We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Mediterraneo Hotel(Hersonissos)
$400
$349
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$233
$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$238
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$319
$251
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Creta Blue Suites(Koutouloufari)
$136
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Asterias Village Resort(Koutouloufari)(Great Value!)
$92
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Village Heights Golf Resort(Hersonissos)(Great Value!)
$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Κoutouloufari Village Holiday Club(Koutouloufari)(Great Value!)
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Creta Maris Beach Resort(Hersonissos)
$1,086
$1,052
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (475)
Filter reviews
475 results
Traveler rating
384
55
15
7
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
384
55
15
7
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfat frogfree barbecuebbq nightrooms are basiccretan breakfastweekly bbqother guestssmall complexup hillself cateringhappy daysfantastic hostsgreat holidayair conthe cleaning ladygreek stylemain town
Filter
Updating list...
326 - 331 of 475 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Rooms basic, location fantastic, staff very friendly, rooms serviced and cleaned regularly, couldn't ask for more and even did a fantastic free barbecue for all guests. If you want a great location with clean but basic rooms then give these villas a try.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChrisBarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

This is the ideal location for a great holiday - and we had exactly that...a great holiday! It kicked off with the welcome from Bill, with our first of many (I mean MANY) Raki. We paid extra for a 1 bed apartment which had a great view, but was very basic (shower could've done with a bit more power in particular!). After going down the hill for our first of many Gyros, we headed back to the world famous Fat Frog bar and immediately were welcomed again by the Welshies, who we spent a lot of time with during our trip - some of which we can actually remember! The bar serves ice cold beer (they freeze the glasses!). Bar prices are great and Raki comes regularly at night - every 30 mins. YAMAS!!!

As Papadakis is half way up the hill you get the best of both worlds. Well, I say best, as up the hill is loads better for a meal at night. It's worth the 10 min walk and when you get up to the top turn left or right for lots of traditional Greek food - we tried the Mezze restaurant and spent 3 hours eating, a marathon session of Greek food that night all for a great price. All restaurants for 1/2 or full carafe of wine for under €10. Meals for two with wine come in at around €30 - to me you cannot beat that.

Down the hill you have more bars which is the lively area. Only thing is that they don't liven up until after midnight.

We spent loads of time walking down to the beach and had lunch out at little tavernas every day. Again, spending €15 on a snack along with vino at lunchtime won't break the bank.

Coastline is stunning and the beaches are busy but never too busy to find your own space, with sunbeds €4 each for the day. There is also Star Beach which has music pumping out daily and foam parties during the day, next to the Bungee jump. It's ideal for the youngsters - I declined the Bungee though!

We met loads of great people, which you can't fail to do given the size of the apartments and Fat Frog. The BBQ night was great for meeting everyone and we had a lot of very late, fun nights, singing away in the bar till the wee small hours, followed the next day by plenty of sunbathing round the pool were again everyone just sits chatting all day long. If you want peace and quiet and be by yourself, you probably won't fancy Papadakis. It was exactly what we expected and we loved it.

Thanks go especially to Bill for his great hospitality and to Kostas and Maria. What made our hols were the great people we met - as Andre mentioned in his post earlier - you know who you all are!!! We are planning a visit to Wales some day to catch up, once we have fully recovered :)

Already planning a Greek adventure next year. C'mon Easyjet, release those flights!!

As they say in Greek...YAMAS...and to the Welshies....Lechyd da!

Cheers

Alan and Joanne

Room Tip: Room 27 for the view...but not the shower :)
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TheFergiesOnHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

If you're looking for accommodation in this area of Crete then this is the place. Great hosts and always helpful if you need anything. Good location between Hersonissos and 2 pretty villages up the hill which have great restaurants and vibey bars, we liked these! Papadakis has a good bar and we had good times in there, especially the BBQ which the hosts put on for their guests at no charge! Also a good place to hang when you're hanging the next morning! If you go, ask Bill what the time is :) My girlfriend and I had a great time. Fantastic, thanks x

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

On arrival, my husband and I were openly welcomed by Kostas, Maria, Bill and also the wonderful guests we meet, who have truly become good friends. The 'Fat Frog' bar area has quirky little touches and the adjacent pool is beautifully lit as night falls. Ok, the rooms are basic - but our needs were catered for. After all you get what you pay for!

The surrounding area, especially the new town was beautiful and had plenty of restaurants and tavernas on offer. We hired a scooter which was worth every penny as exploring the island is a must. Kostas has good contacts and kindly arranged our transport. The BBQ night is not to be missed, good quality food which was generously provided. This also provided the perfect opportunity to mingle with guests and the host's and to really get to know people.

Maria makes a lovely full English at a good price too. And my husband highly recommended the coffee. Thanks guys for your hospitality and friendship. We miss you and the place already! Best wishes - until we meet again.

Cath and Clark (aka Super Man) X X X

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank clerkd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Only have good things to say.
Kostas and Maria are excellent hosts and are more than willing to help with any requests you may have.
Accomodation is basic but clean and well located to explore what Hersonissos has to offer.
We had a great time here and will be returning again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank catherine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews