersonissos
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Petra Beach Hotel and Apartments
Petra Beach Hotel and Apartments
#38 of 171 in Hersonissos
130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mari-Kristin Hotel
Mari-Kristin Hotel
#73 of 171 in Hersonissos
159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Thalia
Hotel Thalia
#46 of 171 in Hersonissos
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angelos Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angelos Village

Property: Angelos Village
Address: Limenas Hersonissou, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Angelos Village 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Angelos Village will not operate for the summer 2010. We will operate again the summer of 2011. We want to thank all our guests and friends and we hope to see you all again next summer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Angelos Village Hersonissos
Angelos Village Hotel Hersonissos
Angelos Village Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing