We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 weeks chill out. Chris Fitz”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Ranked #14 of 172 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2012

What a great break. All aspects of this holiday were excellent, so thanks to all the hard working staff. Special thanks to Giorgos & his Chef plus all waitresses& staff for everything. As for the animation all I will say is WOW !!! (beware the Beach Party,can only remember first 3 hrs of it)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank chris f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Gasparis, General Manager at Aldemar Knossos Royal, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Our dearest and valuable Guests,

We appreciate your kind comments regarding your recent stay in Aldemar Knossos Royal & Royal Villas 5*. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests.

We would like to thank you for having chosen our hotel to spend your holidays and we are delighted to know that our services have exceeded your expectations and have been the reason for memorable moments.

Your comments are shared with all our personnel and we are convinced that they will be encouraged by your remarks as everybody works very hard to make sure each guest feels at home.

Thank you again for your kind remarks and we are looking forward to welcoming you again very soon in Crete.

Sincerely yours,
Michael Gasparis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,461)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,314 - 1,320 of 2,461 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

Staff were all very welcoming from the reception to the bar and restaurants. Animation team were fantastic!!! Hotel in good condition in all public areas, rooms clean and fully air conditioned. Animation team provide a wide variety of optional daytime activities and great evening shows. Every member of the animation team added to the enjoyment of the holiday. Frank, one of the funniest blokes you will ever meet!... Beach was a couple of minutes’ walk from the room and had a bar located very close with food and drink available. Plenty of different breakfast and dinners in the main restaurant

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Nicola F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Gasparis, General Manager at Aldemar Knossos Royal, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Our dearest and valuable Guests,

We appreciate your kind comments regarding your recent stay in Aldemar Knossos Royal & Royal Villas 5*. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests.

We would like to thank you for having chosen our hotel to spend your holidays and we are delighted to know that our services have exceeded your expectations and have been the reason for memorable moments.

Your comments are shared with all our personnel and we are convinced that they will be encouraged by your remarks as everybody works very hard to make sure each guest feels at home.

Thank you again for your kind remarks and we are looking forward to welcoming you again very soon in Crete.

Sincerely yours,
Michael Gasparis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The Knossos Royal is a fantastic hotel, the staff are very helpful. We stayed in a seafront vip room for seven days at the end of September and enjoyed every minute - total relaxation, perfect holiday. The food is excellant, we dined in the self service buffet and the speciality restaurants also. We would like to thank all your staff for making our holiday so special and perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank hols-to-enjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Gasparis, General Manager at Aldemar Knossos Royal, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Our dearest and valuable Guests,

We appreciate your kind comments regarding your recent stay in Aldemar Knossos Royal & Royal Villas 5*. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests.

We would like to thank you for having chosen our hotel to spend your holidays and we are delighted to know that our services have exceeded your expectations and have been the reason for memorable moments.

Your comments are shared with all our personnel and we are convinced that they will be encouraged by your remarks as everybody works very hard to make sure each guest feels at home.

Thank you again for your kind remarks and we are looking forward to welcoming you again very soon in Crete.

Sincerely yours,
Michael Gasparis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

very nice hotel, good food, lots of pools (mainly private for the residences in the same area) full of russians guest:) Entertainment Staff tried his best but not for me . . . . located very close to Harsoniissos - 10 min. with taxi. 8 Euro

Room Tip: make sure you dont get a room which people smoke cigarrette in. The vila's area is amazing - dep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Galalavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Gasparis, General Manager at Aldemar Knossos Royal, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Our dearest and valuable Guests,

We appreciate your kind comments regarding your recent stay in Aldemar Knossos Royal & Royal Villas 5*. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests.

We would like to thank you for having chosen our hotel to spend your holidays and we are delighted to know that our services have exceeded your expectations and have been the reason for memorable moments.

Your comments are shared with all our personnel and we are convinced that they will be encouraged by your remarks as everybody works very hard to make sure each guest feels at home.

Thank you again for your kind remarks and we are looking forward to welcoming you again very soon in Crete.

Sincerely yours,
Michael Gasparis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My family and I have recently returned from a two week stay at the Knossos Royal, which we booked through First Choice. On arrival we thought we had hit the jackpot because it looks so impressive and inviting, however it quickly went downhill from then on. First Choice describe this as a 'family friendly' hotel, and it is if you have a child over the age of about 3. However we have a 14 month old baby and the number of steps around the hotel were totally inaccessible if you have a pram/pushchair. I asked our rep how someone in a wheelchair would access the restaurant (there are several flights of stairs) and was informed that 'we do not advertise this hotel as wheelchair-friendly'. It beggers belief that a hotel can be unsuitable for wheelchairs yet suitable for prams and pushchairs. The beach is advertised as 'sandy' but is in fact a shingle beach. The 'air conditioning' is non-existant which makes 32 degree heat during the day and 25 degree heat at night unbareably. Our room was filthy upon arrival. My husband had bought new shoes, and within a few minutes of wearing them for the first time in the room the soles were completely black. When using the shower filthy water and foam comes up through the drain. Loud music, we likened it to eurotrash, blared out from the main pool and also into the night on a couple of occasions. The pools are salt water and freezing, much colder than the sea. There is an indoor heated pool but this was out of order for the duration of our trip. The shuttle bus only runs once a day and merely drops one off in the town. There is no shuttle bus back up to the hotel, which is about a 45 minute walk up a steep hill. 95% of guests are from Russia. They are THE rudest people you could ever wish to meet. Food is plentiful but repetitive. We could not differentiate between Greek night or Italian night. First Choice did offer us an alternative hotel....for £1000!! The only positive I can think of were the majority of the staff, especially Maria and Giorgos in the restaurant. As you can probably guess, we wont be visiting again nor using First Choice in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank MumyBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Gasparis, General Manager at Aldemar Knossos Royal, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking time to post your review regarding your staying in Aldemar Knossos Royal & Royal Villas 5*. Your feedback is valuable for us in order to continue the effort towards continuous improvement and excellence in our services.

Even though we respect you opinion, we would like however to answer to your remarks.

Aldemar Knossos Royal & Royal Villas 5* is indeed a family friendly hotel, which is justified by the numerous families that repeat their visits in our hotel several times. Apart from this, and because also we like to talk with facts, there are plenty of facilities and services for children (04-12 years), like Mini club with various activities during the day, upon request baby sitting service, Mini restaurant with special menus for the children (also in all the a la carte restaurants) and of course Mini disco entertainment at night. Regarding the transfer in the area of the hotel, it is true that there are many stairs at the hotel since it is a much expanded area, but if you notice you will realize that there is also alternative access for pushchairs from and towards all the common areas of the hotel. Anyway, we have informed you, since the beginning that we can always offer transfer with our club cars, from and to your room if it was too hard for you to move with the pushchair, as we do very often with all the guests.

These are also the information that we provide in our description and internet site, since we never advertise nursery service.

Regarding, the air condition, it works perfectly fine, giving hot air when is cold and cold air when the weather is hot with individual temperature regulator in the room and an auto-shutdown system to save energy while the doors or windows are open. This is a requirement in Aldemar hotels which follows the eco-friendly “Green Key” regulations.

If the guests notice that something may not work properly our maintenance takes care.

We would also like to state that it is the first comment that we receive this summer that the water in our outdoor pools was cold, since we had a really hot summer with sunny and warm days till today!

Regarding the cleanliness in the rooms and in the general area of the hotel, we can guarantee for the professionalism and the high standards of our house keeping service. We are sorry if an unfortunate incident might have caused you any inconvenience.

There are various buses (local line) during the day, from 9:45 in the morning until 22:00 at night, and the same for the way back. The bus from the hotel, offering free transfer is only once per day.

We really appreciate your kind comments for our personnel, that always receive the best comments and is the main reason for our hotel’s success and high quality service. Our personnel, always available and friendly, show the maximum attention to all the guests and make sure their complete satisfaction to any request, as you have experienced.

We regret the fact that you didn’t enjoy the variety of the gastronomic choices offered in our hotel. Starting with the Main restaurant, where you can enjoy various options of hot and cold appetizers, salads, cooking demonstration and a big variety fruits and deserts. Also the theme nights (Greek, Italian and Japanese) offer a different option on a weekly basis without any extra charge.

There is also the alternative (with pre reservation) of the 3 a la carte restaurants (Fontana-gourmet cuisine, Taverna “Artemis and Beach Bar- Mediterranean restaurant by the seaside).

Besides your skepticism towards our hotel, we would like to thank you for finally choosing to stay in Knossos Royal and therefore we hope to have again the chance to welcome you in Crete and to provide you with excellent services, fact that makes people from all over the world to visit repeatedly Aldemar hotels.

Best Regards,
Michael Gasparis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Its a old and notFrandly hotel.
The stuff is angry.
Meal is not for 5*, maybe 2*
I cant meal at the hotel and
I rent a car and drive to Taverna in Hersonissos.
The room was not very clean.
Towel was old. And used many many times.
Too many peoples from Gasprom

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Andriy_Pavlov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Gasparis, General Manager at Aldemar Knossos Royal, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Dear guest,

First of all we would like to tell you that we take your comments under serious consideration, even though we are sorry that your remarks are totally unjustified by concrete facts.

Aldemar Knossos Royal & Royal Villas 5*, was renovated in 2008, and basic maintenance is done every winter in all the rooms and the common areas of the hotel.

There is a large variety of gastronomic choices, between the 5 different restaurants of the hotel and the various theme nights from Greek, to Italian and Japanese cuisine. The main restaurant offer a great variety of culinary preferences varying between different types of meat (beef, pork, chicken, duck, lamp, rabbit, turkey etc) and fish (swordfish, salmon, sea bass, red mullet anchovies, calamari etc) There is also a separate spaghetti section with 5 different choices of pasta daily, a healthy corner which is actually an alternative for a low calories menu the latter both in breakfast and dinner. All the above are included in the weekly program of our main restaurant (show cooking, a la carte grilled, decoupage etc).
The 3 a la carte restaurants (Fontana Amorosa- gourmet restaurant, Taverna “Artemis” -traditional Greek cuisine and Beach Bar- Mediterranean style restaurant) of the hotel offer you a unique gastronomic experience combined with the highly professional service of our personnel. We are deeply sorry if you didn’t take advantage of the above mentioned choices.

Regarding the cleanliness in the rooms and in the general area of the hotel, the standards are high. Our House Keeping service guarantees the impeccable cleanliness and it goes above and beyond to provide neat and tidy conditions. Our personnel, always available and friendly, show the maximum attention to all the guests and make sure their complete satisfaction to any request.

Aldemar Knossos Royal & Royal Villas 5*, having a conference hall with 900 people occupancy, has the opportunity to host different groups of entrepreneurships that wish to do their business trips in a 5* summer resort, combining business and relax in a luxurious environment.

We are very pleased to have the opportunity to welcome guests from all over the world and provide excellent hospitality services more than 20 years contributing to their memorable holiday experience.

Therefore, we hope to have again the opportunity to welcome you in our Hotel Aldemar Knossos Royal & Royal Villas 5* in order to make reality the unforgettable experiences that each year, makes people from all over the world seeking to return to our hotel.

Best Regards,
Michael Gasparis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I went here in may had a fantastic time hotel is fantastic nothing much near by but there is a shuttle bus and taxi,s are cheap enough food very good staff very helpful and friendly would defiantly go back worth every penny

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elvisfan1753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Gasparis, General Manager at Aldemar Knossos Royal, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Our dearest and valuable Guests,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post these comments from your experience in our hotel Aldemar Knossos Royal & Royal Villas 5*.

Your support gives us the strength to continue our efforts towards guest’s satisfaction as well as the motivation to come up with new creative ideas.
Warm and sunny days are ahead and we look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once again.

Let us offer you additional and exciting experiences in the Aldemar tradition, with authentic hospitality and memorable moments – something we have provided travelers with for more than twenty years.

Sincerely yours,
Michael Gasparis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
0.8 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#7 of 172 in Hersonissos
3,222 reviews
2.6 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#9 of 172 in Hersonissos
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
47.4 mi away
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
#1 of 15 in Adelianos Kampos
2,336 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aldemar Royal Mare Thalasso Resort
0.5 mi away
Mitsis Laguna Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldemar Knossos Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldemar Knossos Royal

Address: Limenas Hersonissou, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Hersonissos
#7 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range: $130 - $428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Aldemar Knossos Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The mythical realm of King Minos, blessed by the gods of the sun and the sea, is today as proud as a fortress and as welcoming as an embrace. It is also home to a sumptuous palace that makes an ideal destination for any family holiday. At the Knossos Royal Village, time moves at a different pace: in elegant and comfortable rooms with incomparable views, in the azure sea and crystal-clear pools, at superb sports facilities and matchless restaurants, the pleasure and relaxation never end. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aldemar Knossos Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldemar Knossos Royal Village Hotel Chersonisos
Aldemar Knossos Royal Village Hersonissos
Knossos Royal Village
Aldemar Knossos Royal Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing