We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Im going back for sure.”
Review of Golden Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Villas
Ranked #10 of 30 Hersonissos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Lonely planet may diss the whole north east coast of Crete. Ignore that.
With Golden Villas you get your own private villa with a pool and a great view.
You get privacy,parking at your door,two bathrooms,a working fireplace,a great breakfast,convenient location,a private chapel,a Turkish Steam room and more. All for a reasonable price. Lots of travelers will say that a hotel's staff were friendly. In many cases this sometimes can be a bit fake or for monetary reasons but I believe the manger/owner of Golden Villas is a genuine nice and good person.
The villa was a great place to use as a base to visit Heraklion and pretty much most of central and eastern Crete.
Even in October the weather was great.
" It was Golden"

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lord C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
There are newer reviews for Golden Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 113 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

We had a great time at golden villas and the location was lovely. You have
Your very own private pool which is amazing because it is nice and quiet. You do not have to worry about getting down to breakfast or lunch or dinner. I loved it so much and it is so nice and quiet because you have your own nice private pool and sure it may not be big but it is good enough to have a fabulous holiday. We went in 2007

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mollie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Excellent villas, bit of a climb to our villa at the top of the road,that is the only negative point i have, the place is stunning, stayed april out of season. we walked to next town every night i think it was called Koutalafairi spelling may not be right! which is stunning. all in all great palce we would return.

Room Tip: All are good shared pool are larger.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clp01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

First time when we 'discovered Crete' and Golden Villas - in May 2008,we decided to be come-back one day... This year - during Sept 2011,we got to be there and our stay was more delightful. We found the same quiet and comfortable Golden Villas,the same beautiful views and the same kindness & helpfulness of all staff.This is why we could say again 'what a delightful holiday'!!! Not so far to crowded Hersonissos and in the same time not so close,Golden Villas is a perfect base for to travel inland Crete or in neighbouring area-see Koutoulofari and Piskopiano with their cheerful tavernas.And very important, Golden Villas is also a peaceful retreat where you may rest and relax near your own terrace and pool.Finaly I have to thank you to the owner Yannis and all staff - especialy Marinos, who made us feel very welcome. Is for sure we will be back as soon as posible!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tucu89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Restaurants much better at Koutolofari/Emmanuel villages (half an hours walk away), than at Herssonisos seafront, (also half an hour’s walk away),. Car hire recommended. Long steep walk with bags from reception to villas. (Can drive half way). Very pleasant and quiet spot. Lovely view. Private pools very small, 8 ms by 8 but do the job. Some watersports at Herssonisos seafront. Golden Villas is recommended. Would go again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank FairPortal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here for only 2 nights as we were booked in the hotel next door (mareblue) but they had over booked us or something which we were not impressed at all! so when we checked in they told us they were putting us next door at "golden villas" but we soon went from being very angry people to very happy and wished we could stay there for the duration but was told we couldnt! :-(
For us the view alone was 5*
Lovely and private
Perfect chill out hol
only thing to say is it is on abit of a hill but to get the views it needs to be but if u strugle with walking request a lower room which will still have a lovely view. we were at the top far right end villa just perfect could see for miles!!!

Room Tip: higher the better the view and the more caleries burned!!!
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank paulabrown123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We stayed with family, renting 2 villas with sharing pool in the 2nd level of the resort at end of July - beginning of August. As last year we loved every second of it... Amazing views, quiet atmosphere nice & clean place just a short drive from Chersonisos. Food is good for a 4 star place mixing Greek Cuisine with local delicacies and only recommendation would be to upgrade the orange juice at Breakfast time(too watery) because its a shame to ruin the overall feeling of the food offered, a minor mistake of the cook...In general Golden Villas is a real value for money place. There is no place in Crete offering private swimming pools at that cost and believe me because I am local i 've been searching a lot ;) Be back soon Marinos...:D

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank apostant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
2.2 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#7 of 172 in Hersonissos
3,112 reviews
3.6 mi away
Village Heights Golf Resort
Village Heights Golf Resort
#6 of 172 in Hersonissos
734 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#1 of 13 in Koutouloufari
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Star Beach Village & Water Park
Star Beach Village & Water Park
#30 of 172 in Hersonissos
752 reviews
0.2 mi away
smartline Village Resort & Waterpark
1.1 mi away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#3 of 13 in Koutouloufari
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Villas

Address: Drapanos Hill, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Hersonissos
Price Range: $14 - $1,150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Golden Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Villas Hotel Chersonisos
Golden Hotel Hersonissos
Golden Villas Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing