We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amaizing vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Arminda Hotel and SPA
Ranked #27 of 172 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We were staying in Arminda for a week. Accomodation is fine. Food is in high varaity and deliciuos. Entertainers work was amazing, even if you do not go out of hotel your time can be fully occupied by them (ofcourse if you like to participate). Hotel is near the beach, so no problems of long walks to sea. Wery good place for vacation with kids (we have seen ones of couple of months age). All in all, if comming to crete we would like to stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jolita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (522)
There are newer reviews for Arminda Hotel and SPA
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 522 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

My wife and I had a fortnights stay in June at the Arminda and thoroughly enjoyed it.

The location is great. A 30 minute walk east gets you to Stallis and west to Hersonissos. You will be far enough away to avoid the clubbers but near enough for a pleasant walk.

The food was more than adequate for us, indeed a little too much choice at times. I like to try a bit of everything and by the end of the first week I was bloating badly.
Beware the sweets.....a fantastic selection.
The guy on the hot plate works his socks off with fresh pancakes and omlettes in the morning and chicken, pork and lamb at dinner.
Then there is the excellent all day snack bar. The selection there was excellent you have to try the 'Nuttella' in pancakes with ice cream. mmmnnn. There is always fresh trays coming in.
all day.long.

The beer is not the best but is OK, wines and pop are in ample supply as is Ouzo, Raiki and 'Metaxa'. But spoil yourself and pay for the odd cocktail. If you like chocolate try the 'Barman's Special'.

The staff from reception right through to waiting staff and maintenance are all hard working, friendly and courteous. Although First Choice messed up our special requests Eleni went over and above to help us and was wonderful.

The room was great, clean and well maintained and the much needed air con worked a treat. We slept very well on the firm beds.

The pools were cleaned daily and always looked inviting. The seating area by the snack bar was great with ample space.
Entertainment was OK but not Cretan. Bingo, karaoke etc. The Kids Club looked brilliant with lots of freebies.

We loved mixing with other nationalities and had chats with, German, Dutch, Czech, Austrian, Danish and others. Really friendly people seem to be attracted to Arminda.

There is one negative that you have to adapt to though........the stern faced, badmannered and unsmiling Russians!!! If you walk around and smile at people you will soon identify them, they look straight through you. In the restuarant you have to learn to not leave any gap in a queue or they will push in. Block them off at every opportunity and you will preserve your sanity. You will see them in the dining area.... they are the ones who never acknowledge the waiting staff when they clear the table whereas everyone else shows them due courtesy.
Do not let the Russians put you off though play them at their own game and you will get some satisfaction.

Make sure you go to the roof bar and watch the sun set.

We liked Arminda so much we are returning in the Autumn with two more family members.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank izzetafox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Our family stayed at The Arminda for 10 days in May/June. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful we had no real complaints about the food but it became a bit boring after 10 days. The drinks available in the all inclusive deal weren't the best but the beer was drinkable. The roof terrace bar was a really nice place to have a few drinks before going out and the barman was friendly just a shame it shut at 10.30pm. The majority of people staying at this hotel seemed to be from Eastern Europe and very few English. The 2 salt water swimming pools were very nice and the pool area was kept clean and tidy. The animation team work hard to try and get you involved,they had a kids club during the day and other activities like table tennis,water aerobics, water polo and darts for the older kids and adults to do but found the evening entertainment wasn't to our taste,although the German's and Russian's loved it. The beach was a two minute walk but there were no restaurants or bars there, we would walk down to Stalis of an evening which takes about 20 minutes and there are plenty of bars and restaurants there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisasw19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We booked with First Choice who rate this as a 3 star so was a little apprehensive as we usually go 4 star. We shouldn't of worried. We arrived as the last dropped off and the only passengers left. We were greeted at reception by a lovely young lady called Agnes who quickly checked us in and grabbed my case saying she had noted our request for a ground floor near the pool and had just the room for us (room 302). It was ground floor just a few steps away from the top small pool and not far from the Pool Bar.

There are all day snacks at the Pool Bar which are replenished frequently. I have never seen such a variety of snacks (a tall fridge full of filled rolls, sandwiches to put in the toaster and a bar with dishes of varies pastries and pizza slices).

True free alcoholic drinks are limited but you have a fridge in your room and if you want anything different or stronger pop to the supermarket and buy some branded!

There was always something to eat in the restaurant and we always enjoyed what we chose.

The comment about the Russian guests are true. They just don't have the same manners as other European's, they barge you out of the way to get to the food, seem to eat with their heads down in their plates with a shovelling technique which can be off putting when combined with the action of then talking with a mouthful of food, difficult to avoid when they are seated in front of you! They shout not talk and the top pool which they name the quiet pool can become crowded with obnoxious little Russian Princes in the afternoon who generally take over the place without being taken to task. This is just to warn you if you have previous experiences of Hotels over run by Russians.

That said we ignored them and didn't let them ruin an enjoyable break.

Room Tip: Room 302 and 102 are lovely rooms with small terraces near top pool.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Excellent hotel!! Very friendly staff and great food! Can't fault this hotel at all! Room was cleaned everyday. Kids club is very good, my son enjoyed every second. they did lots of different activites and really got to no him. I could of stayed forever :)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lish1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

just got back had great time food was good staff friendly the maids came every day childrens entertainment was good you can hire beach towels only cost euro for the laundry for them it saves taking your own the only thing I would change is you can only have beer wine brandy raki and ouzo on the all inclusive plus soft drinks great place

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

had a great time at this hotel a group of friends and family ages from 53 to 16 months couldn't find any faults. The staff were very friendly from reception to the dining room, they couldn't help us enough. We have just returned 9th May and while we were there it was easter, the hotel went out of it's way to show us how to celebrate easter. We had great rooms under reception 500's and we asked at reception if we could have these rooms again if we returned to the hotel.
I would like to thank the staff for making our stay very comfortable. Self service drinks helped as we didn't have to wait at any time, water was freely available you could just fill your bottles from the dispencer. microwave was available in the bar area which meant we could heat up food for the child whenever we needed it. The only downfall was the russians lots of them, they were rude and pushed in front of you in the resturant. The food was very nice and there was always something you could eat. the veiws from the cliffs are amazing if you walk along to the supermarket it's worth a walk down to the beach area, you can stop at the taverners on the way down where you will be served frozen pints to drink your beer from just what the doctor ordered on a warm day, you don't have to walk back up the bank that would be immpossible but you can walk along the beach and back up through the hotel. All in all we had a great time and would return to the same hotel again

Room Tip: The 500 rooms are ideally situated for both af the pools and the resturant, if you have children you...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank joy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
0.9 mi away
Star Beach Village & Water Park
Star Beach Village & Water Park
#30 of 172 in Hersonissos
751 reviews
1.0 mi away
Imperial Belvedere
Imperial Belvedere
#44 of 172 in Hersonissos
767 reviews
0.4 mi away
smartline Village Resort & Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#7 of 172 in Hersonissos
3,111 reviews
1.0 mi away
Royal Belvedere
Royal Belvedere
#40 of 172 in Hersonissos
815 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#1 of 13 in Koutouloufari
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arminda Hotel and SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arminda Hotel and SPA

Address: Limenas Hersonissou, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#20 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
#20 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#31 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range: $100 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arminda Hotel and SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 100 meters from the nearest beach, Arminda Hotel and Spa is an all-inclusive 4-star hotel located in Hersonissos, Crete. The complex features a variety of water elements: 3 large salt-water pools, 2 separate children's pools, a small water park as well as a splash area. The two types of rooms (double and family) are all equipped with A/C units, 32'' Flat-screen satellite TV, safe, kettle set, refrigerator and a balcony or terrace with pool, Cretan Sea or land views. Each private bathroom is equipped with a hairdryer and a bathtub or shower. Guests at Arminda can enjoy meals in buffet style, at the main restaurant. A variety of drinks and snacks are served at the pool-side Snack bar or at the Votsalo bar. Sport facilities includes tennis court, mini-golf courses, beach volley court, giant outdoor chess, billiards, table tennis as well as a renovated fitness room. A playground and a kids club is also provided for young guests. Massage, nail, face and body therapies, hamam, sauna and hydro massage tub are available at the SPA center, as well as an indoor Jacuzzi pool. Arminda Hotel and SPA is located 2 km from the center of Hersonissos center and 30 km from Heraklion Port. Nikos Kazantzakis International Airport is at 27 km. Free private parking is available at the premises of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Arminda Hotel and SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arminda Hotel Hersonissos
Arminda Hotel And SPA Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing