We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Holiday Ever”
Review of Papadakis Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Papadakis Villas
Ranked #17 of 172 Hotels in Hersonissos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at Papadakis for 2 weeks at the end of August, the apartments were basic but very clean, Kostas and Maria made the stay at these apartments great they are the best hosts, Bill the barman was also a fantastic host and the Fat Frog bar was very welcoming and we ended all of our nights out here, there was plenty of Raki flying around all evenings, the BBQ that was put on by Kostas and Maria was the best. Maria is a fantastic cook and her breakfast and fillet wraps are to die for. The pool is very clean but very deep, but was very nice to cool down. These apartments are value for money and if you want a nice chilled out holiday with lots of fun i would certainly recommend these. We will see you next year guys.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kylie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (447)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 447 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2012

I was one of a group of six Irish people who stayed for a week in September. I really enjoyed my stay at the Papadakis Villas Apts. We got a very friendly welcome and a complimentary drink from Kostas. The accommodation was basic but extremely clean. Great value for your money. The pool and sun lounge area was lovely and also very clean. The legendary Fat Frog bar which is part of the resort was great craic. You get to meet other people who are also staying in the apartments. The food which was cooked by Maria was lovely and very convenient. Bill the lovely barman really made the great atmosphere in the Fat Frog bar, shots after shots after shots, we ended most of our nights in the bar. Thanks to Bill, Kostas and Maria for a lovely week's stay at the Papadakis Villas Apts. Hope to see ye all next year......

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 999Paula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at the Papadakis Villas for two weeks at the end of August and had a great time. The apartments are basic, but that's the beauty of Crete - and self-catering. From the moment we arrived and were offered a complimentary drink while we sorted out the paperwork, we were made to feel really welcome. Initially we had booked a one bedroom apartment, thinking that we would have extra space, so imagine our concern when we arrived to find it had a double bed! My 26 year old daughter hasn't slept with mum for a long time! Despite the fact that the apartments were full, Maria managed to find us a couple wanting to swap from twin beds and the matter was soon resolved. In fact the studio was not really any smaller than the one bed apartment. The weekly bbq with free food is a great way to meet others and to socialise with Kostas, Maria and their staff. Location wise it's ideally placed for a walk down to the shops or beach, or up to restaurants and shops in the higher villages - where there are some excellent restaurants to suit most tastes. If you want to relax and soak up the Cretan sun, with the option of more exciting night life, then it's ideal.

Room Tip: If you want a double bed go for the one bed apartment, studios have twin beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank suzie_26_comp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at the Papadakis but this time with my son and his girlfriend and we all had a great time and will probably be going again next year. Kostas & Maria (also Bill) make you feel so welcome and will help you as much as they can with any problems that you may come across.
The food at the Fat Frog is good and the prices are reasonable but you are never pressured to eat or drink there which I have come across at other places. The barbecue nights are legendary, nearly all the guests stop in for these nights but beware all the free raki shots as you may suffer the next day.
With the accommodation being on the small side you all tend to mix with the other guests, no matter how old you are, which is a good thing, as I have stayed at large hotels and hardly spoke to any body all holiday.
If you are looking for the Ritz then this is probably not the place for you as the accommodation is basic but clean and the linen and towels are changed very regularly.
The accommodation is positioned halway up the hill between Hersonissos and Koutouloufari and yes the hill is quite steep so not good for people who have trouble walking but we like to walk and the steep climb is always good for building up a thirst.
We are probably a little biased but we love the area so much and although we said we would never keep going back to the same place this was our 6th year in this area.
Overall we all had a wonderful time and would not hesitate in recommending the area and Papadakis Villas and as a note to geordiekev we are in our mid fifties. You do get a mix of young and older but you may not see the youngsters as they go out at night and sleep during the day but can say my sleep was not disturbed once.
Steve & Beryl Shepherd

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stefanos07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We were a family of four with kids aged 15 and 11 and stayed for a week at the start of August.I can only agree with the good reviews here. The accomodation is basic, but clean and is all we needed for the time we were there. We met some lovely people (couple from Denmark - you know who you are!). The villas provided a good base for going to other places and we often to the bus to Almiros beach near Agios Nikolaos for the calm water and long sandy beach. We also made good use of the bar (and Bill's skills in mixing cocktails and the random rakis!). The ice cold beers at the end of a hot day were perfect.

Kostas and Maria could not have been friendlier or more helpful for anything we needed (extra pillows, locking ourselves out...) and theire twins, Vangelis and Angelica were very cute.

I hope Bill is looking after the kittens and hasn't 'adopted' any more!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 13happytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

If you are expecting luxury then this perhaps isn't the place for you.
If you are expecting the traditional Greek self catering accommodation which is clean, basic, and great value for money then this is for you.
I feel the price we paid was spot on for what we got in return. A warm welcome from Kostas and Maria (and Andre!) with a beer, some things to sign etc then shown to our room.
We paid the extra for Air con and am really glad we did as it was a bit of a heatwave and would have been unbearable! Bed was plenty big enough and comfy enough, the bathroom was typical Greece, plumbing has never been the National pastime there, but everything worked and you could get clean, so, again, basic but what we expected. Two rings and a fridge that worked very well (most important thing!)
We got sorted and up to the pool bar and although the pool is small, most of the time we were there (10 nights) we could get in when we wanted. Yes there were inflatables, but we just moved them out of the way when we didn't want them in there (they aren't anchored in!) And there were a good number of sun loungers.
Great location, a good 10 minute walk into Hersonissos itself to the shops, or a slog up the hill to the old villages at the top, which are well worth it, very nice with a great view across the bay
We met some lovely people, had a great time, got squiffy at the BBQ that Kostas and Maria put on for us, which was very very nice. Bill looked after the bar well, even when we had an impromptu youtube VJ night and it all got a bit loud!
There were groups of younger folk there as well, which one lot pushed the boundaries of what everyone else considered reasonable, but Kostas just simply told them that if there were more complaints they'd be kicked out, which worked straight away. The other groups were brill and chatted with us older farts anyway, before going out partying as we were ready for bed!
I would go there again definitely. The price was right, the location is great, the owners and staff were great, it was far enough out of town to convince the wife we should have a quad bike to explore the coast a bit (!), it was clean, it was fun, it had like minded people there and a good mix in all, couples, families, groups of younger people teens/early twenties, and it all just worked out fine.
I can't understand how anyone can not know what exactly it is they are booking here and give it poor reviews. It doesn't claim to be 5* luxury, and doesn't need to, it has more to offer than the faceless hotels, and if you get involved and talk to people, will give you a holiday to remember for the right reasons.
Greek tradition and hungry cats all the way.

Nice to have met everyone else enjoying it too, Andre, Debs, Summer, Pete, Alyson, Tom, Lisa, Ian, Sandy. Loved it!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jezreel062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at Papadakis Villas at the end of an island hopping trip. The property is located on the bend of a steep hill half way between Hersonissos and
Koutouloufari.

Our accommodation was clean and very basic. The twin beds were tiny and the bedding had seen better days - the sheets were thin and the bedspreads were threadbare. 

The bathroom was in need of a complete overhaul - a piece of wood from the window frame surround fell into the shower tray on the first night; the shower rail wasn't properly fixed to the wall and the whole lot collapsed on 2 separate occasions. The shower curtain was grubby and the toilet bin wasn't emptied while we were there. 

There was a charge of €7 per night for air conditioning, which we paid as it was so hot and it covers the expense of running the system.  There was also a charge of €20 per week to use the in-room safe. That seemed excessive - the safe was a basic metal box with a standard key and no mechanical parts to service. 

The Fat Frog Bar was efficiently run by Bill, the bar manager - prices were reasonable. A laptop on the bar was connected to the internet and there was also free wi if.  We never saw Kostas or Maria during our stay. 

The swimming pool was small and full of inflatables; a dozen or so sunbeds were crammed in to a patio area. The paved area around the pool wasn't too clean. 

I'm not sure where the rave reviews are coming from; certainly from what I had read on TA I was expecting more. 

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank where_can_we_go_next
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hersonissos hotels
0.4 mi away
Bellos Hotel Apartments
Bellos Hotel Apartments
#11 of 172 in Hersonissos
422 reviews
0.4 mi away
Astra Village Apartments
Astra Village Apartments
#8 of 13 in Koutouloufari
302 reviews
0.5 mi away
Minas Apartments
Minas Apartments
#34 of 172 in Hersonissos
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Petra Beach Hotel and Apartments
Petra Beach Hotel and Apartments
#33 of 172 in Hersonissos
142 reviews
0.5 mi away
Acropolis Apartments
Acropolis Apartments
#58 of 172 in Hersonissos
175 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#1 of 13 in Koutouloufari
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papadakis Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papadakis Villas

Address: 1 Aristotelous Str., Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hersonissos
#14 Family Hotel in Hersonissos
Price Range: $87 - $590 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Papadakis Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halfway between the center of hersonisos, famous for the busy nightlife, and the traditional village of Koutouloufari is our property. It is placed in an ideal location that gives access to both directions and meanwhile it's peaceful with nice views to the mountain and the beach.The small amount of rooms(17 rooms) along with our commitment to our guest's pleasure makes this place ideal for people who like to meet people on their holidays and have the feeling of living in a small Greek community.Our pool area is set next to a pool bar that provides cold drinks and homemade food based on our local culture, using Cretan products and vegetables from our own garden. The hotel was built 28 years ago and it's been passed from the parents to the children to continue the traditional family business.Almost every week we cook complimentary food for our guests to join and share our Greek philosophy.All ages are welcome but our statistics say that couples often prefer staying with us ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Papadakis Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papadakis Villas Hotel Chersonisos
Papadakis Hotel Hersonissos
Papadakis Villas Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing