We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the kids”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Star Beach Village & Water Park
Ranked #25 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great for the kids”
Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

Went to star beach on our 4th day there .
Great day out lots of free pools and slides for the kids bigger slides €8 for a wrist band my 6 year old absolutely loved it.
Sunbeds €3 each which I didn't think was bad considering I have paid more else where in Crete so much going on hard to fit it all in , in a day . Security are a bit rude when checking if you have paid for the sunbeds constantly asking for your receipt for sunbeds apart from this a fantastic day.
Only other thing is the hair Brading shop the woman is very rude and way to expensive other than that great day out.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank t0ni41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Star Beach V, Guest Relations Manager at Star Beach Village & Water Park, responded to this review, November 23, 2016
thank you for your feedback

Kind Regards

Star Beach Village Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    220
    74
    43
    39
See reviews for
523
89
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We stayed at Star Beach Village 24th July - 8th Aug 2014. We have 3 children age 8,7,5. We had a great time and I would highly recommend.
First note is that this is a resort of 2 halves the all inclusive private hotel with swimming pool, many facilities, animation team, kids club etc and then on the other side of the road the Water Park which is open to the public and of which some is all inclusive (the water slides; many swimming pools; parasols and loungers are included for hotel guests but public have to pay; and one all inclusive bar and one restaurant). the Water park provides a massive range of services for which you can pay. The closest ATM is here. Great free parties here everyday including foam party from around 16:30 - 19:00. 3 times per week major DJs until midnight (but you need to buy a ticket for them). The best pool for the younger kids is here with mini slides BUT it is a long walk to get a drink from the all inclusive bar (572 steps we counted)
Hotel
We ate in both restaurants and both snack bars. We did not have one bad meal; everything is cooked very fresh; only limited use of hot serving lamps. In the snack bars pizza, toasties, fries, salad prepared to order. There is a great variety on offer with good choice of local dishes and speciality evenings. Highly recommend booking the Cretan restaurant beside the sea; free to reserve at reception the day before. Reception staff friendly and helpful.
Room
Our room was a Family room. It was quite spacious with 2 distinct areas. The room maintenance was in need of attention especially the bathroom. We complained about the varying temperature of the shower (from cold to dangerously hot) it was fixed during our stay. Our room was level down from poolside which we found very handy for the kids going to and from the room BUT it was noisy/loud music from 10:30 am until around 23:00. This didn't bother us. Maid did a great job with cleaning and was flexible with when she came to clean for us.
Animation team
The animation team do a great job!! There were 3 of them providing daily program Stretching, Darts, Water Polo, Kids Club, Football tournament, Mini Disco, Yoga. They work hard without being in your face and also provided colouring in type activity at kids club. They really made the holiday for our 3 kids special.
Evening Entertainment
A few dance shows (repeated in week 2) enjoyable but not great. Music at the poolbar was general and you could ask for what you wanted.
Location/trips
Very touristic resort about 20mins walk to the town centre with loads of shops selling tourist souvenirs. We took 2 trips. One full day trip to Spinalonga Island (incl boat, BBQ, Agios Nikalaos) which was good value for money and 2 hour "train" ride to see the old port and village (a great way to hide from midday sun) Crete is a beautiful Island we will return.

Room Tip: If you don't like noisy music in high season then choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Victoria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Star Beach V, Guest Relations Manager at Star Beach Village & Water Park, responded to this review, November 23, 2016
thank you for your time

Kind Regards

Star Beach Village Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We visited this hotel in April this year with our 3 kids (ages 8, 6 and 1 years old baby) and even that it's not the hot season the slide water was open.
Very lovely and big area. If you are hungry between the meals you can always go to the snack bar at the pool and order etc. Toast or Pizza or Salad.
All the staff is very nice and kindly.
All is really inclusive (- :
We loved this hotel and definitely will be back again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BARAK S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Star Beach V, Guest Relations Manager at Star Beach Village & Water Park, responded to this review, November 23, 2016
thank you for your comment

Kind Regards

Star Beach Village Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilbao, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

I did not stay in the hotel, however I went everyday to enjoy the local facilities. Star beach has a lot to offer for pretty much anybody who likes to have fun. You can find anything from water sports, bungy jumping to foam and pool parties with DJs. Definitely loved my stay in Hersonissos. Highly reccommended to anybody who is young and likes to party. Might be a bit noisy place to stay for families with children.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank Monika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Star Beach V, Guest Relations Manager at Star Beach Village & Water Park, responded to this review, November 23, 2016
thank you for your time

Kind Regards

Star Beach Village Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

Went to Star Beach to try bungy jumping for the first time. Warmed up with some paragliding and then went on to the main course. The bungy site opens up at 12:00, one of the crew members made the first jump then people began pouring in. Come my turn, I go in, 60 meters up in a cage with windy conditions later and I realize there's really only one way down. Get into position and clear my head then jump. It.was.awesome.beyond.belief. Easily one of the most scary events in my life, which is why I did it twice just to prove to myself that the first time wasn't an accident (profile picture).

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Auhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Star Beach V, Guest Relations Manager at Star Beach Village & Water Park, responded to this review, November 23, 2016
thank you for your time

Kind Regards

Star Beach Village Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HERE
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed as a familly at this hotel on July. We booked a familly apartment,which was a ground floor apartmentwith a small garden in front, 2 rooms, one huge with a sofa and a double bed and one with 3 beds, one kitchenet a toilet and a bathroom with bath tub. Surely a familly room, but old enough and in need for renovation. The food was great, or you can say, marvellous. Great variety, italian, chinese and greek cuisine mostly, wines, beer everything you need in hotel.
The hotel has a private beach with a restaurant by the sea, bars, some of which are all inclusive, children outdoors and in doors playground, bangee jumoing, paintball, waterslides... just nsme it. The reception is very beautiful abd has an all inclusive bar till 2300 hours open, with billiards and pay internt. The wi fi is quite good in the reception but in the room there is a problem, the wonderfull is that we had good signal at the beach, so we heard some music online under the stars by the beach listening to the waves while they were meeting the sea shore.The stuff was very pleasant and ready to serve you at every time.There were a supermarkt, 3 or 4 piscines, animation team, the mashroom house by the pool, etc.
Overall, everything was ok, we had a great time. The hotel is not budget,its a bit expensive. Finally i must add that is ok for persons with kinetic dissabilities, as everything is flat enough.
I recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Star Beach V, Guest Relations Manager at Star Beach Village & Water Park, responded to this review, November 23, 2016
thank you for your feedback
Kind Regards

Star Beach Village Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackiexbx
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

I did not stay in this hotel but we went everyday to use the facilities . Really enjoyed it here so would probably stay here if I went to hersonissos again. It's is free to enter and there is loads to do. You can use the sun loungers for 3 euro a day and there is lots going on.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank jackiexbx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Star Beach V, Guest Relations Manager at Star Beach Village & Water Park, responded to this review, November 23, 2016
thank you for your time

Kind Regards

Star Beach Village Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
1.6 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#6 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,973 reviews
4.2 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
smartline Village Resort & Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Imperial Belvedere
Imperial Belvedere
#44 of 171 in Hersonissos
733 reviews
2.3 mi away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#14 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,231 reviews
3.5 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#9 of 171 in Hersonissos
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Beach Village & Water Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Beach Village & Water Park

Property: Star Beach Village & Water Park
Address: Themistokleous 5, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
#15 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#20 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#41 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Star Beach Village & Water Park 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Bookgreece.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Star Beach Village & Water Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Beach Village Hotel Chersonisos
Star Beach Hotel Crete
Star Beach Village Hersonissos
Star Beach Village & Water Park Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing