We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go half term week!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Arminda Hotel and SPA
Ranked #27 of 172 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2010

We arrrived late and were greeted by a plate of chilled food and a pleasant receptionist,
which was very good. The next moring, we realised that the hotel was not even a third full. The entertainment has stopped completely and the roof bar was shut off. The gym had mostly broken equipment and the spa pool looked as if it had not been cleaned for days. Leaves were falling from the nearby trees and these fell into the two outside pools which also were not cleaned out daily. Our rep gave us the activities brochure and everything except three things , was crossed off. Two of which were unsuitable for us. Water Parks were closed, bars were wrapping lights and boarding up windows, clubs were shut, in fact as the week went on, more and more places closed and more and more people left the hotel to go home. By the last day of our holiday, the flight was not until evening and we spent the day in our room mostly(the weather had not been brilliant all week) avoiding the staff, who were busy stacking tables and chairs, emptying pools, closing the bar and restaurant and generally preparing the hotel for closure. By now there were only four guests including us left and to say we felt in the way, would be an understatement! After a cooked breakfast, we were left a plate of cold chops and potatoes, some salad and cakes and a mousse, which was the dessert that kept coming out every night without fail. This was to last us until we had a meal on the plane at about 9.30pm.
The receptionist was great and I cannot fault the bar staff and room maids who were also excellent. The location was good, although the hotel did not have a beach area and if you wanted a beach bed and umbrella, you could buy one from the hotel next door. It's just that nothing was going on during our stay. How some families with teenage children managed to keep them entertained, I don't know. I would like to see what it is like in the summer months, as the reviews are all glowing.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fiftytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (522)
There are newer reviews for Arminda Hotel and SPA
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 522 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2010

Me and My sister stayed here and had a really great time. Great welcoming as we arrived very early hours of the morning. They had made us cold plates of food as they knew we had been traveling all day. The service throughout our whole stay was brillient the waiters were very friendly and made us feel welcoming at all times.

The food was really nice loads of different choice. Very clean area where all food was served. The rooms were really clean, towels changed all the time along with bedding. The only problem we found with the room was our shower head didnt stay on the wall which was abit of a pain, we also made friends that said the same was in their rooms to. Me and my sister both made friends with the receptionist she was really nice, and also the bar tenders were abit flirty but thats usually to be expected in greece or turkey.

The location was really good for what we wanted even though we did walk an hour most nights after the hotel entertainment to malia as that was the party party area. Stalis is 5 minutes from this hotel and it is beautiful there. There is plenty to do anyway. We had a quad bike for a week which really let us explore loads of nice places.

The facilities of the hotel were really great to, there is a beach like 1 min walk away small and friendly, internet, 2 really nice clean pools plus a small pool for children, free gym and jacuzzi spent loads of time when i wanted to get out the sun there.

If your looking for more of a young party type holiday id stay nearer to malia, but i would definatly reccomend this hotel to anyone that wants to chill out and have nice food and service.

Overall id sum up this holiday as really nice chill and id definatly go back.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kellylouisegibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

Myself, husband and 3 year old daughter have just returned from a 7 night, all inclusive package holiday, staying at the Arminda Hotel in Hersonosis, Crete.
Accommodation
Spotless and spacious with maid service 6 times per week. Beach towels are 10 euro deposit if returned at the end of the stay. Safety deposit box is 5 euros returnable..
All inclusive
Locally produced wines and beer. Soft drinks and soda. This is VERY LIMITED and does not include any spirits, brandy's or whisky's. Very basic and cheap tasting, you have to mix the soft drink yourself with the soda water. If you want proper coca cola and more of a variety, I strongly suggest the nana beach next door, much more variety if you want your money's worth from the all inclusive. This didn't bother us though as we are not big drinkers and was happy to have the soda water's.
Food
Food was generally very good with beautiful salad's and feta cheese. Meat mostly chicken or pork at the grill station. Dissapointed in the fruit selection, just watermelon & grapes with the occasional apple, didn't mind at first but generally the food got a bit repetative after 5 days. Snack bar serving chips and sausage rolls that you have to heat up yourself in a microwave. This was available between 10 am and 6 pm every day.
Cocktails were 6 euro's with occasional special offer of 3.50 euros.
Checking out
We had to check out of our room at 12pm and had the use of a luggage room and shower facilities which was fine. Families be aware that if you have a late evening or early hour flight, and want to keep your room after 12pm it will cost you 70 euros until midnight. We thought that this was crazy so just used the courtesay room with shower facilities. Luckily our little one was fine with this arrangement and was good as gold.
Overeall.

Cannot fault the hotel in any particular fashion, but if I had to change something, it would be the buffet restaurant to have more variety especially if guests will be staying 14 nights. We decided to venture out for a special meal, so we headed into Stalis (20 minute promanade walk) from hotel and visted Maria's Beach Taverna. Excellent entertainment, beautiful choice of food and fantastic company, very worthwhile and good value for money.

Price. We had an excellent deal at this all inclusive hotel so cannot complain to much, so would recommend it to fellow travellers who are looking for a modern, clean well situated hotel on this beautiful island.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emma05081970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

Well, we arrived at the hotel at about 10:00 at night, we were told where to go to find out room and the keys. Not very helpfull. But Thats Never a problem with my family, we like carrying our own bags anyway. After dropping off our bags we ventured to see if there was any food being served. Yes, by then the food was cold but after a flight, anything was welcome.
The entertainment was abit silly, but who cares, right? Your on holiday to have a laugh!
Overall, the food was average. The pool was amazing, And the rooms were acctually really nice!
I would definately go back.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ccmcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

my husband and i arrived at the arminda, the check in was poor, they check you in and the same person takes you to your room, you carry your own bags, the beds are hard, and the food is very basic, you have to pay for the use of brolleys and beds on the beach, the spa jacussi comes on for the count of 2o then you have to get back out and press the button, very silly really, the entertainment is very child like, and not everyone took children with them,, if this hotel was marketed has a 2-3 star you would say wow, but because it is marketed has a four star, it leaves you thinking oh!. the manager of the hotel is nice and she doesnt seem to understand where she is going wrong, just drop a star off and you have a good hotel for a 2-3 star, apart from that, it wasnt bad the food was alright, the drinks were poor choice, but you would surrive on whats on offer, if your looking for a wow hotel and want to be waited on hand and foot this hotel wont be for you. me and my husband are easy going, so it didnt bother us, for a special occassion you would end up disapointed.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mandavick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

Everything was ok I had no complaints .. stop flight was landing at Rhodes and then to Heraklion. very good. I just lost an hour or two with this job as it was not direct.At the Airport We waited a novel guide Lorand (near Targu-Mures on was) and explained to us what about the tours and when you come to each hotel so they can explain about optional trips .. A guy on reception at the hotel Andreas very welcoming smile all the time with us and explained how things each family led her to camera.We got a family room consisting of two rooms and very spacious as we had a child of two years and five months with us. I said very spacious room was on the ground floor with terrace right at the pool (10 m was up there)Air conditioning, LCD Greek English German programs of clean rooms is made 3 times per week. Beach towels because they can not get from reception for a deposit of EUR 20 when it recovers retrograde (so it would be better not to the luggage carrying the alms that does not make sense). Arminda hotel has 3 pools 2 for adults and one childrens okay when the water is cold.Since food is all-inclusive enough in both morning and afternoon, afternoon and evening. Like how much you drink beer and white wine and roses all the brew but you must serve all you want. The whole range of juices Coke, Fanta, natural mineral water tea and coffee all day.the food is varied from chicken pork beef and mutton, fittings of all kinds (do not miss potatoes), salads, cakes fruit (grapes Leben, etc.) and of course ice cream about 5 different.The beach was about 150 meters from hotel. Just down on a sidewalk until beach.Beach Nana Beach Hotel is another. You have to pay because deck chairs as I was told another. One umbrella + 2 chairs = 13 eur / day. Ve been with a family and pay a day we one day and they were ok.
I can say that I had a quiet holiday with so we wanted and we and our friends. And certainly come back to CRETE

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristian_timis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

The Hotel was suggested to me by the Reps in my locals holiday shop when i enquired about a budget holiday for 4, but budget was not what we got!!!! Hotel was very clean tidy with everything you would want from Air conditioning to friendly staff, great variety of food through breakfast lunch and dinner and food throughout the day at the Food Shack! All the staff were great especially Andreas, couldn't been more helpful and a really nice guy! great for families couples young and old, close to nearbu towns if you want to explore a little of what Crete has to offer but plenty to just lounge by the pools!!! all had a great time!!! 10/10

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReeExeterDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
0.9 mi away
Star Beach Village & Water Park
Star Beach Village & Water Park
#30 of 172 in Hersonissos
751 reviews
1.0 mi away
Imperial Belvedere
Imperial Belvedere
#44 of 172 in Hersonissos
767 reviews
0.4 mi away
smartline Village Resort & Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#7 of 172 in Hersonissos
3,111 reviews
1.0 mi away
Royal Belvedere
Royal Belvedere
#40 of 172 in Hersonissos
815 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#1 of 13 in Koutouloufari
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arminda Hotel and SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arminda Hotel and SPA

Address: Limenas Hersonissou, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#20 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
#20 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#31 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range: $100 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arminda Hotel and SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 100 meters from the nearest beach, Arminda Hotel and Spa is an all-inclusive 4-star hotel located in Hersonissos, Crete. The complex features a variety of water elements: 3 large salt-water pools, 2 separate children's pools, a small water park as well as a splash area. The two types of rooms (double and family) are all equipped with A/C units, 32'' Flat-screen satellite TV, safe, kettle set, refrigerator and a balcony or terrace with pool, Cretan Sea or land views. Each private bathroom is equipped with a hairdryer and a bathtub or shower. Guests at Arminda can enjoy meals in buffet style, at the main restaurant. A variety of drinks and snacks are served at the pool-side Snack bar or at the Votsalo bar. Sport facilities includes tennis court, mini-golf courses, beach volley court, giant outdoor chess, billiards, table tennis as well as a renovated fitness room. A playground and a kids club is also provided for young guests. Massage, nail, face and body therapies, hamam, sauna and hydro massage tub are available at the SPA center, as well as an indoor Jacuzzi pool. Arminda Hotel and SPA is located 2 km from the center of Hersonissos center and 30 km from Heraklion Port. Nikos Kazantzakis International Airport is at 27 km. Free private parking is available at the premises of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Arminda Hotel and SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arminda Hotel Hersonissos
Arminda Hotel And SPA Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing