We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Need to Worry”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Star Beach Village & Water Park
Ranked #28 of 176 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“No Need to Worry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

My husband and I have just returned from 2 weeks at Star Beach Village and what a brilliant holiday we had. I had read recent reviews before we went and was I worried! No need. The hotel was really quiet. It seems that during July and August things can get a bit out of hand at the Star Beach Water Park, but when we arrived on 13th September, all the parties at the water park had stopped. Our room was lovely, and the maid cleaned it daily. There was plenty of room for all our clothes. The bathroom as stated in previous reviews could be better laid out, but for 2 weeks we could live with it. The kitchen area is small and quite basic, but we never used it. As long as you aren't making a 3 course meal, I would say it would suffice. Having said that there was enough of everything to get by. The only negative thing I would say is that the beds are hard and not very comfortable. There was no noise at night from rowdy youngsters or anyone else for that matter. The pool bar was fab with Manos who was a real gentleman during the day and George a bit of a character at night! Both helped to make our holiday. We found the staff at reception pleasant and helpful and our Thomas Cook rep Gemma also helpful and friendly. The breakfast buffet in the hotel restaurant has to be the best value going. 5 euros for all you can eat with a fantastic choice, from cereals, fruit, bacon, sausage, boiled, scrambled, fried eggs, omlettes, all types of bread including toast, french toast, rolls, cheeses, hams etc etc. The walk from the hotel to the harbour at the other end of Hersonnissos takes about 30 mins, but there are plenty of shops, bars and restaurants to drop in to if you like! All in all we had no real complaints and would definitely go back, but September seems to be the best time to go.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank BelfastJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Star Beach V, Guest Relations Manager at Star Beach Village & Water Park, responded to this review, November 23, 2016
thank you for your feedback

Kind Regards

Star Beach Village Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    180
    66
    40
    37
See reviews for
432
84
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucuresti, Bucuresti, Romania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

I just arrived home, from a one week vacantion at star beah village!... the best week i ever had.
+++++ ...
great room
very very clean
great personal
a small but ma very clean beach
great rates for a quite perfect service
...and handsome male personal :))

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Star Beach V, Guest Relations Manager at Star Beach Village & Water Park, responded to this review, November 23, 2016
thank you for your time

Kind Regards

Star Beach Village Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

it was very loud, the kindergarten supervisor was not working for several days with no explanation given, around the swimming pool it was dirty, the sunbeds were dirty, stained. The employees complained about their low salaries, the self catering description was a joke. The two rooms in our apartment were only half separated from each other, meaning a wall down the middle between the rooms, The apartment was not cleaned everyday. I contacted the Manager to complain but he never responded.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank kieran f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Star Beach V, Guest Relations Manager at Star Beach Village & Water Park, responded to this review, November 23, 2016
thank you for your comment

Kind Regards

Star Beach Village Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

Firstly i'd like to say the place is spotless,reasonably well situated and the staff are as helpful as they can be ,BUT,we arrived to find our room was double booked,a regular occurence chatting to others,so we were put in a lower grade room until ours was "available".after being promised and accepting a room we were shown we were then told that this was also not available.After being afford accomdation sandwiched between gangs of dutch ,russian and other young lads we eventually got a ground floor flat,(we'd booked a top floor one in Jan),in the "Family" part,unfortunately they'd also put a gang of 5 girls across and five young lads next to them,obviously the family bit is just a guide.If you have young children you can forget about getting them in all but one of the pools(the star beach one next to the asian restraunt in the park) as after3 pm its taken over by the young lads,drinking bottles at the side of the pool,the atmosphere at times was menacing although i only saw two incidents,with gangs ,singing at each other .if youve already booked, my advice is to have a few trips,hire a car and visit the old town,

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank kaiser002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Star Beach V, Guest Relations Manager at Star Beach Village & Water Park, responded to this review, November 23, 2016
thank you for your time

Kind Regards

Star Beach Village Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

this was the worst hotel experience we have had in many years. there were cockroaches in our room, broken glass in the grass just outside our door (requests to have it removed were ignored), tiles falling off the wall in the shower. we were surrounded on three sides by rooms filled with six 20 year olds on a party bender. they did not stop all night on any of the three nights of our stay. they were still going strong at 6.30am on the morning we left. the buffet breakfast was almost inedible. the area around the hotel is a cheap party zone with foam discos going on every day, people vomiting everywhere. despite the fact that there are many restaurants in the area the only ones which had decent food were a drive away. we were asked to pay for pool lounge chairs too! i chose this hotel for our family because of it's proximity to knossos and the fact that it had water slides at the pool. it was a huge mistake as we were uncomfortable day and night. we tried to find another hotel for the last night of our stay as we were finding it hard to comprehend another noisy night before our flight back to australia but were unsuccessful. a disgrace to crete.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank nusstafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Star Beach V, Guest Relations Manager at Star Beach Village & Water Park, responded to this review, November 23, 2016
thank you for your feedback

Kind Regards

Star Beach Village Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

Went with my family including 2 children, the pool was excellent, clean and the areas around the sunbeds were kept clean and tidy and there were always sunbeds available. We spent most of our time here, the children aged 5 and 7 loved the pool and loved Jack the animator who kept them busy thankyou!!.. George and Manos at the pool bar catered to our every need. We didnt want to come home. The hotel complex is clean and tidy and across the way is the Water Park for the most adventurous. We will definately be going back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank brinny b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Star Beach V, Guest Relations Manager at Star Beach Village & Water Park, responded to this review, November 23, 2016
thank you for your time

Kind Regards

Star Beach Village Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

Just returned from an excellent family holiday staying at Star Beach Hotel. I have 3 daughters aged 16 to 20 and the resort ticked all the boxes for a family holiday. We stayed half board and the food was superb with a good variety to suit all tastes for the guests who came from a wide variety of European countries. this also added to the enjoyment of our stay especially as there were not too many from Britain. A real bonus as our plane and transfer coach had your atypical Brit on tour!! They fortunately stayed elsewhere. The hotel staff were friendly and efficient. They were excellent dealing with our minor complaint about our door to our room that needed a repair. The rooms were cleaned well and towels changed. On our arrival at 5am they had laid out food for us!! On our day of departure we had to leave our room by midday our flight was not til 4am, so the hotel had allowed us access to another room to shower and change. The beach is across the road and there are all the water sports to keep you entertained including club scene music presented by known DJs from 3 ish to late evening. All in all we all had a great holiday and I can not fault the hotel apart from their fitness centre where the machines are frankly a bit knackered! Mind you it was bit too hot to train too seriously!!

Room Tip: Room 6110 sea view and balcony!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank 784QH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Star Beach V, Guest Relations Manager at Star Beach Village & Water Park, responded to this review, November 23, 2016
thank you for your comment

Kind Regards

Star Beach Village Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
0.6 mi away
Smartline  Village Resort & Waterpark
3.5 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#6 of 176 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
1.6 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 176 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Royal Belvedere
Royal Belvedere
#37 of 176 in Hersonissos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
0.2 mi away
Imperial Belvedere
Imperial Belvedere
#42 of 176 in Hersonissos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Beach Village & Water Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Beach Village & Water Park

Property: Star Beach Village & Water Park
Address: Themistokleous 5, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Hersonissos
#14 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#21 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#41 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Star Beach Village & Water Park 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Star Beach Village & Water Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Beach Village Hotel Chersonisos
Star Beach Hotel Crete
Star Beach Village Hersonissos
Star Beach Village & Water Park Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing