We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Anna Maria Village(Hersonissos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marianthi(Hersonissos)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kreta Natur(Hersonissos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Galini(Hersonissos)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,471)
Filter reviews
2,471 results
Traveler rating
1,433
711
219
80
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,433
711
219
80
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach barmain baranimation teamfontana restaurantmanitari barfontana amorosaprivate poolroyal villassea viewgreat holidayvip bungalowmini clubgolf buggysalt waterfire showwater gymsea front
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,240 - 1,245 of 2,471 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Great holidays, beautiful hotel and rooms /perfect vilas for family/, kindly & helpful personal, clean restaurants with varied cuisine, amazing club for children with highly qualified teacher Dimitra, kids don't want leave from there each day. 100% satisfied can only recomend for all.

Room Tip: Private vilas & pool for family / IDA /
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dusan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Gasparis, General Manager at Aldemar Knossos Royal, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Our dearest and valuable Guests,

We appreciate your kind comments regarding your recent stay in Aldemar Knossos Royal & Royal Villas 5*. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests.

We would like to thank you for having chosen our hotel to spend your holidays and we are delighted to know that our services have exceeded your expectations and have been the reason for memorable moments.

Your comments are shared with all our personnel and we are convinced that they will be encouraged by your remarks as everybody works very hard to make sure each guest feels at home.

Thank you again for your kind remarks and we are looking forward to welcoming you again very soon in Crete.

Sincerely yours,
Michael Gasparis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Not really a 5 star hotel but nevertheless very good. We (my wife & I) stayed for 14 days on an all inclusive basis. The all inclusive was very good with a very good selection of drinks available, unlike some other hotels we have stayed at. Location is excellent, in nice grounds & a good, if not really sandy, beach. However, the best part of it was the friendliness & helpfulness of the staff. I am diabetic &, having called prior to my arrival, the restaurant staff went out of their way to accommodate me. Of particular note was the maitre d', Giorgos Michalakis, who could not do enough for me. Everything I asked for was delivered speedily & with good grace. On the minor downside, they really need more sunbeds, as getting up at 6.00am to beat the Russians to the beds is not my idea of a relaxing holiday! Food quality was very good & the choice pretty good although lunch selection could have been better. Overall cleanliness was good. Met some very nice guests as well, several of whom come to the hotel regularly. If I came back to Crete, would definitely consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Taking one of the VIP rooms is probably worth the extra few quid as it obviates the sunbed problem, since each of the 2 blocks has it's own swimming pool. They are slightly further from main reception & restaurant but you choose which means more to you, sunbeds or walking less!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MIKE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Gasparis, General Manager at Aldemar Knossos Royal, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Our dearest and valuable Guests,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post these comments for your experience in our hotel Aldemar Knossos Royal & Royal Villas 5*.

Your support gives us the strength to continue our efforts towards guest’s satisfaction while at the same time your comments and marks are being taken seriously under consideration, promoting the amelioration of our services.

Warm and sunny days are ahead and we look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once again.

Let us offer you additional and exciting experiences in the Aldemar tradition, with authentic hospitality and memorable moments – something we have provided travelers with for more than twenty years.

Sincerely yours,

Michael Gasparis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Three star at best. Great location close to the beach, but 5*?, not a chance. The rooms are typical Greek 2/3*, except the adjoining (fortunately locked) wafer thin door meant our Russian neighbours 6 o'clock wake up was also ours. Room cleanliness was OK, but Greek hospitality from the room and support staff was sadly lacking.
This is the problem, the food was OK, if you we're expecting 3*, so I squarely blame First Choice for misrepresenting the quality. Our Rep, Tim, told us that 5* in Greece isn't really 5*. Shame it didn't tell us that on line, or reflect it in the price! There were feature food evenings, but these were extra, although we were given tickets to have a gourmet experience in the A' la Carte Restaurant, which turned out to be a set menu of undercooked risotto, a bowl of soup and steak that was Wetherspoons standard (not wishing to decry Wetherspoons). The special Taverna night food was abysmal, which was pretty much the same experience for everyone else I spoke to.
We decided to get out and take a break into the nearest town of Hersonisos, what a dirty dump! But to be fair a trip later by taxi for a meal at Old Hersonisos restored our faith, as it was fab!
How upset am I? Well I am still here, on holiday, avoiding another trip to the main restaurant, just to give you some useful advice and accept that if you are coming here your hard earned money has been robbed from you by First Choice. Last year my partner took four adults to Rhodes for the same money and had better food, better drinks, better service and much better value.
Lucky for this Hotel that two staff stood out and made our holiday bearable. These are Christian and Rhula (hope this is spelt correctly) who worked in the Manitari Bar, which had the best food (bread rolls), drinks and service in the entire Hotel.
The entertainment is terrible and no where near acceptable for people on all inclusive who wish to remain in the hotel. I must admit that children appeared well catered for, but couples beware!

Room Tip: Go to a better value hotel
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 4321Rees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Gasparis, General Manager at Aldemar Knossos Royal, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear guests,

We would like to share, that since your review is made during your stay with us, our department heads, Guest Relations as well as our Duty Manager, are present overall the hotel at all times to address any issue that might arise during a guest stay.

We always reply to all comments made on a goodwill and helping us to improve our services according to our guests needs.

In reference to your objervations we find that are mainly subjective and do not reflect the majority of our guests opinion. Especially comparing our hotel with the one that you are mentioning from your previous holidays and the low standards restaurant that you also mention you have visited and we are well aware.

Yours sincerely,

Michael Gasparis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed as a family of three (2 adults and a 12 year old) at the Aldemar Knossos Royal hotel for fourteen nights on an All Inclusive basis, and had an absolutely fantastic holiday.
We arrived at the hotel late in the evening, at around 2330 with a handful of others. At reception, we were offered the opportunity to go and grab something to eat and drink from the Snack Bar, before it closed at midnight, which we were delighted to do. There wasn’t a huge choice at this time of night, obviously, but it was hot and tasty. After a quick bite and a cold drink we went back to Reception. The registration process was very quick and friendly, then we were shown out to a golf cart to be driven to our room (107 – Ground Floor, Garden View). The room itself was a good size for a family of three, with two singles pushed together and a really comfortable foldout sofa bed. There was a bottle of red wine waiting for us, along with a bottle of water in the fridge and slippers too ! It was absolutely spotless, and kept that way for the duration of our holiday by the housekeeping staff.
After a good nights’ sleep, we headed up to breakfast the next morning and got our first proper view of this gorgeous hotel. Walking around the main pool on the way to the restaurant, we could see that there were plenty of sun loungers, both in the sun and in the shade. The breakfast was very good, as was the food in general – lots of choice, although it didn’t change hugely. Never struggled to find something good, and the service staff ensured we got a nice freshly brewed pot of coffee to wash it down.
Chilling on the sunbeds after breakfast, we were introduced to probably the hotel’s best feature – the Animation team. They were always around poolside, either asking folk if they fancied joining in the volleyball/waterpolo/football/boules/etc, or just generally chatting to see if we were having a good break. Really friendly, and happy to chat about themselves – don’t know if I could pick anyone in particular out, but a huge thank you to Mara, Maria, Chiara, Agata, Marinya, Alex, Nico, Eddie and the rest of the team. They managed to encourage our daughter to join in the Juniors club, and she made great friends there that kept her entertained all holiday.
The shows that the Animation Team put on most evenings are really fun too – their Fire show and Blacklight shows were quite different from the usual hotel entertainment and well worth seeing. We did give the Karaoke night a miss, however. Facilities in the amphitheatre could be improved – there’s nowhere to get a drink other than walking back to the hotel bars.
The bars in the hotel were all excellent, and all a bit different – the Main Bar was open late for chilling with table service, a good range of cocktails and coffees, while the Manitari Bar by the beach served cool drinks while watching the waves on the beach. A word of appreciation here for Roula at the Manitari Bar, who went out her way to ensure we had everything we needed, and again chatted away even though she was obviously kept busy.
The food in the main restaurant was great too – plenty of variation from the choice of soups and salads, usually two or three grilled meats, fresh fish, a joint of meat, cold cuts, and even sushi on occasion. A separate section offered a range of pasta and sauce and other dishes too and the dessert selection was amazing – cakes, pastries, ice cream, fresh fruit…
The service in the restaurant was really good too – again, hard to pick one star but Maria went out her way to help us find a good table each night and that we had everything we needed.
The Snack Bar opened early for tea/coffee/water/drinks and sandwiches, which was handy if you missed breakfast. We ate lunch here most days, and there was again a great choice to keep everyone happy.

Overall, this was a fabulous holiday and the hotel is one of the best we’ve stayed in ! I’d recommend it to anyone, and I wouldn’t hesitate to head back to the Knossos Royal. Its an excellent combination of top quality facilities made even better by absolutely fantastic, friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Don't worry about looking for sea view, the garden view rooms are fantastic and great value.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveBhoy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Gasparis, General Manager at Aldemar Knossos Royal, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Our dearest and valuable Guests,

We appreciate your kind comments regarding your recent stay in Aldemar Knossos Royal & Royal Villas 5*. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests.

We would like to thank you for having chosen our hotel to spend your holidays and we are delighted to know that our services have exceeded your expectations and have been the reason for memorable moments.

Your comments are shared with all our personnel and we are convinced that they will be encouraged by your remarks as everybody works very hard to make sure each guest feels at home.

Thank you again for your kind remarks and we are looking forward to welcoming you again very soon in Crete.

Sincerely yours,
Michael Gasparis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This place is advertised as a 5 star resort, but it's definitely only a 3 star. You can select two options, either half board or all inclusive. We originally had the half board, but decided to go with the all inclusive, which wasn't a big difference in terms of price -- Totally worth it, half board is very limiting. The rooms are small and very dated. The place itself needs a little TLC here and there. My rating would be lower had the staff not been so great, as were some of the people my family and I met. Such great people! Now the food, it's cantina style, and they actually recycle their dishes. Food was cafeteria at best, and not high quality style. Really terrible. I ate their salads morning noon and dinner. Great tomatoes. However the kids loved it, pasta, pasta, all you can eat. The animation staff are very nice, the evening show is a riot, best was one evening they performed a show on the beach which was fun for all! Kids club is nice, well managed, however it's not great if you are over 7... good for younger kids. My two older kids were not very interested. They also had a water slide which all enjoyed and was a bonus
We stayed for a week and actually took advantage of the excursions they offered from the resort. We did Santorini in a day -- which was too short and totally exhausting, but it's worth seeing, such a beautiful island. We also did Chrissi island which is a must, the water around the island is turquoise and utterly stunning. It's a beautiful and a fun day trip for all the family -- but keep in mind that there are no restaurants on the island so best to bring lunch and snacks. Our last excursion was to Kronos and the Lassithi plateau which was great if you are into history. Overall solid for a family resort, except that it's not 5 stars at all, but the kids liked it, which was most important!

Room Tip: Larger rooms are a must! The others are closet size. Best to be close to the sea
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eliane_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Gasparis, General Manager at Aldemar Knossos Royal, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay in our hotel Aldemar Knossos Royal & Royal Villas 5*.

The Aldemar philosophy is based on the creation of a wealth of services for our guests for them to experience unique family moments during their holidays. The combination of sport activities, animation programs, kids’ and teenagers’ daily entertainment complete the mosaic of ideal family holidays in Aldemar Knossos Royal & Royal Villas 5*.
We are delighted to know that you and your family enjoyed all the above services as well as our AI program, which is indeed very convenient for families and very popular among our guests.

Culinary experience in our hotel Aldemar Knossos Royal and Royal Villas 5* represents the wealth of the Greek food products. Our buffet and a la carte restaurants, with respect to the seasonality and locality of products, put forward each culinary identity of our international clientele. With the various theme nights of Asian, Italian and Greek buffet as well as with our three a la carte restaurants which offer a great variety of tastes, they strongly challenge the stereotypical perception of Greek food as synonymous only to Greek salad.

Our hotel’s philosophy is genuine hospitality and it is reflected to every single action or behavior of our personnel who go out of their way to satisfy each personal request of our guests. Our Front Desk, Guests Relations, Housekeeping and Restaurant Managers are always available to suggestions from our guests in order to fulfill individual requests and for sure it would have been very helpful if you have contacted them during your stay.
Nevertheless, we hope to have again the opportunity to welcome you in our hotel Aldemar Knossos Royal & Royal Villas 5* in order to make reality the unforgettable experiences that each year, makes people from all over the world seeking to return to our hotel.

Best Regards,

Michael Gasparis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews