We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yet again another perfect stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Papadakis Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Papadakis Villas
Ranked #27 of 178 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Yet again another perfect stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We have just returned from another brilliant stay at Papadakis Villas, we were greeted in the early hours by Kostas and Maria and of course a bottle of Raki. All the staff were fantastic and our room was clean and tidy, we had regular clean towels. The apartment we had was fab and had lovely views of the mountains, it was extremely quiet and we were never disturbed, the rooms upstairs are a sun trap and it is nice to sit and have a nice cold drink before u get ready to go out. The rooms are very basic but traditional always remind me a bit of mamma Mia. BBQ night is a brilliant night especially when the life guard comes out ha ha. There were a fantastic group of people this year and hope to see many of them again next year, I have already booked to return next year. It was brilliant to see some friends that we met on holiday last year and had yet another brilliant stay.
See u all next year .

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs are a sun trap
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kylie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    45
    12
    7
    11
See reviews for
69
202
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
swindon,england
Level Contributor
179 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We have just returned from our 3rd stay at Papadakis and our 4th visit will not come soon enough.
As a couple who have enjoyed many holiday's in the Greek Islands we have always thought we have to try a different island or resort on each occasion,that was untill we first ventured here and met Kostas and Maria and the team and the welcoming laid back atmosphere that is the essence of the Papadakis Villas.
Some people seem to want to pay a minimal price and then are surprised apparently when it's not luxury with all the trimmings,"wake up",for what you pay here per night you would not get a night in a students hostel back home.
During our stay here this year there were over 20 guests who were returning for more of the same and I was informed that there are well over 200 guests that return on a regular basis every year which i do not doubt at all.
For a small friendly place you HONESTLY will not find better,overlook the few quirks and you will have an excellent time here as numerous reviews testify too,and overlook the few completely over the top negative ones they do not know how to relax and enjoy themselves.
Until next year,Garry and Jackie.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scaffolder1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Just back from our 3rd visit to Papadakis and what can I say that's not been said already!! Kostas and Maria work very hard to create a friendly and relaxing atmosphere and they (along with Billy and Ioanna) succeed spectacularly. You are welcomed from day 1 as a friend (whether you have been there before or not) and nothing is too much trouble. It's a brilliant place to chill out and a great base if you want to travel further afield.

To be a useful review to people who haven't been there before, as Trip Advisor is not a pat on the back club or a slag a place off club, as some seem to use it for, the above is my emotional experience of the place below is (I hope) a practical review.

1. If you are after 5* luxury you won't get it (but at that price you knew you wouldn't)
2. If you have walking difficulties this is not the place for you (unless you are willing to pay 5 euros for a taxi up or down the hill), but well worth it in my opinion
3. If you love good food walk up the hill, if you want night life or more English food walk down the hill, therefore you get the best of both worlds (approx. 10 mins walk each way)
4. Breakfast and lunch menu available - all the food we had was excellent
5. Kostas and Maria have an eco-friendly philosophy so if you want bleach and Dettol everywhere you are not going to get it but everywhere is acceptably clean
6. If you have a problem (and not everything is always perfect, but where is?) JUST ASK AND IT WILL BE SORTED
7. JUST GO THERE AND ENJOY

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GillRichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed at Papadakis Villas 27th Aug. - 10th Sept. for the second year running and got a great welcome from our hosts Kostas and Maria. The apartments are clean, comfortable, basic and are traditional. The cleaner is really friendly and she works hard to maintain good standards. Nothing is a problem and the free weekly barbecue is a must as you get to know everyone. Loads of free rakki from Billy and lasting friendships are made. Looking forward to booking again with good friends that we met on our first visit and enjoyed their company on our second visit . Really good atmosphere. Location is great as halfway between nightlife of herronissis and the traditional villages.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kazb1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at Papadakis Villas from August 22nd until Sept 5th and I can safely say we had one of our best holidays ever. As has previously been mentioned it is an older property and is basic but clean and tidy. Kostas and Maria are working very hard to make enhancements year on year and Maria is adding real touches of character with her own artistic flair. It is the 3rd time we have stayed here (and certainly won’t be our last) and we have seen changes and improvements on every visit.
Kostas & Maria are such wonderful hosts and nothing is too much trouble for them. Everybody there works very hard to make sure that the guests are relaxed and have everything that they need as well as creating an almost ‘family’ atmosphere. The weekly free barbecue night is a must as it helps guests get to know each other unlike other places we have stayed when nobody talks to each other and this year there was a great bunch of people.
We consider Kostas, Maria, friends & family as friends which is mainly due to their efforts in creating a friendly & helpful environment within their Villas.
Also thanks to the rest of the crew for looking after us also.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefanos07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

just returned from papadakis villas apartments are basic but large cleaning was excellent and the cleaning lady worked hard to ensure that standards were kept high, maria and kostas were great hosts and we would not hesitate to return and in fact are looking at coming back again next year. a lovely holiday experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barbaracarly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

This was our 2nd visit to Papadakis and we were again not disappointed. The apartments are basic and quirky but are extremely clean and are just what you need after a long day. Kostas and Maria and all their staff are the nicest people going and will do anything to help you enjoy your holiday, from giving a light bulb to calling taxis and even giving out the RAKI. I would recommend these apartments to anyone and we have already booked for next year before leaving and we cannot wait. Thank Maria and Kostas and my frog is very happy in my bathroom lol

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debsgaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
0.4 mi away
Bellos Hotel Apartments
Bellos Hotel Apartments
#22 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Thalia
Hotel Thalia
#45 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arlen Beach Hotel
Arlen Beach Hotel
#48 of 178 in Hersonissos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Villa Iokasti
Villa Iokasti
#7 of 14 in Koutouloufari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.4 mi away
Petra Beach Hotel and Apartments
Petra Beach Hotel and Apartments
#50 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunrise Apartments
Sunrise Apartments
#4 of 14 in Koutouloufari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papadakis Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papadakis Villas

Property: Papadakis Villas
Address: 1 Aristotelous Str., Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
#14 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Papadakis Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halfway between the center of hersonisos, famous for the busy nightlife, and the traditional village of Koutouloufari is our property. It is placed in an ideal location that gives access to both directions and meanwhile it's peaceful with nice views to the mountain and the beach.The small amount of rooms(17 rooms) along with our commitment to our guest's pleasure makes this place ideal for people who like to meet people on their holidays and have the feeling of living in a small Greek community.Our pool area is set next to a pool bar that provides cold drinks and homemade food based on our local culture, using Cretan products and vegetables from our own garden. The hotel was built 28 years ago and it's been passed from the parents to the children to continue the traditional family business.Almost every week we cook complimentary food for our guests to join and share our Greek philosophy.All ages are welcome but our statistics say that couples often prefer staying with us ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Papadakis Villas Hotel Chersonisos
Papadakis Hotel Hersonissos
Papadakis Villas Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing