We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Odysseus Androulla and Sophia Vafiadis Happy days.....”
Review of Angelos Village

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hersonissos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Angelos Village
Ranked #105 of 172 Hotels in Hersonissos
Reviewed January 24, 2012

I have very fond memories of our stay here it felt like we was staying with family the hotel was quite rustic and the service was excellent, I often reflect on our stay here more than any other place that I have stayed thinking of all the friends we made and good memories that i have got.

Room Tip: don't go by the rustic look as the service more than makes up for it fantastic time and location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OdysseusV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 93 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2010

Staff - The staff are welcoming and very friendly, very homely feel. Family run business, the barmen is great, Mario!!

Room - It is not the plush, modern and contemporary hotel, if that is what you are after, this is not your place. This hotel is very relaxed, laid back, blocks are split out so you are not always bumping into the other holiday makers. Showers are not great, but do the job, avoid having showers at peak time! Room was cleaned every afternoon without fail.

Food/Bar – we went all in, food was lovely and well prepared Greek food, did get rather repetitive after two weeks, but that is expected with the length of our stay. Bar atmosphere was good, very relaxed and not rowdy, the occasional chatter and banter. The bar man will play your own music if you ask politely!

Beach/Strip – Hotel is 10 minutes away from the beach, main strip with bars and tourist attraction. Also only a short taxi ride away from clubbing scene… defiantly worth a visit, maybe even an evening stroll, takes about half and hour. Also note that this hotel is on a hill, so walking down hill to the beach is no problem, walking up hill home…

If you want a feel for real Greece/Crete then this is the place to stay…

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiranJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2009

Booked this hotel through lastminute.com on a half-board basis. It was sold as a 3* hotel, but certainly wasn't 3* or cheap. On arrival, early in the morning, we were directed to our room where we discovered 2 single beds. Unfortunately, they were made of stone, so we could not even move them together. We ended up sharing a single bed for 3 nights before they could find us a double room.

Rooms are in a number of typical whitewashed buildings with 'balconies' looking out in various directions, set in quite attractive grounds. Ours had a good view of the crane where people were bungee-jumping from - lovely at sunset! They weren't very private, but that was too our advantage as we met another couple from London in the next room. The shower room was dingy, poorly lit and had minimal water pressure. The rooms were simple and rustic with an old-fashioned two-band radio set in the wall next to the bed. We amused ourselves by trying to find a good radio station once or twice.

The hotel facilities were average with a medium-sized swimming pool and bar next to the hotel restaurant and reception.

As we were looking forward to the authentic Greek cuisine, the food at the hotel was a disappointment to say the least, with breakfast being the most bizarre. Tinned fruit with yoghurt was followed by a mixture of whatever was left in the kitchen, for example baked beans with sweet pastries. There was quite a good selection at dinner, but it was pretty greasy and featured chips every day.

The management weren't that friendly, unless you were buying lots of overpriced drinks from their bar, although they were helpful with arranging a hire car. The waiter was very friendly and once gave me a lift up the hill on the back of his scooter. The location was a good 20-minute walk from central Hersonissos, which was probably a good thing if you wanted to sleep!

The most annoying thing about our visit was a German guy, who had obviously been there a number of times before, and seemed to be the guest of honour, at a different level to the other paying guests. I honestly don't think that is good practice for any hotel.

Finally, not about the hotel, general advice - only stay in Hersonissos if you're interested purely in drinking lots of cheap alcohol, watching football in an english, german or dutch bar and bungee-jumping, much like Malia up the road.

The other reviews I've read are pretty accurate - the bad ones anyway.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2009

Excellent enjoyed every minute of our stay a well run family business - rooms basic but very clean staff excellent and not just one or two of the staff i mean all the staff - we where there when xl went t*ts up glad to say not us. We went half board basis must say a lot better than last year in turkey went full board and ate out every day.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thornabydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2008

We booked as part of a package. The location wasn't bad, a short walk into town, though you really need a car to stay here. The staff was friendly and helpful, for instance made scrambled eggs one day on request when the breakfast buffet didn't have anything we liked. The dinner buffet was great- decent selection, fairly authentic Cretan food freshly prepared. Although there was no TV in the room, they have a TV area with cable, a large DVD selection and a small library. The room, however, was bare-bones and full of mosquitoes. The first night we hardly slept, had to keep hunting bugs and got bitten all over our faces. Even when we paid extra for AC (not normally needed in October), closed the windows and sealed every opening with tape, they still got in. We also had to watch for them in the common areas (dining room, TV room, internet area). I would only recommend it if you're one of those lucky people that don't get bitten.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mousemama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2008

What a fantastic holiday. The room was typically Greek, but the beds comfortable, the sea view was amazing. In fact views throughout the hotel were wonderful.
The staff were friendly, and extremely helpful, any assistance or queries they would hapily resolve.
The food was lovely, we stayed for 12 nights and had no repeat of evening meals. There was traditional and international fare. Breakfast was basic, but did have enough choice to satisfy.
The location was superb, up the hill from the main resort which gave a sense of peace, but close enough to the centre should you require it.
I would happily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanhardwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2008

We arrived the hotel after having done a road trip in Crete, and we wanted to enjoy a couple of relaxing days before heading back home. We wanted to go to Knossos, Heraklion, the beach and the sun - for us this was a perfect place to be able to do these things, and the last days of our hollidays was just like we imagined.
The staff here is amazing, it's so nice to come to a family run hotel and to feel so welcomed - VERY nice family;o). They have good advices on what to do,and what places that are good to visit and they take their time to explain well.
We really enjoyed the meals as well, it was nice to have a selection of different things both for breakfast and dinner. And the fresh tasty watermelon is the best.
It is also possible to order lunch in the bar by the pool, the prices are good, and the food is tasty.
Thank you, all of you, sooo much for the stay, and maybe we'll see you again some day!!
Greetings from Norway!!!

Stayed: July 2008
Thank Trippert333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
0.0 mi away
Elmi Suites
Elmi Suites
#62 of 172 in Hersonissos
580 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arlen Beach Hotel
Arlen Beach Hotel
#59 of 172 in Hersonissos
78 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Thalia
Hotel Thalia
#49 of 172 in Hersonissos
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Armava
Hotel Armava
#129 of 172 in Hersonissos
40 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mari-Kristin Hotel
Mari-Kristin Hotel
#75 of 172 in Hersonissos
171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Beach Hotel
Golden Beach Hotel
#64 of 172 in Hersonissos
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angelos Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angelos Village

Address: Limenas Hersonissou, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 172 Hotels in Hersonissos
Price Range: $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Angelos Village 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Angelos Village will not operate for the summer 2010. We will operate again the summer of 2011. We want to thank all our guests and friends and we hope to see you all again next summer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Angelos Village Hersonissos
Angelos Village Hotel Hersonissos
Angelos Village Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing