We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“another great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Papadakis Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Papadakis Villas
Ranked #27 of 178 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“another great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Another great stay at papadakis villas. It may be basic but the hospitality and friendliness are 5 star, Costas and Maria are great hosts but beware of Stavros and the Raki! We originally stayed in room 14 which has 4 single beds in two rooms, open plan with kitchen and doors out onto veranda with small table and bench. We them moved into room 11 which is one that Costas and Maria are doing up, great bathroom and promising a good future for the apartments.
The villa is ideally situated between Hersonisson beachfront and the mountain villages of Piskopiano, Koutouloufari and Hersonnissos behind. There are plenty of shops and restaurants in the villages and along the beachfront. The pool is small and cold but very good to dip into in the heat. Overall would recommend it and intend to go again next year.

Room Tip: Room 11 is good but behind the bar so can be noisy, room 15 best room with good views and next to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    45
    12
    7
    11
See reviews for
69
202
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basildon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is my fourth time to papadakis villas and I must say that Kostas and Maria are unbelievable! They cannot do enough to help you out, be it hiring cars to telling you the best restaurants and the best places to go in Crete. The fat frog bar is a great place to go, and Stavros behind the bar could not be more welcoming. Never thought I would go back to the same please twice, but I think I have found a very special place. Love it!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donna a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

The facts are my friend and I arrived at approximately 03.30 am with two other ladies and there was already another couple there who fortunately had found a way into the pool area of Papadakis villas.
There was no member of staff to meet us and the six of us tried 25 times to ring the emergency number pinned to the door of the bar to no avail. The cleaner arrived at just after 8.30am she didn't seem surprised to see us waiting. Maria the owner turned up at just after 9.am and her first words were "whats happened guys? (obviously we didn't know), Maria said we would have to take it up with her partner Kostos. We eventually saw Kostos later that day who looked embarassed and said he had had a late night in the bar and had left, he had missed the 25 calls to his mobile. I have looked at earlier reviews and found that this has happened before but that other guests were more fortunate than us and their telephone calls were answered and they had managed to get in.


The facts are Papadakis Villas is in a pretty and colourful setting. The Villas are tired and in need of refurbishment.
The pool and sunbeds are in a prime position to catch the sun but the pool is deep 2.7 metres with no shallow end . The complex is set half way up a hill and there is no transport. Other reviews have said it is roughly a ten minute walk down to Heronisoss or up to the Villages. However I think the length of time will depend on your age and fitness level.
Food is simple fresh & well cooked and during the time of my stay was served up until late afternoon.
There is a lot of typeography dotted around the Papadakis Villas but the one that held the most significance for me is the one that stated "Silence is sometimes the most loudest scream"

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lousnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carnoustie
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

not much to be said of the papadakis that's not already been said, it is very friendly and the host are very nice, the pool is very small more of a splash pool than a swimming pool and there's not much room around it but always got a sunbed, the bar is very friendly and had some good nights in there especially the barbeque night, which is put on free of cost with plenty of food for everyone, which is a very nice touch, the rooms are basic and if your the fussy type looking for the lap of luxury don't come here but if you use your room for sleeping, washing and getting ready to go out its all you need, we had a one bedroom and it was quite large though others we seen were quite small, there was no balcony but you sat in a small square with your neighbours, different but nice, as everyone has mentioned Kostas and Maria , who are very nice, will have to put in a mention for Stavros who just started as barman the week we were there, great guy, and a fountain of knowledge on the making of raki .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patandal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Just got back from the Papadakis having holidayed there with my partner Alison and met up with old friends Ben, Gordon, Jackie and Gary. We holidayed there last year and found the Papadakis to be fantastic especially the hosts Kostas and Maria. We booked the holiday on facebook having kept in touch with Kostas after last years holiday. No trouble and saved money as well. When we got there the free bar b que was in full sway but Kostas and Maria came out to welcome us back like old friends. I have never had a welcome from anyone as good as that when I have arrived on my hols before. As soon as we got in the fat frog we were greeted with complimentary drinks including large and regular raki's. Ture to his word Kostas has saved us some food so we didnt go hungry. First night ended at 03:30 which set the tone for the rest of the hols. I have to say this is the best place I have ever stayed at not as luxurious as some places but the rooms are nice, clean and spacous and you will never get better value for money anywhere else. It says everything about the Papadakis that everyone has already been there before and keeps returning time after time. But the real reason that people keep coming back is the atmosphere created by the best hosts you will ever find in Kostas and Maria where you are treated like a friend rather than a paying guest. If you have a problem and tell Kostas it is sorted no problem. I have read the negative reports and find that they bear no resemblance to the Papadakis. If you are a bit of a miserable sod who does not want to meet people and stay at a friendly run place that puts people first then dont come here go somewhere else to be miserable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gez L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Well, that's our holidays over once again, and we've just come back from Papadakis Villas where we stated for 10 days. This was our 4th time at Papadakis Villas, and this time round we met up with couples we met last year.

It is difficult to know what to say that hadn't been said already by genuine tripadviser posters. PV does exactly what it says on the tin, and one gets far more than what you pay for!

The rooms suit what you need them to do, sleep in and get ready in. They are clean and, if you wanted, you can cook a simple meal from a pot. The pool is deep, but given its size this isn't a problem. If you don't like a deep pool, you can head down to the Palm Beach resort down in the town and use the pool and sunbeds there.

The bar offers breakfast and lunch options, all freshly prepared and made whilst you wait, and all tasty. The bar is clean and the hub of social activity, be that a snack and break from the sun, pre dinner drinks, or post dinner drinks and Raki/Ouso. It is also the place for the BBQ night, which is an absolute must! A great way to meet other guests and have a laugh, and a wee dance too!!

PV is well placed to offer you the option of going up the hill to the small traditional villages that offer some of the best places to eat locally. There are sound to avoid but each to their own taste. Or you can head down the hill to the main drag for the Spar and a plethora of bars and shops and eateries, again depending on your pallet. But if in doubt ask Kostos and Maria for a suggestion... Just make sure he tells you the correct name, although the directions are usually spot on!

Having read previous comments on tripadviser, and having stayed here 4 times already, it is important that you are realistic about your expectations when booking PV. Yes the price is great if you don't want to spend too much on your accommodation, so don't go expecting an all inclusive resort, or a new building in the style of every other impersonal hotel on the island. You will not be satisfied if you expect this for what you are paying.

What you can expect, and what sets PV apart from so many other places is the atmosphere and hospitality that you will receive. If you have a problem, tell them about it, Kostos and Maria will try to remedie it for you, if they can. By coming to PV you are investing in a traditional, family run hotel and you are supporting the real local economy by eating at the restaurants and bars, aswell as the shops. By staying at PV you will experience a welcome and real sense of interest in you as a new comer to the PV community. It is difficult to explain but it you go with an open mind, you will connect with Kostos and Maria and you will have a great time.

Look at the negative comments but don't pay too much attention to any of them. Look at the positive comments and pick out the recurring themes. Any holiday is what you make it. Be realistic in your expectations and you will be going back again! We are!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Benji28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed at Papadakis Villas from 10th - 17th September and what a fabulous time we had. We felt so welcome right from the moment we arrived. The owners, Kostas and Maria, couldn't do enough for us - always there to answer questions and sort out problems (if there had been any). The room was basic but clean. There were a few quirks - such as the bathroom turning into a paddling pool when you had a shower but these quirks could be easily overlooked in the grand scheme of how fabulous this holiday was. I would book a room with a balcony next time as you do get more privacy in those rooms.

Billy, behind the bar in the evening, always made sure people had full glasses (whether you wanted it or not), the Raki was free flowing. In fact, it required a lot of determination to go to bed sober.

The location was fab - 10mins walk down the hill to Hersonissos (lively nightlife, Spar etc), or 10mins walk up the hill to the villages Piskapiano and Koutouloufari where the food was absolutely amazing.

I think it speaks volumes that so many people have written reviews after their repeat visits to Papadakis Villas. We will certainly be going back.

Hope to see you soon
Abi & David

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scabigail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
0.4 mi away
Bellos Hotel Apartments
Bellos Hotel Apartments
#22 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Thalia
Hotel Thalia
#45 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arlen Beach Hotel
Arlen Beach Hotel
#46 of 178 in Hersonissos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Villa Iokasti
Villa Iokasti
#7 of 14 in Koutouloufari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.4 mi away
Petra Beach Hotel and Apartments
Petra Beach Hotel and Apartments
#47 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunrise Apartments
Sunrise Apartments
#3 of 14 in Koutouloufari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papadakis Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papadakis Villas

Property: Papadakis Villas
Address: 1 Aristotelous Str., Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
#14 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Papadakis Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halfway between the center of hersonisos, famous for the busy nightlife, and the traditional village of Koutouloufari is our property. It is placed in an ideal location that gives access to both directions and meanwhile it's peaceful with nice views to the mountain and the beach.The small amount of rooms(17 rooms) along with our commitment to our guest's pleasure makes this place ideal for people who like to meet people on their holidays and have the feeling of living in a small Greek community.Our pool area is set next to a pool bar that provides cold drinks and homemade food based on our local culture, using Cretan products and vegetables from our own garden. The hotel was built 28 years ago and it's been passed from the parents to the children to continue the traditional family business.Almost every week we cook complimentary food for our guests to join and share our Greek philosophy.All ages are welcome but our statistics say that couples often prefer staying with us ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Papadakis Villas Hotel Chersonisos
Papadakis Hotel Hersonissos
Papadakis Villas Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing