We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutly Awful Experience”
Review of Porto Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Porto Village
Ranked #90 of 174 Hotels in Hersonissos
Reviewed August 1, 2006

This hotel was a shambles!!

My friend and I went on an all inclusive(!!??) holiday. Breakfast consited of sausage, eggs & bacon, every morning, not cooked properly and it was cold. Lunch was again not thoughly cooked and hardly any choice. Dinner again as lunch.

Drinks were fizzy drinks, larger or wine. Nothing more.

The rooms were totaly inadequte, the fridge was rusty, the lights did not work propery. When you took the key out of the power supply, the power did not go off. Resulting in a very near accident with the cooker (which I might add, I was charged 10e for, and was not my fault, but on departure, the hotel refused to call my taxi until I had paid!!)

The hotel was ridiculously noisey until around 6.30 in the morning, when you thought you might get some sleep, they started cleaning the pool at 7.30 and waking everyone up again!!

Durring my stay, in the swimming pool went, a sunlounger, a table, an umbrella and a dog! Think this is wrong? The staff didn't!! It happened day after day.

I can only advise people not to waste there money on visiting this hotel, as that is exactly what it was, a waste. Bearing in mind, I went away with my friend as 20 somethings, looking for pubbing, clubbibg etc, we didn't need luxury appartment, but this was a dump!!!

Stayed: July 2006
7  Thank chardonay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 262 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Netherlands
222
Reviewed May 26, 2005

It's been a while since I've been in this hotel. It was my first flight ever, to Greece (Crete). We stayed in Porto Village apartments. The first apartment we got was very, very small and did not seem clean to us. After spending one extremely noisy night (because of the loud pool bar music) in this apartment (but it was more like a small studio!), we got back to the reception and asked for a bigger, more quiet one. We had to pay extra money to get one, so we did.

The second apartment was on the top floor of one of those buildings, and oh my god, no airco at all. It was horrible trying to fall asleep every night in this heat. Besides, there were some giant roaches in our room, not mentioning some spiders, red ants in the kitchen, a thousand legged creature in our bathroom and even a small lizard (but lizards are not a problem to me). But the pool, the outside colourful look of the buildings and quality of the beds was okay.

I would suggest an airconditioned, more luxury hotel or apartment because in my opinion this was not a real holiday to me.

  • Stayed: July 1999
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ANNA K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Praat met George van receptie of benader Hillie
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aballetdancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guzkeulen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 145GiovanniM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hersonissos
0.4 mi away
Memory Boutique Hotel
Memory Boutique Hotel
#99 of 174 in Hersonissos
127 reviews
3.7 mi away
Club Lyda Hotel
Club Lyda Hotel
#12 of 36 in Kato Gouves
663 reviews
17.9 mi away
MariRena Hotel
MariRena Hotel
#19 of 33 in Amoudara
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Porto Greco Village Beach Hotel
Porto Greco Village Beach Hotel
#111 of 174 in Hersonissos
6 reviews
0.4 mi away
Porto Plazza
Porto Plazza
#86 of 174 in Hersonissos
56 reviews
2.1 mi away
Semiramis Village
Semiramis Village
#128 of 174 in Hersonissos
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Village

Address: Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 174 Hotels in Hersonissos
Price Range: $76 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Porto Village 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Porto Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Village Hotel Chersonisos
Porto Village Hersonissos
Porto Village Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing