We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice but a few let downs ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Ranked #12 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very nice but a few let downs ...”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

had a lovely two weeks at beginning of june here, but there were a few areas youshould be aware of if you fancy a trip here! the write up says 3 adult only pools, well no there was only 3 pools for general use (unless you have paid for one of the private villa appartments at a huge expense!) so no - the indoor pool was out of order and the other two were full of children! the rooms were nice but the air conditioning not very 'cool' and the fridge (free) not overly cool either! resort nice and clean. staff helpful and frienly in the main. the canteen - sorry resterant was good with big choice of food but HOT phew!! like the other lady says in here review - shame about the rude russians and germans ... we went all inclusive but wouldn't again because we went on 4 day trips so missed nearly all meals. men have to weat long trousers at eve' meal which we felt rather unecessary as it was harly a la carte dining! beach gritty shingle and sand mix so hard on feet but lovely when further in to water. only one bar to go to in eve so not enough variety. the entertainment great for families but not really for couples. had a great hol and would love to go back to crete!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 207shaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Aldemar Knossos Royal, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Our dearest and valuable Guests,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post these comments for your experience in our hotel Aldemar Knossos Royal & Royal Villas 5*.

Your support gives us the strength to continue our efforts towards guest’s satisfaction while at the same time your comments and marks are being taken seriously under consideration, promoting the amelioration of our services.

Warm and sunny days are ahead and we look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once again.

Let us offer you additional and exciting experiences in the Aldemar tradition, with authentic hospitality and memorable moments – something we have provided travelers with for more than twenty years.

Sincerely yours,

Michael Gasparis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,171
    587
    188
    72
    25
See reviews for
865
799
36
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I went to the Royal Knossos on the 26th June for a week with my boyfriend. We have visited Crete before and wanted to go back but this time to a nice hotel with lots of facilities. Normally we have done self-catering in Crete.

Breakfast - Amazing choice and everything quite good quality. Never seen a dining room as big with so much food. Definitely something for everyone. A little bit hectic between 9 & 10a.m but the hotel was full so to be expected.

Reception - Excellent. Staff couldnt be more helpful. Checkin was quick, straight forward and welcoming.

Pool Bar - Nice food although not a great amount of choice and was quite pricey. We only ate there twice for lunch and went into town for the rest of the time. One thing we didnt like is that seats were reserved at lunchtime all along the sunny spot and overlooking the sea. I didnt think was right for a relaxed pool bar and i will discuss later more on the occupants of these reserved seats!

Room - Very nice large spacious room. We even got a pool view without requesting or paying for one. Fridge, slippers and safe all good. The room was very very quiet. No disturbances from neighbours or bars during the evening. Only negative points were that the balcony was very tiny and on arrival the floor in the room itself was so dirty. We had black feet straightaway. The room was made up everyday but just not fully clean.

Beach - Very clean and peaceful. Most people i think went to the pool as whilst we were there the sea was quite choppy. Beds did get 'reserved' but we didnt have any problems at all getting one even at 11/12 ish.

Pool - Didnt use, too busy. Looked great though including the slide!

Downside to the holiday - Russians! Hotel full of them. Wouldnt be a problem if they werent the rudest, arrogant, greedy set of people I have ever met. They were rude to us and we witnessed them being rude to the staff. Didnt spoil our holiday but certainly didnt make it perfect.

Room Tip: The private villas looked v nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KatiesReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Aldemar Knossos Royal, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Our dearest and valuable Guests,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post these comments for your experience in our hotel Aldemar Knossos Royal & Royal Villas 5*.

Your support gives us the strength to continue our efforts towards guest’s satisfaction while at the same time your comments and marks are being taken seriously under consideration, promoting the amelioration of our services.

Warm and sunny days are ahead and we look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once again.

Let us offer you additional and exciting experiences in the Aldemar tradition, with authentic hospitality and memorable moments – something we have provided travelers with for more than twenty years.

Sincerely yours,

Michael Gasparis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We booked our holiday to Crete in late May for our honeymoon, looking for something a bit special so looked for the 5 star rating. Upon arrival we were allocated our bungalow with sea view - sadly, bungalow meaning one storey building, doesnt mean the same in Greek. We were given an upstairs apartment, which you could barely see the sea from, with two single beds pushed together - not ideal for a honeymoon!

We promplty returned to reception and were allocated another room, although still an upstairs apartment, although with a better view and double bed. The rooms are pretty small, and the balconys are tiny! There is a small table and chairs on them but we had to remove the table to allow room for us both to sit outside! Our shower leaked water all over the floor and the fridge overheated so much it didnt keep anything cold. Sadly, the room was pretty disappointing.

But everything else was excellent! The site was incredibly clean and tidy, and the pools, although sea water, are lovely. The food was also pretty good, with a varying selection to choose from, although this does repeat a little (we were there for 10 nights). It was always fresh and plenty to go around. The only downside was breakfast finishing early, 9:30 local time but actually 7:30 English body clock time!

There is a spa on site, although this did seem exepnsive compared to spa treatments in England, so sadly we didnt sample these. I believe it is the spa and the prviate villas which make this resort 5 star, to the rest of us who dont have these things it is really a 4 star.

The beach the hotel is actually on isnt great, although scenic, it is a bit rocky and sea weedy, but there are some really nice ones a 10 min walk away.

The animation team are very friendly, keen to get everyone involved, and their evening shows were really entertaining, even for adults! They work very hard.

The shining stars of the resort are the pool and evening bar staff. Always incredibly friendly, eager to please and hard working. We never saw one of them stop for a minute. They worked really hard to keep a never ending flow of people happy.

Resort a 20-25 minute walk into town, which has everything you might want, nice beaches along the way, good selection of bars and resturants.

In conclusion, really good, dont expect a 5 star room unless you have a villa, but a more than acceptable holiday. Dont forget to specify a double bed!

Room Tip: Get a villa! Not a bungalow which is actually a room in a house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eyesax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Aldemar Knossos Royal, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Our dearest and valuable Guests,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post these comments for your experience in our hotel Aldemar Knossos Royal & Royal Villas 5*.

Your support gives us the strength to continue our efforts towards guest’s satisfaction while at the same time your comments and marks are being taken seriously under consideration, promoting the amelioration of our services.

Warm and sunny days are ahead and we look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once again.

Let us offer you additional and exciting experiences in the Aldemar tradition, with authentic hospitality and memorable moments – something we have provided travelers with for more than twenty years.

Sincerely yours,

Michael Gasparis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heraklion, Greece
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We go to Knossos Royal twice a year (in may & september) and we are always looking forward to going back. This hotel is truly beautiful and quite confortable. The view all around you is absolutely heavenly, you'll never get tired of it. The atmosphere is so relaxed that you forget all your worries.

The managers as well as all the staff are so friendly and helpful that you feel very welcome and secure. Thanks to each of you.

The rooms are nice and clean. The food is varied. In the main restaurant, you have a buffet so big that's impossible not to find what you like. There are also 2 excellent à la carte restaurants where the chefs are very professional.

We could still tell you a lot of good but we have to keep some for next time. So, choose Aldemar Knossos Royal for your next holidays and you 'll experience very exceptional moments. The best is to go there and to see by yourself. Maybe, we will meet you...

And to burn your calories, the animation team will take care of you every days and nights. No time to be bored...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philippe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Aldemar Knossos Royal, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Our dearest and valuable Guests,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post these comments from your experience in our hotel Aldemar Knossos Royal & Royal Villas 5*.

Your support gives us the strength to continue our efforts towards guest’s satisfaction as well as the motivation to come up with new creative ideas.
Warm and sunny days are ahead and we look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once again.

Let us offer you additional and exciting experiences in the Aldemar tradition, with authentic hospitality and memorable moments – something we have provided travelers with for more than twenty years.

Sincerely yours,
Michael Gasparis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Myself and my fiancée have just returned after spending 1 week at the Knossos Royal hotel. It was our first time in Crete, and all I can say is.....wow. The hotel is beautiful, the pools are to die for and the food is great too. The animation team are fantastic, and the shows they put on are great !!!! We are hoping to return in early September for another week. I would highly recommend this hotel for everyone, young or old !!!! There is nothing negative that I can say ..... X

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kim27london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Aldemar Knossos Royal, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Our dearest and valuable Guests,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post these comments from your experience in our hotel Aldemar Knossos Royal & Royal Villas 5*.

Your support gives us the strength to continue our efforts towards guest’s satisfaction as well as the motivation to come up with new creative ideas.
Warm and sunny days are ahead and we look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once again.

Let us offer you additional and exciting experiences in the Aldemar tradition, with authentic hospitality and memorable moments – something we have provided travelers with for more than twenty years.

Sincerely yours,
Michael Gasparis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
2 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Everything was great, we were lucky that we come when it was not much people. The woman on the reception Anna was the best, she helped us in all situations (and she is really beautiful:-)))). Great regards to her and best wishes. During the holiday we did not have any inconvenience, so I can recommend this hotel for the rest with children. The cousine was also great, thanks to the chef Petros. Very pleasant guy, who will always help you to find best dishes)))))). Aldemar Knossos we miss you!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pavel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Aldemar Knossos Royal, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Our dearest and valuable Guests,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post these comments from your experience in our hotel Aldemar Knossos Royal & Royal Villas 5*.

Your support gives us the strength to continue our efforts towards guest’s satisfaction as well as the motivation to come up with new creative ideas.
Warm and sunny days are ahead and we look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once again.

Let us offer you additional and exciting experiences in the Aldemar tradition, with authentic hospitality and memorable moments – something we have provided travelers with for more than twenty years.

Sincerely yours,
Michael Gasparis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We stayed in from 12.05.12 till 22.05.12. The bus from Heraklio brought us to the hotel early in the morning so we have to spend some hours on a convenient sofa's waiting for check in. In one moment we've felt that we want to change our double room to a family just to be more independent in our vocation, but when we realized that these double rooms were very cosy and satisfied all our requirements any doubts disappeared!
Every servings of meal were very organized and aroused very positive feelings with the help of our devoted friend Giorgos Michalakis Maitre M. Restaurant, which supports us by saying some encouraging words after every meals. Special thanks to hostess Alexandra, we are still under influence of her charming smile). Giorgos Michalakis and his team made a great impression by his perfect hospitality and attention that they payed to us.
Variety of meat, garnish, cakes and drinks was very rich! It is a good idea to arrange dinner on the ground floor in a snack bar near the main pool. You can easily have something to eat and then immediately return to your place under the sun!

Main Bar
All waiters and a bar men Adonis, Paola, Theonimphi, Katherina, Masha in main bar were doing their best, it was really nice to see the way they are working. They all became our friends!

Beach Bar
Tasia!!! We remember your unbelievable cocktails))

Animation team
George, Frank, Papis, Santa, Victoria, Dominika and lifeguard Vasilis were those who made a fantastic atmosphere inside our lovely place! Volleyball, cocktail show, karaoke, disco were laid on their shoulders and they cary it out very easy.

Reception and guest relations
All of them were very talkative and polite, we were surrounded by their attention especially unforgettable girls from guest relation Kelly and Alla!

Car rent "HERTZ"
Margarita! This beautiful lady was our main guide! She gave us many useful advices about places that we visited! As it turned out she was the only russian speaker in her company, further more she has a beautiful soul, we spoke about life, politics, love... It was amazing))

This vocation time would be settled in our mind and soul for ages! These memories would be always kept in our mind! We got acquainted with many interesting and wonderful persons. It won't happen again i mean people who were there, events that happened, it will never come together as one! It is good and sad at the same time. But any way we hug and kiss all those wonderful people who surround us during our trip.

We will recommend this hotel to our friends and relatives as nice, cosy and place with a fantastic atmosphere where it is a great pleasure to stay in!

Pavel Gorokhov & George Kotua
www.kotua.ru



p.s.
Video in Hotel )))
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q1AsJTsL7tE
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2Ioelo3QI5Y
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fpRQCJissd4

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeKotua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Aldemar Knossos Royal, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Our dearest and valuable Guests,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post these comments from your experience in our hotel Aldemar Knossos Royal & Royal Villas 5*.

Your support gives us the strength to continue our efforts towards guest’s satisfaction as well as the motivation to come up with new creative ideas.
Warm and sunny days are ahead and we look forward to welcoming you to our hotel once again.

Let us offer you additional and exciting experiences in the Aldemar tradition, with authentic hospitality and memorable moments – something we have provided travelers with for more than twenty years.

Sincerely yours,
Michael Gasparis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
0.8 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,751 reviews
2.6 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#7 of 171 in Hersonissos
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Annabelle Beach Resort
Annabelle Beach Resort
#28 of 171 in Hersonissos
929 reviews
47.4 mi away
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Adelianos Kampos
2,045 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aldemar Royal Mare Thalasso Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldemar Knossos Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldemar Knossos Royal

Property: Aldemar Knossos Royal
Address: Limenas Hersonissou, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Hersonissos
#6 Spa Hotel in Hersonissos
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#8 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Aldemar Knossos Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The mythical realm of King Minos, blessed by the gods of the sun and the sea, is today as proud as a fortress and as welcoming as an embrace. It is also home to a sumptuous palace that makes an ideal destination for any family holiday. At the Knossos Royal Village, time moves at a different pace: in elegant and comfortable rooms with incomparable views, in the azure sea and crystal-clear pools, at superb sports facilities and matchless restaurants, the pleasure and relaxation never end. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Bookgreece.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aldemar Knossos Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldemar Knossos Royal Village Hotel Chersonisos
Aldemar Knossos Royal Village Hersonissos
Knossos Royal Village
Aldemar Knossos Royal Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing