We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll be back... but in a superior room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kosta Mare Palace Hotel
Ranked #49 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2010

This hotel is not big, than it is good... The stuff is friendly... Most guests are Germans but there are other nationalities.
Rooms: well if you take the standard rooms you will get a nice room but with horrible bath (dated 30 years old) and very old air conditioner that does not keep cold if the temperature outside is hot, so I kindly suggest to book a superior room.
The food is very nice... the nicest food I found in hotels.. I talk about the quality and variety... if you stay one week in hotel you need to change taste of food and find something to eat. well, I like the fact that the food is different everyday (of course vegetables are always available) and very nice cakes. On Tue and Thu they organize a special event (i.e. Chinese, Greek, Italian... food) and one time per week you can book the "à la carte restaurant" where you can see the sunset and be served on the table, nice and romantic.
The bar does not offer many drinks and the juices are terrible! but you can drink international spirits with all inclusive.
The beach is nice and quite big, but the water is not so deep and there are stones in the water, so better to have swimming shoes, to go far. But if you walk a bit on the left you will find deeper waters. In any case I saw other hotels near there, with really horrible beach to swim.
The animation team does not have a lot of resources, but they do all the best and organize very nice and funny shows in the evening. go an see!!! :)
Miniclub, well if you have small children and would like to bring to mini disco or to the club during the day, well, do not be confident on it. The girls that take care of it are not so child oriented, and they do not really involve the children. (tip: go to another hotel for the minidisco :)

one more thing, there is a tourist train that pass near the hotel (between the beach and the hotel there is a little street where drivers do not respect the speed limit at all, be careful). the train bring tourists around for 10 EUR for 1,5 hours. (or 1/2 day for EUR...?)
Well, do not take it... it is just the way to fu.k your money. the only thing nice that they show are the beaches that you can see just walking. In 1,5 hour (20 minutes beaches and all the rest horrible dirty streets in the countryside, with garbage and abandoned cars) so I recommend to avoid to be fuc..d :)

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Misterfaice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
There are newer reviews for Kosta Mare Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 211 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2009

I liked this hotel ever since I saw the photos on Expedia.com, the hotel seemed great! But I was surprised when I arrived there, check-in was easy and not many problems, except our rooms were not sea view so, as there weren't any free rooms, we got a ground floor suite.

The hotel was mainly calm and the pools were never too busy. There was an indoor pool with a gym inside from it. Jacuzzi was great.

Food: YUUMM, Greek salads, a decent variety of food, night entertainment was great and didn't disturb us if we were too tired and had to sleep early.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flyout101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2008

Really nice hotel! Recommended to everyone! Delicious food, good service.

The only weakness was the beach - very close (across the small street) but pebbly.

The entire hotel (incl. the pools) is very clean and well maintained.

Because of its animation programmes, the hotel is great for the families with children.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank b00w00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2007

This is a clean smart hotel. the gym is small but adequate. it is right onthe beach so for children its fine if they like swimming and playing around. The childrens entertainment was good at night - in amphitheatre on complex. I would say that there is not much to do if you like walking to places but if you hire a car its close to waterparks etc. we never took our children but thought it an excellent place for value and weather and water sports so will take them next year. Not many english but thats ok with us! food was good and lots f it - very greek but that was ok, and you could help yourself to beer in the lunchtime restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank adibum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2006

Stayed Aug 06 for 1 week - Kosta Mare is a relatively new hotel - very high standard, rooms excellent (& air con'd). All inclusive package was superb value, range/quality of food was exceptional, staff very friendly & professional. 2 main pools plus toddler section, plenty of sunbeds, childrens club with resident 'Animation' team (who were tireless) - including running nightly 'shows' in the purpose built outdoor amphitheatre. Private beach - superb. Quiet location with a supermarker/gift outlet nearby. Holidaymakers during our stay were mainly German (who in my experience appreciate high standards of service et al) Hotel is some 20 mins taxi ride from Heraklion airport - fare approx 30 euros. Highly recommend - we will definitely return!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank milton4440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank purdy123Courgenay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Liloutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
0.1 mi away
Anissa Beach Hotel
Anissa Beach Hotel
#36 of 171 in Hersonissos
261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#9 of 171 in Hersonissos
749 reviews
0.9 mi away
Insula Alba Resort & Spa (Adults Only)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bella Beach Hotel
Bella Beach Hotel
#4 of 7 in Anissaras
1,048 reviews
0.4 mi away
Serita Beach Hotel
Serita Beach Hotel
#3 of 7 in Anissaras
1,514 reviews
0.2 mi away
SunConnect Zorbas Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kosta Mare Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kosta Mare Palace Hotel

Address: Anissaras, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
#36 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#40 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range: $207 - $451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kosta Mare Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Kosta Mare Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kosta Mare Palace Hersonissos
Hotel Kosta Mare Palace
Kosta Mare Palace Hotel Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing