We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Mediterraneo Hotel(Hersonissos)
$400
$362
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Imperial Belvedere(Hersonissos)
$222
$213
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$319
$250
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Creta Blue Suites(Koutouloufari)
$136
$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Village Heights Golf Resort(Hersonissos)(Great Value!)
$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Κoutouloufari Village Holiday Club(Koutouloufari)(Great Value!)
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$244
$229
Bookgreece.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Creta Maris Beach Resort(Hersonissos)
$1,086
$1,058
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (475)
Filter reviews
476 results
Traveler rating
384
56
15
7
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
384
56
15
7
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfat frogfree barbecuebbq nightrooms are basiccretan breakfastweekly bbqother guestssmall complexup hillself cateringhappy daysfantastic hostsgreat holidayair conthe cleaning ladygreek stylemain town
Filter
Updating list...
376 - 381 of 476 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2011

(Returned 4th October 2011)
-Looking for a last minute holiday and only booking four days before we travelled, we checked the reviews for Crete on Trip Advisor and decided that we just had to try the Papadakis Villas. We were so pleased we did and were sorry when it was time to come home. We had a brilliant time and met great friends. Kostas, Maria and Yannis make you feel so welcome, treating you like old friends and bending over backwards to make your stay with them enjoyable. Yannis met us off the bus and welcomed us in to 'The Fat Frog' before showing us to our room - yes like others have reported the rooms are basic but nipping clean and adequate for your needs
(and anyway you spend most of your time in The Fat Frog being tortured (lol) with the free shots of Raki) The atmosphere is like a cosy party with friends and before you know it you have got to know the other guests. Free barbeque with loads to eat and drink was a brilliant night too. The location of the Papadakis was ideal as you are half way between the picturesque villages of Koutouloufari, Pisco Piano and Old Hersonissos which are a ten minute walk up the hill, then a ten minute stroll down the hill takes you to the main shopping area and harbour where Mr spent a lot of time fishing. You have the best of both worlds for eating out - there are numerous tavernas on the waterfront next to the harbour serving a wide selection of dishes - however we had our most enjoyable meals at 'Esperos' in Koutouloufari - delicious food in the picturesque surroundings of a beautiful village. We will most certainly be back......... thank you Yannis, Kostas and Maria for making it one of our most enjoyable and memorable holidays ever.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scocar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We have never returned to the same place before but we came home on Tuesday and booked to return in May by Friday. Thanks to Yannis, Kostas and Maria for making us feel so welcome, we can't wait to go back. The rooms are basic but very clean and adequate for your needs.
The villas are ideally situated halfwayup a gentle hill between the old town which is more traditional with bars and resturants and the new town with it's shops and clubs although anyone with walking difficulty may struggle without transport (which Kostas can arrange) The Fat Frog bar does good bar snacks, the burgers are highly recommended, the beer is served in ice cold glasses and the Raki is plentyful.
Looking forward to our return.

See you soon guys,

Debi & Sid.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanandDebi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Thanks to the previous great reviews we chose to stay here and we never regretted it for a moment.Thanks to kostas,maria and yannis and all our fellow guests for making it a wonderful holiday. We have never returned as yet to the same hotel but we will surely return here again and again in the future.

Room Tip: top floor if you like to get more of the sun on your terrace.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scaffolder1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

This was our 10th trip to papadakis and our 9th year in Crete. We usually go twice a year and have found Kostas and Maria to be the best hosts in Crete. Yes the rooms are basic, but clean, and realistically how much time do you spend in the rooms - not alot - it is somewhere to sleep and change ready for going out in the evening. Location is perfect for the main strip or the quiet of the old villages. Food is great and Marias homemade burgers are fab. They are always willing to help you out if you need it, which is why we return time and time again. Their BBQ's are amazing, and souvlaki nights which are free are great. The regular raki time can be very painful in the morning.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Although we have already been back from holiday now for 3 weeks. We arrived back home on 7th Sept. We arrived in Crete around 23rd Aug 2011. We had booked to stay in Papadakis villas in Hersonissos. We arrived around midnight, to which we were booked in by Yannis.
We went to explore on our first day as we like to go sight-seeing, to which, there wasn't alot to explore unfortunately. If you want scenery I would advise you to go further afield by either hiring a car or trying the local bus. We went on the local bus (Minoan Line) to Heraklion which is the capital city of Crete. It was cosmopolitan and trendy. We loved the "cafe-culture" and the shopping. On evenings in Hersonissos, you could go to the sea/beach front bars & restaurants which vary in style and taste. Or you can walk 10 mins to Koutalafari village for the various restaurants that offer that little something different. On the Papadakis Villas apartments, well.. "you get what you pay for" and it is cheap remember. It can also be noisy at night with other guests having parties til early morning. Staff are generally ok, dont go expecting 5* star service. Again "It does what it says on the Tin"
Overall, we did have a nice holiday, but are debating whether to go elsewhere next year.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClaireFiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews