We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“welcoming and friendly atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Iliostasi Beach Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“welcoming and friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We spent a very relaxing 2 week holiday at these very friendly family owned apartments. The location is ideal, being on the edge of Hersonissos and therefore relatively quiet but close to lots of family amenities.It's across the road from the Lychonstatis open air museum and the small local beach, where snacks and drinks are served from the museum cafe.The roooms and Pool area were spotlessly clean at all times and it was a pleasure to be located so close to a nice beach with with plenty of sunbeds and good tavernas close by.
The nicest thing however, about the apartments was the friendly and pleasant atmosphere and excellent service that surrounds this established family run business. The owners Mary and Yiorgos, (who also own the Lychonstatis museum) their lovely children and their loyal hard working staff couldn't do enough to help and make our holiday a good one.
We can really recommend the Illiostasi Apartments for a happy holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gordon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    15
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
33
22
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint-Petersburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

The hotel is good! Room (with garden view) is simple, but rather comfortable. Restaurant Camping Caravan near the hotel is not bad, also it has beautiful sea view.
There's only one little disadvantage: bathroom is too small for me and besides it wasn't cleaned at all.
So, if the see is all you need and you're not really interested in bars (which are far from there) choose this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Among all the big, all-inclusive hotels this is a real pick in the outskirt of Hersonissos. Nice location across the street of Lychnostatis open air museum, just a few steps down to a beach more private look than any place else. Friendly hosts. A place for feeling good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We have just returned from two weeks at Iliostasi, arriving mid August 2013. Having never left a review on Trip Advisor before, I really felt I had to leave a review as this is such a great place. We were a family of 5, three kids under 12. What you get at Iliostasi is a quiet, family/couple orientated apartment/hotel. There are about 20 apartments, some for up to 5 people, then down to 2 people apartments.
The great bits -
A huge pool, with lovely shallow parts for kids, but deep enough to dive in at the other end. There were never more than about 8 people in it, - and bear in mind we were there peak season. Pool very clean. Masses of sun loungers - no need to put towels down in the morning.
Also very clean apartments, with a cleaner coming in about every other day.
Owners friendly/helpful without being in your face.
Free fresh fruit often offered to us - melon etc.
Fantastic location - beach two minutes away, and lovely peaceful family beaches - with sand, and also some coral for great snorkelling. Easy walking distance to several other beaches.
10 minute walk to Starbeach - free huge beach complex with rides for kids (wristband needed 8 Euro's), and loads to do.
Owners happy to arrange taxi's etc, - we emailed them before we arrived, and they arranged pick up from airport in taxi which was perfect, - taxi for 5 of us and luggage 40 Euro's. Driver waiting with our name on big board - brilliant.
View from sea facing rooms absolutely beautiful.
The Wi Fi actually works!
The Good bits
The apartments are simple, the bathrooms old fashioned, but spotless. Usual Greek standard for that type of accommodation. handheld shower etc.
Far enough away from Starbeach that you can hear the music some evenings, but not enough to bother you.
The bigger road at the back is much higher than the hotel, and we were not bothered by noise from it at all. It looks quite prominent on some of the photos, but you don't even realise it is there.
The owners also own the museum by the side of it, and you get a discount to get in. The hotel does not provide any food, but they will bring over burgers and chips etc from the museum café, or let you in without charge if you want to eat at the museum café.
Not as good bits?
The kitchen is really very basic, - a two ring hob, very little worksurface, but fine for breakfast, and boiling a kettle. Good cold fridge and even a freezer part worked brilliantly. Some pans provided.
The little road outside can be a little noisy with quad bikes going up and down - but not all the time by any means.
The beds are quite hard.
You will need to rent a fan in high season (2 euro's a night), but by being careful with the shutters you can then keep it quite cool.
We loved this place - if you want a family holiday with no hassles, but loads of things to do, in beautiful surroundings then I would really recommend it. We were so glad we were slightly out of the Starbeach/Hersonnisus main area, much quieter, yet no distance to walk in there. The photos on the website are very realistic, the pool area, and the views from it are beautiful, if anything the photos do not do it justice.

Room Tip: If I had a tip, it would be that if there were only 4 of you, book a 5 bedroom room if you could run...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ros330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is the second year I spent my vacation at Iliostasi and I will come back soon!
Iliostasti is really a very nice place with the best service you can get.
The apartments are very clean and you have everything you need. In my apartment there were five beds but still a lot of place.
The balcony is furnitured and you can sit there, have your meal and enjoy the sea.
There is nice beach with sunbeds and not to many people, very relaxing...
I haven´t met so much hospitality at any place before.
Among other things it is maby this i like the most, the very friendly family and to be so close to the sea. I can really recommend Iliostast Beach Apartments. You will have a very nice time hear!

Eva

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EvaLundahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

myself and two friends stayed at Illiostasi in early September 2006. We got a great last minute deal, under £200 each including flights and transfers, so we werent really expecting much, but it was fantastic. the owners were really friendly and the rooms large, and although a bit dated, were clean. it was a bonus to have a tv in our room as well. the pool area was great and the poolside bar was nice. we found it a good location as its peaceful and quite, buit you are a short bus or taxi ride from the water park, chersonissos or malia.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peggy05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

i stayed here last week (sept 26th till oct 2nd) i was sharing a room with my sister and a friend, i was expecting a tiny little room, but upon arrival i was pleasantly surprised! we shared a four bed room, double bed was in a little room of its own, perfect for a family who is sharing!

The room was spotlessly clean, had 2 lovely balconys! both decent size! and a fridge large enough for a family, with a small freezer compartment for ice creams!

as mentioned in previous comments its a family run business and mary and her family were all very pleasant and helpfull, including her little daughter!

its a perfect location for a nice quiet family holiday, although us being teenagers had a ball too, only 15 min walk into town for a bit of music and beers, or a 7 euro taxi ride! pubs open late even at end of season!

the pool area was great too, pool was emaculate! water is not salt water as mentioned in previous comments,

Overall a lovely holiday beautiful appartments and a friendly family, highly recommend!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a sea view! great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Iona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
3.9 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#6 of 171 in Hersonissos
622 reviews
84.6 mi away
Folia Apartments
Folia Apartments
#1 of 31 in Agia Marina
399 reviews
0.4 mi away
Star Beach Village & Water Park
Star Beach Village & Water Park
#23 of 171 in Hersonissos
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Palmera Beach Hotel
Palmera Beach Hotel
#8 of 171 in Hersonissos
551 reviews
4.2 mi away
Venus Mare Apartments
Venus Mare Apartments
#6 of 13 in Analipsi
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iliostasi Beach Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iliostasi Beach Apartments

Property: Iliostasi Beach Apartments
Address: Thesi Plaka, Hersonissos, Crete 700 14, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 121 Specialty Lodging in Hersonissos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Iliostasi Beach Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located 20m from the sea, Iliostasi Beach Apts. provide modern facilities and services integrated in a traditional environment created by the friendliness and hospitality of the Markakis family. Iliostasi features 18 self-catering apartments/studios, for 1-5 persons with sea/pool view and spacious balconies.The apartments are fully equipped and overlook a sandy beach and the main swimming pool of the complex surrounded by a bustling flower and fruit garden.Only 100metres away the guests will find taverns, super market and activities (water park, horse riding, mini-golf) and the awarded Cretan open-air Museum ''LYCHNOSTATIS''.The center of the town is 2 km away , the ‘‘Cretan Golf'' 3 km away , while the international airport of Heraklion is 26km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Iliostasi Beach Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iliostasi Beach Apartments Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing