We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING HOLIDAY!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arminda Hotel and SPA
Ranked #25 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AMAZING HOLIDAY!!!”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We returned from a brilliant 10 day holiday at the Arminda's hotel on 11th Sept.All the staff at the hotel were always very polite and had a smile on there face (even the chap behind the outside bar)!! The rooms although a little dated were very clean and we had a ground floor apartment and it was spacious for my family of 4.The swimming pool was a good shape and both my 7and 9 year olds had lots of fun in there,they also went to the kids club on a number of occasions and had lots of fun with the girls who were fantastic with them!!!! the hotel animation team also did a really good job and tried hard to get people to participate in the events (I enjoyed the water gymnastics the best, make sure you are animation team though!) The food was superb and the beef was some of the best I have tasted, the servings were very generous and the drink flowed well throughout the day.The weather was 30 degrees plus everyday without a cloud in the sky,we would go back without any hesitation as we made some fantastic memories!!!I just want to say big big THANK YOU for all ARMINDA&SPA team and i'll defiantly gonna go there again!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    170
    61
    20
    16
See reviews for
191
191
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Hotel review

I stayed at the Arminda hotel for one week with my partner and two other couples. When we arrived we checked in straight away and was taken to our rooms. I'll break my review into separate subjects.

Room:
The room was clean and tidy when we first arrived and we was given a key to get in and out of our rooms. However, booking an 'all inclusive' holiday in a 4 star hotel you would expect a lot of the services to be free. We had to pay €10 for the safe and an extra €5 for a deposit, therefore in total paying €15 all together for the safe. I found this ridiculous. Once we had settled in and unpacked we had a read through the leaflet which was provided in our room, this told us the opening times of the snack bars, breakfast and dinner etc; on the leaflet it told us that our towels and bed sheets were only to be changed TWICE in ONE week, i couldn't believe this, I've never known a hotel not to change your towels everyday. If you did want to have new towels everyday you would have to request this at reception and pay an extra €10 plus a deposit of €10! Wi-if also needed to be purchase, despite stating on their website that their Wi-if is free, they expect you to pay €2 for an hour!! Complete extortion! There didn't ever seem to be enough hot water, once my partner had a shower before me for around 5 minutes I would have a shower after and there would only be mild warm water left. The only positive thing i can say is that the air con was in perfect condition and circulated enough cold air around the room.

Food/Drinks
Breakfast was from 7:45 until 9:45. Breakfast consisted of the same food everyday, this included, boiled eggs, chips, small chopped pieces of bacon, hot dog sausages, beans, bread, cereal and different forms of fruit. However, if you wanted toast you would have to wait a full 10 minutes to get access to the toaster, the hotel provided two toasters, 6 slots for bread, this was ridiculous as everyone would be waiting at least 5 minutes for every piece of toast they put in the toaster. Dinner was different every night, however they always had chicken or pork within the buffet and the snack bar which is open from 11:00 until 6pm contained only food made out of pastry! Everything was pastry apart from a few ham and cheese toasties (which you had to put in the toaster yourself). The only drinks that were all inclusive was beer (which was on a tap and very watered down), lemonade, coke, fanta, water and non fizzy drinks including orange juice, pineapple juice and apple juice. The rest of the drinks to had to pay for, this included all cocktails, other types of beer, wines and spirits (so much for all inclusive). I found all the glasses really dirty and when they had been 'washed' they would still have the smell of beer in them. I'm not fussy when it comes to hotels but the cleanliness of the glasses and plates were filthy, I found myself having to go through 5 glasses before I found one which was bearable to drink out of.

Entertainment
There isn't much entertainment, just a mini disco for the kids from 7pm which isn't in English and on some nights they have bingo and other forms of entertainment but we never went to any as they were all in different languages, mainly German. The minority of the people within the hotel is English and the majority are Russian, German and Dutch. The umbrellas near the pool are mainly all broken, the pieces of string and metal used to hold the umbrellas up are broken on most of the umbrellas, the pool is quite small and is really salty, it's practically like swimming in the ocean (the ocean is probably cleaner).

I wouldn't stay in this hotel again if I'm honest, it doesn't match up to its 4 star service which is claims, it's more of a 3 star hotel and for the only you pay you would expect better quality drinks, food and better room service, including free Wi-if and towels changed everyday. The cleanliness of the plates and glasses put me off and made me feel sick. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to any friends or family.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I was two weeks in Arminda
Delicious food - compliments to the chef :)
Clean room - greetings to the cleaners :)
Roof bar , best cocktails - greetings to the bartender :)
Entertainment - greetings to Animators :)
Snack bar , best icecoffee and cocktails - greetings to the bartender :)
Nice staff , proffesional service - greetings :)
Only beach , please do something with this :)
I WILL BE BACK ;)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lesze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Hey, just want to share my stunning two weeks in Arminda&spa. To be honest it was best holidays i ever had!!! Wish to go again!!! Hotel destination is in perfect place, just 5min away from the beach, 15-20mins away from town which is perfect because its not too loud in evenings, but i you feel like for party its not far away! Its great place for family holidays, same as for couples or just a nice summer brake with friends! Hotel staff is amazing, every one is there and ready to help whatever you need! I have to mention animation team, they are brilliant, playing the games, singing, acting, dancing and much more!!! And the restaurant, trust me on this you cant find better one in all island, im the person who like to eat, so i know what im saying! I just want to say big big THANK YOU for all ARMINDA&SPA team and i'll defiantly gonna go there again!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SvyBalciuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Your holiday starts when you first meet the wonderful reception staff who cannot do enough for you and always have time for a chat.
The rooms are cleaned every day and are fairly spacious.There are secuirty boxes and air con in the rooms
The pools are salt water which does sound of putting but are fantastic.We spent most of our stay at the top pool where you can always find a bed and umbrella
The food is very good, with a wide variety of salads and local dishes. As said here before, be careful of the desserts which will put a strain on you waistlines! The snack bar is excellent
The entertainment is ok, but again, the enthusiasm of the staff carries it through.
The roof top bar is great of an evening, but stays empty because you can only get all inclusive beer and soft drinks up there so is wasted a bit.
Only a short walk to the beach, but venture towards Chersonisos and you will find great beaches along the way.By the way, give Cheronisos a miss unless you want a busy, tacky resort. Stalis on the other hand is far more laid back especially in the evening

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Vilniaus Apskritis, Lithuania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We were staying in Arminda for a week. Accomodation is fine. Food is in high varaity and deliciuos. Entertainers work was amazing, even if you do not go out of hotel your time can be fully occupied by them (ofcourse if you like to participate). Hotel is near the beach, so no problems of long walks to sea. Wery good place for vacation with kids (we have seen ones of couple of months age). All in all, if comming to crete we would like to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jolita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

My wife and I had a fortnights stay in June at the Arminda and thoroughly enjoyed it.

The location is great. A 30 minute walk east gets you to Stallis and west to Hersonissos. You will be far enough away to avoid the clubbers but near enough for a pleasant walk.

The food was more than adequate for us, indeed a little too much choice at times. I like to try a bit of everything and by the end of the first week I was bloating badly.
Beware the sweets.....a fantastic selection.
The guy on the hot plate works his socks off with fresh pancakes and omlettes in the morning and chicken, pork and lamb at dinner.
Then there is the excellent all day snack bar. The selection there was excellent you have to try the 'Nuttella' in pancakes with ice cream. mmmnnn. There is always fresh trays coming in.
all day.long.

The beer is not the best but is OK, wines and pop are in ample supply as is Ouzo, Raiki and 'Metaxa'. But spoil yourself and pay for the odd cocktail. If you like chocolate try the 'Barman's Special'.

The staff from reception right through to waiting staff and maintenance are all hard working, friendly and courteous. Although First Choice messed up our special requests Eleni went over and above to help us and was wonderful.

The room was great, clean and well maintained and the much needed air con worked a treat. We slept very well on the firm beds.

The pools were cleaned daily and always looked inviting. The seating area by the snack bar was great with ample space.
Entertainment was OK but not Cretan. Bingo, karaoke etc. The Kids Club looked brilliant with lots of freebies.

We loved mixing with other nationalities and had chats with, German, Dutch, Czech, Austrian, Danish and others. Really friendly people seem to be attracted to Arminda.

There is one negative that you have to adapt to though........the stern faced, badmannered and unsmiling Russians!!! If you walk around and smile at people you will soon identify them, they look straight through you. In the restuarant you have to learn to not leave any gap in a queue or they will push in. Block them off at every opportunity and you will preserve your sanity. You will see them in the dining area.... they are the ones who never acknowledge the waiting staff when they clear the table whereas everyone else shows them due courtesy.
Do not let the Russians put you off though play them at their own game and you will get some satisfaction.

Make sure you go to the roof bar and watch the sun set.

We liked Arminda so much we are returning in the Autumn with two more family members.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank izzetafox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
0.9 mi away
Star Beach Village & Water Park
Star Beach Village & Water Park
#22 of 171 in Hersonissos
675 reviews
1.7 mi away
Palmera Beach Hotel
Palmera Beach Hotel
#8 of 171 in Hersonissos
551 reviews
2.4 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#5 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel
Albatros Spa & Resort Hotel
#16 of 171 in Hersonissos
902 reviews
4.4 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#6 of 171 in Hersonissos
622 reviews
1.0 mi away
Royal Belvedere
Royal Belvedere
#39 of 171 in Hersonissos
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arminda Hotel and SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arminda Hotel and SPA

Property: Arminda Hotel and SPA
Address: Limenas Hersonissou, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#19 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#20 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
#31 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Arminda Hotel and SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 100 meters from the nearest beach, Arminda Hotel and Spa is an all-inclusive 4-star hotel located in Hersonissos, Crete. The complex features a variety of water elements: 3 large salt-water pools, 2 separate children's pools, a small water park as well as a splash area. The two types of rooms (double and family) are all equipped with A/C units, 32'' Flat-screen satellite TV, safe, kettle set, refrigerator and a balcony or terrace with pool, Cretan Sea or land views. Each private bathroom is equipped with a hairdryer and a bathtub or shower. Guests at Arminda can enjoy meals in buffet style, at the main restaurant. A variety of drinks and snacks are served at the pool-side Snack bar or at the Votsalo bar. Sport facilities includes tennis court, mini-golf courses, beach volley court, giant outdoor chess, billiards, table tennis as well as a renovated fitness room. A playground and a kids club is also provided for young guests. Massage, nail, face and body therapies, hamam, sauna and hydro massage tub are available at the SPA center, as well as an indoor Jacuzzi pool. Arminda Hotel and SPA is located 2 km from the center of Hersonissos center and 30 km from Heraklion Port. Nikos Kazantzakis International Airport is at 27 km. Free private parking is available at the premises of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly, Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Arminda Hotel and SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arminda Hotel Hersonissos
Arminda Hotel And SPA Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing