We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In a word, Excellent.”
Review of Golden Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Villas
Ranked #10 of 30 Hersonissos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“In a word, Excellent.”
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Me and my friend stayed on a weekend at Golden Villa
We arrived in the morning and immediately upon our arrival, we got the key to the room and we were invited to a free breakfast on the house.
The staff was so nice, helpful, nice smileing and gives you a feeling of home.
The villa was large, a small kitchenette equipped with a private pool.
This place is highly recommended.
When I return to Crete I'll stay there again

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tomersi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    38
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
36
54
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel aviv
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Nice Place Near Hersonissos.
Close to a rocky beach, With 2 tavernas within walking distance by foot.
And is also within driving distance of a few minutes from the shores of Hersonissos.
Advisable to take a vehicle but can do without.

The rooms (villas) are constructed from two levels, When on the top floor there is a bedroom and shower And balcony with sea view.
On the ground floor there is a kitchenette, another balcony and pool (Some of rooms has a private pool and others has shared pool with one more room)

Very nice team with a constant smile and excellent service
We arrived in the morning and the hotel manager immediately offered us to sit down for breakfast.

There is easy road out to the east and the west
One day we drove to the south island as well - MATALA

Just minutes away from MALIA, hersonissos
And within 25 minutes drive from airport.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank buiumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leigh on sea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2009

From the moment we arrived we were made welcome, it was late evening but Freddy (the manager) insisted on cooking us a meal. The villa was clean & spacious & the private pool was cleaned daily. The owners & mangement treated us more as friends than guests & Maria delighted in putting plenty of Cretan dishes in front of us, teaching us some Greek in the process. Nothing was too much trouble, ask & it was done. Hire acar & explore the island, it's beautiful & everyone is friendly. Thanks Freddy, Maria &
Jannis for making our stay so enjoyable.
Golden Villas is better than the photos, especially when the rock behind the hotel is floodlit at night. It is quiet &relaxed but close to town with its nightlife & there are good tavernas nearby but please try the grill at the hotel & enjoy Freddies hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roeLeighOnSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2009

I only had two days in this marvellous place and wished that I could have made it a bit longer. The family atmosphere and helpfulness and kindness of all the staff couldn't have made me feel more at home. The villa itself was clean, spacious and bright with fabulous views over the bay of Hersonissos and the private pool in front of the villa was clean and inviting and actually warm! Maria's cooking is fabulous and for anyone who enjoys trying different kinds of cake - you are in for a real treat. Freddy who looks after reception and the bar and helps out in the restaurant treats every guest as someone really special as do all the family and you really couldn't find anywhere better for your holidays. A car would be a good idea, although Hersonissos is within walking distance or is a very short taxi ride away. I'll certainly be back for a longer stay!

Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Tartus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacau,Romania
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2009

What a delightful holiday! I stayed for 7 nights at Golden Villas(Hersonissos) during May 2008 and I had a great time there. The maisonette  with shared pool( for two maisonette),wich I booked,was incredible comfortable and quiet. The place is beautiful,more beautiful than I saw on  "Internet", where I discovered it. Go to Golden Villas and you will be subjugate by its excelent location and charming simplicity! Everything was O. K.-the rooms were clean and all the needed appliances were there(fridge,plates...). By the way... you will need a car-the complex is outside of Hersonissos- and this also gives you, lots of opportunities to visit Crete inland, what is 'a must'.Overall,great place to stay,good price and ideal location!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tucu89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2008

stayed two weeks at villas very enjoyable 4 star views amazing built on quite a slope but we found it no real task and we are in our fifties but young at heart if you want a peaceful and relaxing holiday book now believe me its great some reviews i have read complained about breakfast i wonder what they get at home so much to see and do in crete you will not be disappointed look at the photos what you see is what you get stephanos (renia looklike) what a lovely person will certainly look after you thanks again see you again soon from your irish friends

Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank hemanireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2008

Had a pleasant stay at the Golden Villas.

Location
You need a car!
Found lovely village koutaloufari 5 mins away by car and ate there most evenings it was really nice.

Villas
clean, basic, very nice. Got everything eg hairdryer, kettle, toaster
maid service - daily around noon time.
bit strange about the sheets though, she put a folded sheet (sometimes yours sometimes clean) everyday on the bed, so you make it yourself. Oh and we didnt get hot water in a morning for 3 days only on the evening. its all solar powered. no back up system.
Tv - one channel occasionally had english film or programme usually 7 - 9pm

Private Pool - Freezing
husband went in once because i dared him, it was too cold for me though, oh and there not exactly private as all pools joined on to each other. but very nice all the same.
Hill - very tiring, try and get on the first level.
Staff - friendly

on the whole we enjoyed the hol, it was a peaceful retreat.
shame it rained for first couple days though.

  • Liked — Peacefulness and privacy of pool when next doors weren't in.
  • Disliked — pool / patio not that private, the hill, location
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank augustsummergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
2.2 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#6 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,973 reviews
3.6 mi away
Village Heights Golf Resort
Village Heights Golf Resort
#7 of 171 in Hersonissos
708 reviews
1.2 mi away
Creta Blue Suites
Creta Blue Suites
#4 of 13 in Koutouloufari
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Galaxy Villas
Galaxy Villas
#6 of 13 in Koutouloufari
334 reviews
1.2 mi away
Golden Beach Hotel
Golden Beach Hotel
#59 of 171 in Hersonissos
614 reviews
1.4 mi away
Astra Village Apartments
Astra Village Apartments
#8 of 13 in Koutouloufari
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Villas

Property: Golden Villas
Address: Drapanos Hill, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Golden Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Villas Hotel Chersonisos
Golden Hotel Hersonissos
Golden Villas Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing