We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Mediterraneo Hotel(Hersonissos)
$401
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Creta Blue Suites(Koutouloufari)
$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$277
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$237
$223
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Asterias Village Resort(Koutouloufari)(Great Value!)
$110
Bookgreece.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Village Heights Golf Resort(Hersonissos)(Great Value!)
$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$230
Bookgreece.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Creta Maris Beach Resort(Hersonissos)
$1,089
$1,055
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (475)
Filter reviews
475 results
Traveler rating
384
55
15
7
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
384
55
15
7
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfat frogfree barbecuebbq nightrooms are basiccretan breakfastweekly bbqother guestssmall complexup hillself cateringhappy daysfantastic hostsgreat holidayair conthe cleaning ladygreek stylemain town
Filter
Updating list...
369 - 374 of 475 reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2011

We booked the Papadakis Villas based on the reviews, and we were not dissapointed.
We arrived at 1am, we were welcomed and after a long journey and some Reiki. We slept like babies. Maria's home cooking is wonderful. Kostas, Maria & family were all so helpfull, nothing was too much trouble. We firstly hired a quad on thier recomendation then decided to extend our 1 week to 2 weeks in order to go to a Hippie Festival in Matala. Kostas & Maria were so helpfull in assisting us to arrange our trip, and accomodated us for a few extra days. We enjoyed our 2 weeks so much we have already booked again for 2012. There is something for all ages in the area. Anyone wanting either a family holiday or just couples/freinds we think anyone would feel at home with Kostas & Maria. People everywhere in Crete were so friendly and helpful. We felt very relaxed when we came home.

Room Tip: We stayed in 3 of the rooms due to our extended holiday, they were all very comfortable.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Picked Kostas and Maria's place to stay like many others based on great reports for a weeks holiday before the winter & to do some scuba diving. Was not disappointed & the apartments are good value for money. The bar food was nearly as good as Kosta's raiki which was the best i've had.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank echo000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Myself and two friends booked directly with papadakis villas this August for a two week stay on the gorgeous island of Crete. We are all 29 years old and as a result wanted somewhere with the option of good food and friendly people but a bit of nightlife for the evening. After deciding on Crete we thoroughly researched resorts and accommodation using tripadvisor and found Papadakis in Hersonissos. The accommodation had nothing but excellent reviews and we were not disappointed! Booking directly saved us money and was completely hassle free and paid for the entire stay upfront to secure our booking with Kostas the owner himself over email.

Upon arrival late in the evening in Crete we found that there was a taxi strike that we had no previous knowledge of. With no transfer buses willing to take us we called Kostas at Papdakis who very kindly arranged for his lovely friend George to come and collect us so we knew straight y these were going to be lovely people who would go out of their way to make sure you had a nice holiday! Once we arrived at the apartments we were not disappointed, it was lovely with such a warm welcome from Kostas who showed us to our apartment, helped us with our bags and welcomed us down to the bar for some drinks with the rest of the people staying at the apartments.

Our apartment was exactly what we wanted and what we expected after staying in Greece many times, very clean, well equipped with air conditioning and all of the kitchen equipment you might need for a self catering holiday. In the morning we went down to meet Maria, Kostas' wife and the amazing cook of the apartments who made us amazing breakfasts every morning with very reasonable prices. The same warm welcome was waiting for us from Maria and with the gorgeous weather, pool and sun loungers waiting for us everyday we couldn't do anything but have an amazing holiday at Papadakis.

The apartments are in the ideal location, a 10 min walk up the hill is old Hersonissos, a gorgeous and traditional town with a different restaurant for every night of your holiday offering any kind of cuisine you could want at very good prices with some of the best food and most friendly service I have experienced whilst on holiday. If you are looking for something more lively, 10 mins down the hill is Hersonissos town which reminded me of mini Malian with it's busy streets, shops and younger clientele. It was great to see this side of the town but we were looking for a more relaxed atmosphere and we found the food to be a little expensive and not as nice as the selection in the old town where we spent most nights.

There is a large supermarket 10 mins down hill walk from the apartments which sells everything you would need. We ate breakfast and lunch at the apartments everyday and bought drinks to keep hydrated throughout the day. We found the food to be delicious with Maria making homemade daily specials which were always a treat and the prices very reasonable. We also drank in the bar every night with the staff and other patrons which were all so friendly, it didn't make you want to go anywhere else...even with Kostas and his raiki measures! Ha ha that stuff is lethal!!

I honestly cannot say enough about Maria, Kostas and Papadakis villas. Myself and my two friends absolutely loved it here and we so sad to leave the place and the people. I think the apartments are fantastic value and all I can think about is when I will be able to go back! I have recommended the apartments to everyone who will listen and will continue to do so, I loved it!

Room Tip: Rooms are basic And very clean In typical Greek style. Us 3 girls stayed in a family room which sleep up to 4. We were next to the bar which could be noisy depending on the patrons but we found perfect.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BonnieRose_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We had a week here in July 2011. It's location is a bit in no mans land, with the main resort being a 10 minutes walk downhill and the villages being a 10 minute walk uphill.

From what I understand if you book this hotel directly it's very cheap (we had a package and our flights were pricey) I've read comment about Kosta and Maria being a little money orientated. We didn't find this at all.......on arrival Maria greeted us off the bus took us to the bar (Fat Frog) and offered a free drink, then during our stay we were treated to a free BBQ with shots of the local hooch thrown in. Your are asked to pay extra for your safe which was reasonable, but the aircon seemed pricey....but no doubt costs a lot to run.

The villages at the top of the hill are far better than the main town. We spent every evening at the top of the hill. Fabrica is a good place to eat, it's an old converted olive oil factory and the staff went out of their way to make sure we had a great night. The busy part of the village is to the left at the top of the hill, but if you turn right you can find some nice places with a terrace with great views down to the port. Romantika was a very good choice, we had the set meal which was massive and included drinks, coffee and desert. We stared and ended most evenings in a bar, I don't recall what it was called but it's easy to find on the main road through the village on the left hand side opposite the crazy golf. Manos was a really nice helpful guy.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gyles67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

So much agreement from so many past reviewers; you can be confident Papadakis Villas delivers what it promises.

The accommodation is small and intimate, meaning you will get to know your neighbours. Ground floor studios are grouped around a generally shaded courtyard, probably a boon in high summer. You need to select the upper apartments for some sunshine on balconies. The pool is very small (three strokes across) and is flanked by the bar/reception on one side and a sun terrace with loungers on the other. Self catering facilities are typically basic, but do include a kettle. You can choose to pay for air conditioning and security boxes. Although the accommodation is showing its age, it is kept very clean. Lots of large potted plants and herbs scattered around the common parts.

The location is 10 minutes walk out of Hersonissos on a sharp bend up to Koutouloufari. The neighbouring homes are large villas set back from the road, so it feels quite an exclusive neighbourhood. For most visitors, this is part of the attraction of the place. It's near enough for the hedonistic pleasures of the town - and the bus services - but far enough away to get a good night's sleep. In the other direction, an uphill walk of about eight minutes brings you to the much better eating establishments of Koutouloufari and Piskopiano. And if you can't face either or simply want to eat where the locals choose, the family-run taverna 'Ariston' serves good food (closed Wednesdays) only two minutes walk away.

All of these factors combine to give an expectation of a good holiday. But there are two reasons why Papadakis attracts such fond reviews and undoubted loyalty. They are Kostas and Maria who run the place.

I've been travelling to Greece for 37 years, and part of that long term attraction is the genuine hospitality of so many Greek people. With their current economic difficulties, it might be tempting to explain their courtesy as 'needing our euros'. While that might indeed be true today, it doesn't explain the tradition. And that tradition is in safe hands at Papadakis.

It seemed that whatever time tour operators and airlines conspired to deposit visitors (and there's plenty of unsocially timed flights into and out of Heraklion), one or both would be there to provide a genuine welcome. Kostas and Maria make the effort to get to know each guest by name, and I watched amazed at their patience at the end of a long season as they looked after us - while also bringing up a young family. From cooking breakfasts at 9am through to early mornings in the bar, their dedication and commitment will ensure you will remember them as part of your holiday.

Even though Kostas tried to wipe all our memories nightly with the appearance of his Raki bottle...

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SaddleworthSaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews