We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome trip”
Review of Papadakis Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Papadakis Villas
Ranked #28 of 171 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome trip”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This was the first time me and my mate had stayed at the papadakis villas saw and read reviews before I came on the trip did not find one negative view and having stayed at the papadakis I can see why. Maria and Kostas treat all the guests like family upon arrival you are given a free drink off your choice in the bar. The hotel felt very family orientated and it felt like many of the guests were already like family, the food that is provided is of the best quality and I would reccommend anyone travelling to Hersonnissos to stay at the Papadakis. Herssonissos town is a short 10 minute walk from the hotel the lovely villages of koutoulofari and Piskopiano are also well within walking distance. If you choose to go to Malia their is a bus in Hersonissos that only charges 1 euro 60 per person don't get taxis unless you agree a price before you get in. Would definitley stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Oliver f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    45
    12
    7
    11
See reviews for
69
205
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We have been coming to Papadakis villas for the past 5 years at least 2 or maybe 3 times a year. The welcome is always fantastic, the rooms are basic but very clean. If there is a problem, which happens very rarely, when mentioned it is dealt with quickly. The haloumie salad is amazing, so worth a try. Maria and Kostas are great hosts and work hard every year to improve the apartments and their offerings.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at the Papadakis Apartments last two weeks of June 2013. The apartments are a small complex and therefore great for getting to know other people. The location is good in that you walk down the hill for 5 - 10 mins to Hersonissos, or up the hill for 5 - 10 mins to the old villages. Personally I didn't like Hersonissos it was a bit 'Blackpool-ey' and the food wasn't great down there, but the old villages up the hill are fantastic. There are lots of restaurants to choose from I particularly recommend David Vegera's - unbelivable value for money. The apartments themselves - we had a 1 bed apartment which was perfectly suitable for our needs, it is basic as we knew when we booked but for the price we paid had no complaints, aside from the towels need changing more often - the cleaner comes in every other day to empty bins (in greece you put toilet paper in the bins not down the toilet) but only changed the towels about every 4 days or so. You will need air conditioning in summer it is 7euros per day so ensure you budget for this. The apartments are half way up a hill, and I would recommend avoid walking up it when possible during the heat of the day - it's fine once the sun is setting/cooled down a bit. The beach at Hersonissos isn't great, small and pebbley - we got a taxi from Hersonissos to Stalis beach which was 10 euros each way and the beach there is fantastic - it costs 4 euros for 2 sunbeds/parasol (Hersonissos is 6 euros). We also did Spinalonga trip, Pirate boat trip and the waterpark, if anyone wants any advice/prices etc. please message me. As mentioned these apartments are suited to you if you are sociable and we loved coming back from a meal up the street to the apartments to have a couple of drinks in the Fat Frog Bar and all the people we met were really friendly. Maria and Kostas are really nice as well. You have to try Kostas's Strawberry Daiquiri cocktail - the best I've ever tasted! Crete is a great country and I highly recommend visiting it

Room Tip: We stayed room 27 first floor which was lovely, big enough and nice view to sit out and have a drink...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sparkle5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Positive :
1 -locations is spot on; its situation in between the villages on the slope of the mountain (this is where all the better restaurants are) and to the bottom of the slope is the busy busting shopping, tourist town. So you got the best of both worlds without having to walks too far.
2 – Very laid back & Friendly atmosphere (as everything’s is compact, you get to know your neighbors very quickly!)
3 – Owners are helpful & friendly. They organize a wonderful BBQ evening once a week (meats roasted in the outside brick oven for 3.5 hours)

Negative :
1 - The main concern is the lack of privacy, there are 14 villas in the small complex and you can see all the neighbors (forget the idea of raise up to an early sunshine with your birthday suit!) Ground floor does not have their own balcony, shared patio areas & walkways.
2 – It is very compact, everything’s is small, Pool is tiny and deep (5 backstrokes and you swam the whole length of pool).
3 – shower room suit is shockingly tiny, shower rails is just about hanging on the wall and doesn't prevent water running onto the tile floor. Slippery floors made it lethal and we had to use a towel as a mat (you only get a replacement towel every 3 days)
4 – No drink Bar prices board (sprite drinks – all seem to be 5 Euro!) and for breakfast, we found it quicker to go elsewhere (but they all are late raiser, so don’t expect a breakfast before 9 am!)
5 - Our Room 31 is too close to the bar & to the pool (luckily we are partially deaf), and a very noisy fridge. (Yeap is that loud, I can hear that, humming on and off)

Conclusion – after reading the previous comments on TripAdvisor, I can understand the contrasts of High and low score. High score maybe due to Very laid back & Friendly atmosphere, Owners do their best to make your a happy stay (BBQ and Bar etc). Low score would be the lack of Privacy and everything’s is tiny and noisy. Myself I rate it about middle ground, yes it’s the most friendly place I been to yet but can’t ignore the fact that it’s tiny and seriously no privacy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cliff m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Well what can I say !!!! The only problem we had with this holiday was we didn't say long enough ..... As soon as we got into the fat frog bar everyone made us feel welcome, kostas was so lovely to us both and got us a welcome drink. We meet Maria in the morning and she was also lovely and very welcoming .we came for a few days to chill and that's what we got........ Maria is a fantastic cook we eat here every day and loved every meal , the burgers are amazing . I new by the first day that this is the place for us , if you want to chill and have peace this is the place to go .we will be going back in October and I can't wait . Looking forward to having some of the pink stuff again kostas . Thank you both very much .

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dancahill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

My first visit to Crete (and Greece) so I had no expectations. We stayed for one week. Maria, Kostas and Billy are lovely people, very friendly, helpful and approachable and helped make our stay comfortable. Our room was small, but clean and bright with plenty of wardrobe space.

The kitchen area comprised a two-ring hob, fridge and sink unit, with a kettle and all the necessary cutlery & crockery for the week (I mention this as self-catering first timers ourselves, we weren't sure what to expect). It must be said that our hob was a little temperamental, but it was too hot to cook much anyway and tea was usually salad & feta & artisan bread from the local supermarket (ten minutes away).

I suffer from mild arthritis in my hip and back, and so didn't really sleep very well - the bed was firmer than I'm used to, but towards the end of the week I'd adapted a little.

The bathroom did leave a bit to be desired. It was perfectly adequate, but the shower rail went across the entire room, enclosing the toilet while you shower and, unless you remember to move it, spraying the toilet roll in the process. It also makes it very difficult to keep the rest of the floor dry, and so, despite a drain set into the floor (unfortunately set a little higher than the tiles) and the best efforts of a very conscientious cleaning lady, the floor quickly looks dirty and is often slippery.

Having said all that, the room was charming and was a perfect base for exploring - we weren't often there, really, except to sleep and eat.

The pool area has plenty of sun loungers and a small pool which is surprisingly deep for its size. The buoyancy is lovely, but the pool is 1.70 m deep at its shallow end, deepening to 2.40 m, so if you're a nervous swimmer like me, the fact that it is a small pool means you're never too far away from the safety of the edge.

We didn't partake of Maria's famous cooked breakfast, but the food on Barbecue Night was plentiful and delicious, and the atmosphere great.

The location of the villas was ideal for us, set away from the bustle and noise of the seafront but within easy walking distance of the beach. The villages in the hills are beautiful, and still relatively unspoiled by tourism, with some great restaurants and very helpful people. Watch out for mosquitoes later in the evening, though.

In general, this is an ideal place for those on a budget, and getting out and about by public transport is easy and cheap. One of our fellow-guests was booked in for four weeks, and lots of people come back here again and again. I'd be happy to stay at the Papadakis Villas again myself, too!

Room Tip: The room near the pool suffers a little from the noise of the pump working; the bedroom window of Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gill_Moran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have just returned from a week at Papadakis Villas and had a brilliant time!! Maria, Kostas and Billy are so friendly and helpful and Maria's Cretan breakfast is to die for! The location was perfect with the main town and beach just 10 minutes downhill and the 3 villages uphill that had the best restaurants. In particular you must try David Vegera's (up the hill, turn right, on the right hand side). The portion sizes are huge, the food tastes great, the atmosphere is wonderful - and the prices are so cheap! You even get a free dessert and Reiki afterwards. Also recommended is The Alchemist (left at the top, bear left at the end on to the lower road, on the left hand side). The villas are self catering and we did cook one night but decided to eat out the rest of the week as it was so reasonably priced. If you do decide to cater for yourself the local shop sells lots of deli items which you can try first and will even sell you eggs individually. We hired a car at the airport and explored the island a bit - our favourite place was the region near Spinalonga - breathtaking. You can get a boat from Agios Nikolaos to Spinalonga with a stop for swimming and a guided tour of the island. The boat leaves the harbour at 12.30 and gets back around 5pm and costs just 15 Euros. We also found a lovely beach off the main road past Malia. Just follow the sign to the Malia Palace archaelogical ruins (ignore the first beach sign to Sun beach) then follow the road to the left and you will come to it.
Many thanks to everyone at Papadakis - we will be back for our barbeque night soon! Val & Tony x

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Val h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
0.4 mi away
Bellos Hotel Apartments
Bellos Hotel Apartments
#23 of 171 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arlen Beach Hotel
Arlen Beach Hotel
#51 of 171 in Hersonissos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palmera Beach Hotel
Palmera Beach Hotel
#7 of 171 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Thalia
Hotel Thalia
#47 of 171 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.4 mi away
Petra Beach Hotel and Apartments
Petra Beach Hotel and Apartments
#50 of 171 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#1 of 13 in Koutouloufari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papadakis Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papadakis Villas

Property: Papadakis Villas
Address: 1 Aristotelous Str., Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
#14 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Papadakis Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halfway between the center of hersonisos, famous for the busy nightlife, and the traditional village of Koutouloufari is our property. It is placed in an ideal location that gives access to both directions and meanwhile it's peaceful with nice views to the mountain and the beach.The small amount of rooms(17 rooms) along with our commitment to our guest's pleasure makes this place ideal for people who like to meet people on their holidays and have the feeling of living in a small Greek community.Our pool area is set next to a pool bar that provides cold drinks and homemade food based on our local culture, using Cretan products and vegetables from our own garden. The hotel was built 28 years ago and it's been passed from the parents to the children to continue the traditional family business.Almost every week we cook complimentary food for our guests to join and share our Greek philosophy.All ages are welcome but our statistics say that couples often prefer staying with us ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Papadakis Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papadakis Villas Hotel Chersonisos
Papadakis Hotel Hersonissos
Papadakis Villas Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing