We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kosta Mare Palace Hotel
Ranked #45 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

First of all, I would like to say, that I've loved this hotel, my holydays were magnificent! But, in order to be objective, I'll write some pros and cons.
Pros:
1. The hotel itself is very beautiful - white buildings with blue windows and doors, wall-paintings at the reception, very modern building of the main restaurant, etc. It is the most beautiful greek hotel I've ever seen (and I've seen a lot!).
2. Good quality of the food, at every meal there were something, that I like. The themed dinners were super-delicious, as well as a-la-carte restaurant (one time for free, exept drinks).
3. Good choice of all-inclusive drinks - espresso, cappuchino, wine, beer, wisky, vodka, rum, martini, irish cream, different coctails, etc.
4. Situated just on the nice sandy beach - and free sunbeds and umbrellas - and plenty of them.
5. There is a very nice SPA in the hotel and a gym.

Cons:
1. If you search a hotel near the sea to swim in it - unfortunately that's not that hotel... In front of the hotel there are a lot of rocks. There is good entering in front of nearby hotel (1 min walking along the sea) - but (this year?) there was a very strong stream - so there is only one possibility - to swim near the cost, wich is not very attractive for good swimmers.
2. There is no city around the hotel in the walking distance - only hotels, several rent-a-cars and small supermarkets. But you can catch a taxi to go to Hersonissos (8 euro), or a bus going several times per day from the nearby hotel (1.60 euro).
3. A little bit less of choice of food in the restaurant, if you compare, for example, with Grecotels.

But in spite of everything - I loved this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    80
    16
    1
    2
See reviews for
58
106
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
gent
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Staying 10 days in the hotel - not superb luxucy - but you have all what you need. Friendly people, nice food en drinks (no local drinks), clean pool, sunny... Amination could be better, a bit more varity off meals after 10 days also. A place to return, yes.

Room Tip: there are rooms with no really views... looking at a fishpool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geertGent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We were looking for a package deal vacation for 1 week and found a good offer for Kosta Mare Palace. It was sold to us as a 5 start hotel. However, when arriving there, it was indicated it was a 4 star hotel.
We arrived there at 10.30pm, and we were asked to go immediatly to the restaurant as they kept it open for us. So that was a very nice gesture, much appreciated. After dining we received the keys to our room. The bell boy helped us and was very nice. Based on the reviews we booked a superior room with seaview. When opening the curtains we saw a building.... but going out on our terrace on the left handside we could see a little bit of the sea, however this is not what we paid for. At the reception they told us that according to them this was seaview, and they could not give us another room. We had to wait for 3 days, to get a room with proper seaview. Our first room (704) had really hard beds and bad pillows, luckily our other room (748) had much better beds and better pillows.
The great thing about this hotel is the restaurant. Staff is friendly, food is very good, and varies a lot. You can eat almost all the time. Both bars are also good, with ok cocktails. We also had diner once in the a la carte restaurant, it was nice to be served.
When we arrrived at the hotel we got one bottle of water in the room, however if we wanted an additional bottle, we had to pay for it, which seems unlogical in an all-in hotel, where you can drink alcohol as much as you want.
What I liked in particular to the hotel was the fact that there were two swimmingpools, one with animation, one without. So it was possible to lay quitly at the swimmingpool without music or kids screaming.
The rooms were a bit old and very basic, so was the bathroom. But everything was clean.
Staff at the reception were ok, not superfriendly, not rude either.
The hotel itself is quiet and not so big, which is good, but it does not offer the 4 star service you would expect.
If you look at the other hotels on the coastline in Anissaras I believe there are better options than the Kosta Mare Palace.

Room Tip: if you book a superior room with seaview, as for one looking over the pool or room 748
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keppebolletje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

This hotel is not big, than it is good... The stuff is friendly... Most guests are Germans but there are other nationalities.
Rooms: well if you take the standard rooms you will get a nice room but with horrible bath (dated 30 years old) and very old air conditioner that does not keep cold if the temperature outside is hot, so I kindly suggest to book a superior room.
The food is very nice... the nicest food I found in hotels.. I talk about the quality and variety... if you stay one week in hotel you need to change taste of food and find something to eat. well, I like the fact that the food is different everyday (of course vegetables are always available) and very nice cakes. On Tue and Thu they organize a special event (i.e. Chinese, Greek, Italian... food) and one time per week you can book the "à la carte restaurant" where you can see the sunset and be served on the table, nice and romantic.
The bar does not offer many drinks and the juices are terrible! but you can drink international spirits with all inclusive.
The beach is nice and quite big, but the water is not so deep and there are stones in the water, so better to have swimming shoes, to go far. But if you walk a bit on the left you will find deeper waters. In any case I saw other hotels near there, with really horrible beach to swim.
The animation team does not have a lot of resources, but they do all the best and organize very nice and funny shows in the evening. go an see!!! :)
Miniclub, well if you have small children and would like to bring to mini disco or to the club during the day, well, do not be confident on it. The girls that take care of it are not so child oriented, and they do not really involve the children. (tip: go to another hotel for the minidisco :)

one more thing, there is a tourist train that pass near the hotel (between the beach and the hotel there is a little street where drivers do not respect the speed limit at all, be careful). the train bring tourists around for 10 EUR for 1,5 hours. (or 1/2 day for EUR...?)
Well, do not take it... it is just the way to fu.k your money. the only thing nice that they show are the beaches that you can see just walking. In 1,5 hour (20 minutes beaches and all the rest horrible dirty streets in the countryside, with garbage and abandoned cars) so I recommend to avoid to be fuc..d :)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Misterfaice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2009

I liked this hotel ever since I saw the photos on Expedia.com, the hotel seemed great! But I was surprised when I arrived there, check-in was easy and not many problems, except our rooms were not sea view so, as there weren't any free rooms, we got a ground floor suite.

The hotel was mainly calm and the pools were never too busy. There was an indoor pool with a gym inside from it. Jacuzzi was great.

Food: YUUMM, Greek salads, a decent variety of food, night entertainment was great and didn't disturb us if we were too tired and had to sleep early.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyout101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2008

Really nice hotel! Recommended to everyone! Delicious food, good service.

The only weakness was the beach - very close (across the small street) but pebbly.

The entire hotel (incl. the pools) is very clean and well maintained.

Because of its animation programmes, the hotel is great for the families with children.

  • Liked — Delicious food, swimming pools
  • Disliked — Pebbly beach
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank b00w00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south england- Tunbridge Wells
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2007

This is a clean smart hotel. the gym is small but adequate. it is right onthe beach so for children its fine if they like swimming and playing around. The childrens entertainment was good at night - in amphitheatre on complex. I would say that there is not much to do if you like walking to places but if you hire a car its close to waterparks etc. we never took our children but thought it an excellent place for value and weather and water sports so will take them next year. Not many english but thats ok with us! food was good and lots f it - very greek but that was ok, and you could help yourself to beer in the lunchtime restaurant.

  • Liked — Clean and easy to reach, not busy at all
  • Disliked — Lack of things to do outside hotel
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank adibum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
0.1 mi away
Anissa Beach Hotel
Anissa Beach Hotel
#41 of 171 in Hersonissos
227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Beach Hotel
Bella Beach Hotel
#4 of 7 in Anissaras
973 reviews
0.9 mi away
Insula Alba Resort & Spa (Adults Only)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#9 of 171 in Hersonissos
666 reviews
0.7 mi away
Venus Mare Apartments
Venus Mare Apartments
#6 of 13 in Analipsi
87 reviews
0.4 mi away
Serita Beach Hotel
Serita Beach Hotel
#2 of 7 in Anissaras
1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kosta Mare Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kosta Mare Palace Hotel

Property: Kosta Mare Palace Hotel
Address: Anissaras, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
#35 Luxury Hotel in Hersonissos
#40 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kosta Mare Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kosta Mare Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kosta Mare Palace Hersonissos
Hotel Kosta Mare Palace
Kosta Mare Palace Hotel Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing